Customer Reviews


292 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great caper movie!
I saw this on opening night in the theater and I had a great time. I knew, of course, that it wasn't going to win any awards, but I really had a lot of fun watching it, which is the best judge of a movie's quality- at least in my mind.
Sean Connery is, of course, a classic. He makes bad movies good and good movies better. Catherine Zeta-Jones is simply the most...
Published on April 6, 2000 by J. Cunningham

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE BLU RAY TRANSFER!
I am only going to review the Blu Ray disc. The image quality is poor, most occasions it's blurred. Especially when the film starts I end up wondering why it gets blurred.
I had the same issue with Die Hard 1 and 2 and In the Line Of Fire. Why do I get the feeling the they just transferring the image from dvd to Blu Ray or using some type of Noise Reduction which...
Published on August 19, 2009 by A. G. Dharmadasa


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great caper movie!, April 6, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entrapment (Special Edition) (DVD)
I saw this on opening night in the theater and I had a great time. I knew, of course, that it wasn't going to win any awards, but I really had a lot of fun watching it, which is the best judge of a movie's quality- at least in my mind.
Sean Connery is, of course, a classic. He makes bad movies good and good movies better. Catherine Zeta-Jones is simply the most beautiful actress in Hollywood today (nice to see a girl with a full-figure, as opposed to, say, Gweynth Paltrow). The supporting cast is interesting as well, but Ving Rhames must be sick of playing the heavy.
As for the film itself, the plot is fairly entertaining, with crosses and double-crosses until the last reel. The highlights here (and the reason I enjoy the film) are, of course, the theft sequences, and they are beautifully directed and edited. Even if you hate the film, the mask-heist will grab you.
The new DVD special-edition is a marked improvement over the old one- the new anamorphic transfer is flawless and the extras (while still a bit slim) are good. I especially enjoyed the director's dry humor on the commentary track.
Overall, this is a fun blockbuster that won't really make you think too much, and it is a good way to spend a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, November 26, 1999
This review is from: Entrapment (DVD)
Entrapment is a very action packed film. It DOES NOT use violence or gore to make it entertaining. It has some intense scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat. The plot was excellent, and it changed quite rapidly. The acting and directing was superb. Sean Connery was better than ever and Catherine Zeta-Jones added an interesting touch. I strongly suggest you rent this, it is well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doable Millenium Heist: Value 8 Billion, One Dollar, 67 Cents, March 20, 2007
This review is from: Entrapment (DVD)
Stealing the Rembrandt was just for practice. Ginny Barker (Catherine Zeta-Jones) who worked for Waverly Security had a much larger goal in mind robbing the International Clearance Bank during the Millenium Celebratrion on New Year's Eve in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia but she needed help. She had been planning this event for a few years ... Hector Cruz (Will Patton) head of security had noticed she had no friends. She had no social life. She worked long hours doing statistical calculations and creating computer graphics examining all angles of the rooms and items her company insured and protected. He worried about her. She convinced Hector to let her attempt to catch and bring to justice the highly successful thief: McDougall (Sean Connery). He was a handsome foxy older gentleman, a wealthy Scotsman who had no need for the money but was a thief for the challenge of it. He was in the gallery where the Rembrandt was showcased during its opening exhibit, he was the likliest suspect. Hector was worried because two agents had previously disappeared trying to apprehend McDougall but Gin Barker convinced him because she was a woman ... she could do it. Despite misgivings, he gave her the chance to try.

Sean Connery played the aging gray haired foxy thief to perfection. He lived in Scotland, in a castle on an isolated island. He thought he had everything ... until he met Gin Barker. She followed him about in London, and watched him wander into a computer company, where he managed to steal five chips easily worth a million dollars each. She was exhausted as she returned to her hotel room, only to discover her luggage missing. She was too tired to report it immediately, pealed off her clothes and and prepared for bed ... totally naked because her dressing gown was among the missing items. She was shocked to discover someone staring at her in the dark. It was Mac (McDougall). He asked why was she following him around London. She then presented to him her grandiose plans. He mentioned his rules: "first we try, then we trust" and the corollary, "it's strictly business" ...

First he tested her and when she passed all his challenges, beyond his wildest expectations, he took her up on the job. They trained for the highest value monetary robbery of all time. This film appeals on multiple levels: it includes mystery, romance, tension, unexpected twists and turns in the plot and exotic locales, London, Scotland and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The May - December romance and relationship which builds from total distrust, to mutual respect, to outright admiration is fun to watch. Catherine Zeta-Jones is believable, beautiful and in fantastic form as she executes gymnastic maneuvers that would make a Gold Medal Female Olympics Champion blush with pride. Sean Connery delivers a superb performance and also delivers outstanding one line responses to her confident approach. He says, "I don't like surprises." She replies, "There won't be any." He countermands, "Trust me, there always are." This is a highly enjoyable film and receives my highest recommendation for acting, story-line, plot development, action, and intrigue. Erika Borsos (pepper flower)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enticed by Entrapment, December 18, 1999
This review is from: Entrapment [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Finally, a film with so many twists and turns and wondering who's working or betraying who without getting confused ( Anybody remember Mission Impossible with Tom Cruise; to this day I still thought that movie was a perplexing mess) ! Even the use of the high tech equipment was easy to follow in Entrapment... Catherine Zeta-Jones is definitely a gorgeous and sensual woman with a lot of class.She strongly resembles the classic Hollywood beauty reminiscent of Vivian Leigh from Gone With The Wind and other Hollywood sexy sirens of the 30's, 40's, and 50's.What's amazing about Jones is how she can switch off or un-do her thick Welsh-European accent in any movie and convert over to either American or Mexican (Zorro); Talk about ironing out your natural accent. Sean Connery is still Mr. Cool or Slick when it comes to any role he plays; He exudes a lot of confidence and sophistication; Connery is an example of what a true gentleman should be like(smooth and suave, especially with the ladies). I'll admit his character was a bit rough with Jones' in the beginning; all for good reason, though. I more than highly recommend this movie for its polished ( yet, not too polished) ensemble of characters, story, plot, twists and turns of excitement and intrigue ! The only mentionable annoyance was toward the end at the train/sub station with the characters hide and go seek exchanges. This movie does not require the viewer to sit next to someone and ask every five minutes about what's going on--the I don't get it?--syndrome...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE BLU RAY TRANSFER!, August 19, 2009
By 
A. G. Dharmadasa (COLOMBO-07, wp Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entrapment [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am only going to review the Blu Ray disc. The image quality is poor, most occasions it's blurred. Especially when the film starts I end up wondering why it gets blurred.
I had the same issue with Die Hard 1 and 2 and In the Line Of Fire. Why do I get the feeling the they just transferring the image from dvd to Blu Ray or using some type of Noise Reduction which actually worsens the picture quality,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...Never Trust A Thief...", July 4, 2010
This review is from: Entrapment [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE BLU-RAY ISSUE ***

I have to admit to a guilty pleasure on this one - I've always liked the wonderfully cheesy "Entrapment" - especially the slightly odd yet very convincing chemistry between the young and beautiful Catherine Zeta-Jones and the old but still incredibly sexy Sean Connery. You genuinely feel that Connery fancies Jones and she likewise - and apparently that was the case. You can see that Connery actually likes and admires her and it gives the film a great dynamic - enjoying themselves rather than just grinning and bearing it.

Which is a shame, because I was hoping that this would be a decent buy on BLU RAY, but it isn't.

The principal reason is not the film itself (which is very entertaining), but the way it was filmed. There's a sort of filtered haze over at least 75% of the print (possibly hiding someone's age my dear?) that now looks even worse - accentuated by its transfer to the mercilessness of High Def. The picture isn't crap, but it's NOT 1080P DEFINED either - and it's absolutely NOT AN IMPROVEMENT over say a dirt-cheap DVD. "Entrapment" on BLU RAY looks murky and poorly executed most of the time - and for a film that was issued in 1999, that's just not good enough.

The Extra Feature is a commentary by Director Jon Amiel, but that's all (no making of, no interviews). Presentation is in Letterbox 16:9 (so it fills the full screen) and languages include French, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Dutch and English For The Hard-Of-Hearing.

I'd say hire this before you buy it. In a slew of badly transferred movies to this great, but sometimes frustrating format, this is yet another sloppy reissue.

One to avoid I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the Eye never saw..., February 19, 2002
By 
Patrick Selitrenny (Switzerland a.k.a. Helvetia Felix) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Entrapment (Special Edition) (DVD)
It might be the subtitle for this highly entertaining action-thriller. In fact it's more a cat and mouse game... but who's the cat? In the best tradition of Hitchcock's "To Catch a Thief" it's a well balanced movie.
Sean Connery is in his top form when mixing duty with humor.
Catherine Zeta-Jones is amazingly subtle in her role. She starts out cocky and glizzy only to end up being confused to the kazoo in her encounter with Connery.
This is a pure actioner, not a minute passes without a twist in the plot and nobody stands still for much too long.
There double-crosses, triple-crosses and quadruple-crosses,... well in fact, there are so many crosses one could become dizzy...
It's a harmless no-brainer, but so well acted and directed that you will be constantly gripping your armchair just to see what happens next.
The DVD edition is not top notch, but with a movie like this one who cares... You get engulfed into the action practically as the movie starts and the rollercoaster ride ends when the movie ends. So who's got the time to examine wether frame 121 was sharp enough or if that squeeky noise on the right channel was really perfect.
Once you enter in the game it won't let you loose one minute and you will almost shout at it to stop, but as Zeta-Jones, you will be dragged even deeper into the charade and be so fascinated by it that you won't want it stop once it does.
The finale is a pure surprise and, though not unexpected for a Hollywood movie, truly original.
If you like this kind of movies, this one is certainly for you and will keep you guessing to the end on the who does what to whom and why... but who is really what and does really what to whom? Have fun with it... and let the ride of your lifetime begin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You will be surprised till the very end, January 19, 2007
This review is from: Entrapment (DVD)
Bought the DVD after watching The Thomas Crown Affair, I happened to find out that Entrapment belongs to an higher and different rank. Connery and Zeta Jones are amazing in their roles, they give a very believable performance as thieves, of course helped by a sophisticated and well written plot and a perfect choice of music. The capers are very inventive and suggest an accurate research by the writers, even the romantic part is handled with such a grace that almost you don't see the huge age gap between the characters. If you have not seen the movie yet, as it happened to me, you will be pleased and entertained by both the movie itself and the extras, which as usual are always too few for a movie like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, February 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: Entrapment [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sean Connery And Zeta-Jones seemed an odd couple. But the actually compliment each other and create a chemistry which is not quite sensual but it makes the movie fun to watch. The plot, the clever dialogue and the twists make an entertaining film. The plot may be a tad far fetched but it is only a movie that will keep you on your seat (or sofa).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A VERY HOT ATTRACTION, February 5, 2000
By 
This review is from: Entrapment (DVD)
THIS MOVIE WAS BY FAR ONE OF THE BEST I'VE SEEN. THE CHEMISTRY BETWEEN CONNERY AND JONES WAS TENSE AND INTENSE. THE ACTION WILL KEEP YOU ON THE EDGE OF EVERY TURN, TWIST AND SUPRISE THROUGHOUT THE MOVIE. IT WAS TASTEFUL YET EXCITING. THE PLOT MAY GET YOUR ATTENTION,BUT THE SUSPENCE WILL KEEP IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Entrapment
Entrapment by Jon Amiel
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.