Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Introduction to Environmental Science Text
In the past, I haven't been a big fan of Miller's environmental science texts. They have a tendency to be overly verbose and the diagrams are often confusing. However, this book is a big improvement on prior editions. Much of the narrative has been tightened up, its much more readable and appropriate for introductory level students. I use this text for a non-science...
Published on June 28, 2011 by James Dauray

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Will be buying new books from now on
Packaged horribly plus the book wasn't in the condition I expected. Cover of the book was bent and so were some of the pages. The book even had a hair in it ! Yuck. I will be buying new books from now on. Aside from that the book did come on time so that's why I gave the two stars.
Published 13 months ago by Justine Lambart


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Introduction to Environmental Science Text, June 28, 2011
By 
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
In the past, I haven't been a big fan of Miller's environmental science texts. They have a tendency to be overly verbose and the diagrams are often confusing. However, this book is a big improvement on prior editions. Much of the narrative has been tightened up, its much more readable and appropriate for introductory level students. I use this text for a non-science major underclassmen course and it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, November 2, 2010
By 
N. Gabriel (Detroit, Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
I had this book for a college class. The information presented was very interesting, and always up-to-date. This book presents very important information that everyone living on this planet should know about. It will change you. The illustrations are in full color, with many applicable pictures. The authors obviously put a huge amount of work assembling the information in this book. I enjoyed it immensely and HIGHLY recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Environmental Science Is Excellent, July 7, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
I was searching for a textbook to use to prepare homeschooled college students to take and pass a DSST exam ([...]) to earn science credit for their bachelor's degrees at Excelsior College ([...]) and this book passed with flying colors. Unlike typical dry-as-sawdust texts, this book features solid science information in an easy-to-read format with gorgeous photography and graphics throughout. This is not a book that students and their professors will dread to open.

Environmental Science is as interesting to read as it is radiantly beautiful with its photographs and graphics that make it easy to learn and remember what you have both read and seen illustrated. Each chapter begins with a case study relating to the chapter's subject as a preview and includes key questions and concepts to prepare the student for reading.

The chapters are focused, easy to read, and interesting. There are many real-world examples to bring the topics and concepts to life and make them relevant. Gorgeous photographs and full color graphics show rather than tell and make it easy to understand and remember information. There are small boxes with fascinating tidbits of info on the topic and a unique "How would you vote?" feature that allows students to go online to the publisher's site and vote on issues of importance relating to the chapter's topic. Science Focus is a feature that brings the topic to the student's own world (such as "Greening American Campuses") and Individuals Matter shows how individuals like the reader did something to make a difference for the environment. What Can You Do? boxes offer the reader some options to take action and each chapter ends with a short review, critical thinking questions/activities, and some online links to the publisher's website for more info and helps in learning. I even like the chapter topics- Earthquakes Are Geologic Rock-And-Roll Events, for example. It is obvious that this book was meant to really teach students Environmental Science at more than a superficial level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars env. sci. txtbook, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
although this book wasn't used much in my class it was very useful as supplemental reading. there is lots of info, easy to understand. the authors make this relative to the modern person's life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Edition, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Paperback)
This text is excellent for environmental science enthusiasts and students. This text is shockingly up-to-date with the current state of the environment and policy. The images and diagrams are plentiful and powerful. The message is persuasive without being overbearing, each section ending in a piece of optimism about how society can make a positive impact on the world we all share. The inside cover contains information on how to access FREE online quizzes to practice for exams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, July 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
I purchased this for my 15 year old son to take an Environmental Science class this summer at our local college. He enjoyed the class and the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best condition., February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) (Paperback)
It isn't in the best condition but it is STILL readable. I will order this book again if it were ever to fall apart on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Book, December 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Paperback)
I like the information included in the book. Obviously it was a requirement for a class so I had to get it but I think it was a good choice in book. It was easy to follow and had a lot of good information in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book, November 2, 2012
This review is from: Environmental Science (Paperback)
The book is very interesting and illustrative. From the environmental perspective, it covers almost all problems we face.
The offered solutions are logical, doable and beneficial.
I loved the book: I bought it because it because I had to (required in class), but I will keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Will be buying new books from now on, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Environmental Science (Paperback)
Packaged horribly plus the book wasn't in the condition I expected. Cover of the book was bent and so were some of the pages. The book even had a hair in it ! Yuck. I will be buying new books from now on. Aside from that the book did come on time so that's why I gave the two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate)
Environmental Science (Available Titles CourseMate) by Scott Spoolman (Paperback - January 1, 2010)
Used & New from: $0.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.