Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer follow-up to Monotheist
Yes you read the heading correctly. This might as well be named Celtic Frost, Tom Warrior returns w/his new band. Since Celtic Frost dissolved 2 yrs ago he always wanted to put out the successor to Monotheist, the last and best Frost album. Well he did it!! Triptykon sounds as close to Frost, wtihout using the name. The sound is in many ways a twin of Monotheist in...
Published on March 23, 2010 by Frank Rini

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING & BLEAK but Good...
One never knows what direction Tom Gabriel Warrior will take his music when Martin Ain and Reed St. Mark aren't around to reign in his experimental tendencies. At his worst he ventures into art rock or glam metal but at his best he writes amazing dark heavy metal like To Mega Therion. After the recent demise of Celtic Frost I was concerned that the momentum from...
Published on March 25, 2010 by Kevin Brock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer follow-up to Monotheist, March 23, 2010
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
Yes you read the heading correctly. This might as well be named Celtic Frost, Tom Warrior returns w/his new band. Since Celtic Frost dissolved 2 yrs ago he always wanted to put out the successor to Monotheist, the last and best Frost album. Well he did it!! Triptykon sounds as close to Frost, wtihout using the name. The sound is in many ways a twin of Monotheist in terms of the heavy guitar tone, atmosphere and doomy song structures. This is an excellent blend of death, thrash, doom, black metal and goth. The emphasis on this band is definitely DOOM! Songs are longer and their is less thrashiness/fast parts than what was on Monotheist. Opener Goetia comes crashing out the gates after about 3 minutes of soft guitar and drums. Song is pure brutality. Over 11 minutes and it never feels like it. My only complaint are their really are only 7 songs out of the 9. Shrine is an interlude and My Pain just has some female vocals over a 4 minute interlude, I would have much rather heard an original song. Some other weird moments are the song Myopic Empire. You cannot help but headbang to this mid paced crusher of a song. About halfway through the song it breaks for a piano interlude for about 2 minutes, before heading back into the song. Strange. It's kinda cool, but it disrupts the flow a little too much, I feel. Seeing that ending track The Prolonging was close to 20 min at length I was a little hesistant as to what to expect. Surprisingly the song is one of the best Warrior has ever written. It is a doomy/slow song with atmosphere and is a brilliant piece of work. I struggled to give this a 5 due to me wanting some faster parts on the album as well as the interludes on the cd that are really more filler than anything else. When Tom Warrior stated he was going to release an album as to close to Celtic Frost as possible, he really kept true to his word. If you loved Monotheist, you will love this cd. This is truly a scorcher and one of the best cd's this year. Hail to the new version of Celtic Frost, TRIPTYKON!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frostykon, April 16, 2010
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
Eparistera Daimones is a heavy, dark record. Slow, hard hitting and in-your-face. The first difference notable from Monotheist is Tom's voice sounds a bit more processed, but it sounds quite good. 9 tracks cover black doom, heavy thrash, and some gothic elements.

Despite the highly artistic effort from Giger as the artwork, however, I cannot say that this album's music is more artistic than Monotheist. Where it 'falls short' is the more obvious lack of profound esoteric / theological content. No more are we breaching topics of God within the human and the venom and cynicism for religion seems to have gone, simply skimming the surface on these topics. Fischer seems content speaking about flesh, death and pain. This simply means a very straightforward record.

I cannot help but feel that this presented a weakness at one or two points. Noticeably in songs such as Thousand Lies where straightforwardness and simplicity is not enough, the depth suddenly dissappears because of repetition of theme. The Prolonging too, is far too self involved to withhold many people's attention. How long should one sit in Tom's mind before switching to track 1 again for that crushing riff or profound statement? Shrine is filler.

But those weaknesses can be forgiven easily each time you listen to the other tracks. Goetia, Abyss Within my Soul, and Descendant being really heavy hitters and sometimes reminding me of Monotheist's Ain Elohim or Ground. In Shrouds Decayed, Myopic Empire and My Pain are the slightly more gothic inspired efforts that quickly grow on you (the latter being an obligatory teary-eyed affair that breaks up the pace a little). I can still sense Tom retains the reigns here, creating the greatest strength out of the resources he has and for the music he wants to create. Therefore he creates landscapes and immerses you into them - rather than just creating songs. These are songs that, should you have enjoyed Monotheist, you will want to return to often enough.

Overall though, continuing with the Monotheist formula is by no means bad, it is quite powerful. Masterpiece it is not, but it is still relevant, fresh, and original enough. The heavy metal scene is a better place for having Eparistera Daimones, and we are priviliged to experience another offering such as this. Each time I see the cover I am reminded I have something quite special - it certainly eases the pain of the breakup of Celtic Frost. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TGF Is onto better things, March 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
If you've heard of Celtic Frost you knew that Triptykon was coming, well after months and months of waiting PDR and Century Media bring you the debut album which translated to english means "to the left, demons" Now personally I thought the last incarnation of Frost was probably the best one. I know some will argue and that's alright after all we all have our own opinions. Triptykon is even better, Warrior has a killer band here and this debut is going to be hard to top. I am pleased to see V Santura carry on with Tom and the rest of the band is just brutal, there isn't a filler song to be had. While there are some strange interludes and bridges between a couple songs that is not unusual for TGW to do that. Warrior is looking ahead only with no regrets this band is going to be his last band and he knows that Tom has more aggression is his voice and playing than ever. Also for you YouTube visitors a great interview with TGW on the formation of Triptykon.
Get the disc, over 70 minutes of massive metal. Triptykon is just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010's heaviest CD of the year, December 11, 2010
By 
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
As usual, the pioneers of black/death/doom metal got it right and still produce music that makes newer poseur outfits look positively ridiculous. Celtic Frost mastermind Tom G. Warrior has formed a new band, Triptykon and in "Eparistera Daimones" delivered easily the heaviest album of the year, possibly of this whole genre.
Easily proving that the darkest metal must have dynamics and atmosphere, this CD is almost frighteningly dark and heavy. Warrior does more than growl. He also sings in a sinister bass, and the closer, "The Prolonging", sounds like Beezlebub himself may have stopped in for a guest vocal. Of course, the elements of the heaviest Sabbath are lovingly referenced and taken to new depths. This stuff is so dark it'll have horns sprouting from your forehead.
This, kiddies, is how it's done. Listening to Sirius/XM's "Liquid Metal" the other day, I heard four or five tunes in a row that easily could have been the exact same dull band, same tone, same tunings, same tempo and blast beats. This is not metal - it's assembly line clones we suffer with every time a band strikes new territory, be it deathcore, hardcore or whatever. You want my entertainment buck, you better have a sound of your own. I hate clones. That isn't the case with Triptykon, who I nominate as the band you want blasting out of your home stereo the next time some local church jerk knocks on your door trying to get you to go to church next Sunday or get your kids to go to vacation Bible school. They'll never come near you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School, October 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
I really like this album, it takes me back to Celtic Frost in the early 80's. I hope that Warrior keeps going in this direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Warrior's best since Into the Pandemonium., January 9, 2011
By 
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
It's difficult for me to declare this the best album out of the fifty or so I heard last year, though it's proven the most endearing. Tom Gabriel Warrior still has it. There's no pretense here. Just the master doing everything he's best at, pulling no stops - hashing out one pulverizing rhythm after another, sculpting desolate sounds out of clean guitars that beckon to explode into one of the harsher tones doom metal's dared to explore while writing memorable vocal lines that bring most of these songs into the classic sphere shared by the best of Celtic Frost. There's a progressive lean to everything here with its subtle use of pianos and operatic vocals while never forgoing pure heaviness for experimentation's sake. It's exhausting, it's vitriolic, it's damn great. Listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of Tom G., September 17, 2010
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
Hell yea...this is the triumphant return of metal legend Tom Warrior (and company). This record does have a very familiar feel to those who know Celtic Frost's Monotheist album. But this has more passioniate aggressive overtones and less droning as on Monotheist. Many fans are nay-sayers...'they will never recapture the glory of the 80's' etc. and well that may be true (being a devout fan of the 80s sound), this is the next best thing next to To Mega Therion album. As fast as Slayer, as doomy as Cathedral, but a better combination of the two styles can't be found. Quite original song compositions of a bleak outlook on life and death topics. Tom G. does it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell yes!!! \m/, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
Amazing album, and a perfect follow up to the final Frost album. This is classic Frost on a whole new level. Hail Tom Warrior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISTURBING & BLEAK but Good..., March 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eparistera Daimones (Audio CD)
One never knows what direction Tom Gabriel Warrior will take his music when Martin Ain and Reed St. Mark aren't around to reign in his experimental tendencies. At his worst he ventures into art rock or glam metal but at his best he writes amazing dark heavy metal like To Mega Therion. After the recent demise of Celtic Frost I was concerned that the momentum from Monotheist would be lost. Mostly because Martin Ain had always provided the captivating lyrics and arcane subject matter that fueled Celtic Frost's best albums. But my fears were somewhat unfounded. Triptykon's first release is almost as good Monotheist. Its not quite as enjoyable because it veers farther from being metal and more into avant-garde as it includes even more slower paced gothic songs, electronica, piano interludes and women's operatic voices. I actually enjoyed some of these avant-garde moments because they were skillfully done and provide a reprive from the abrasive and angrier moments that permeate much of the album. My only complaints are that many songs are overlong, droning and repetitive with no real riffs or hooks. Therefore it is not as good as Monotheist and is certainly not in the same league as the near perfect To Mega Therion. But it is much better than Into the Pandimonium which didn't incorporate the slower and classical elements quite as skillfully. Overall, Triptykon is an interesting, overtly dark & depressing and haunting piece of work.

Best Tracks: Myopic Empire, In Shrouds Decayed, Abyss Within My Soul, My Pain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warrior Does It Again, July 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album reminds me a lot of what Celtic Frost should have become back in the 80'2-90's. It takes the work Tom Warrior did with Celtic Frost on their last album "Monotheist" and goes a step further. If you like Celtic Frost, you will not be disappointed in this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eparistera Daimones
Eparistera Daimones by Triptykon (Audio CD - 2010)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.