Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Non-Linear RPG
** Minor spoilers included in text **
In this game, you play "Mouse" (you can rename him -- I did), a thief/bard who is journeying to an island to play at the wedding of a popular ruler. But... All is not as it seems on the island. The bride is unhappy, the ruler has some secret, and there is something funny going on with time...
This game uses the...
Published on July 17, 2001 by Jaimi RR McEntire

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but sill worth a look
In Ephemeral Fantasia you take the role of a musician/bard/theif named Mouse. Mouse and his talking instrument accept a job offer from the Island of Eternal Summer. Very quickly you soon find out not all is as it seems. Your mission is to break out of the time loop.
The repetitiveness of the game can be annoying (being stuck in a time loop) but after the first week...
Published on October 14, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Non-Linear RPG, July 17, 2001
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
** Minor spoilers included in text **
In this game, you play "Mouse" (you can rename him -- I did), a thief/bard who is journeying to an island to play at the wedding of a popular ruler. But... All is not as it seems on the island. The bride is unhappy, the ruler has some secret, and there is something funny going on with time...
This game uses the same "time loop" plot device that you've seen in "Groundhog Day" and others. But here, it is a 5 days that repeat. The first "week", you are basically led by the hand to every major encounter by your beautiful, fiesty guide Rummy (the leggy redhead you see in the screenshots). After the first week, though, you are free to explore, figure things out and recruit people in whichever order you want. Didn't save whats-his-face on Day 4? Don't worry, next week he'll be alive again, and you can save him then.
Story: (8 out of 10) I won't give the main story away, but I enjoyed it. The time-loop plot device was a good twist, as you could do things differently the next week and see what happened.
Characters: (9 out of 10) I liked most of the characters, with the exception of the princess -- she seemed bored, and to complacent. Rummy and Rinna where my favorites. The characters had personalities, and for the most parts, stuck to them well. Only games I like better for characters would be Grandia 2 and Lunar 2.
Combat: (7 out of 10) Party based, like most console RPG's. This time, though, attacks are happening simultaneously, so you need to choose your options quickly. I liked the skill system, and the ability to learn skills by watching other players. Still, I would have liked for it to pause while I was choosing options.
Graphics: (6 out of 10) This is the worst part of the game. Still, they are better than PSX quality. But they could have used better lighting. The character models are good though - I especially liked Rinna and Rumi.
Enjoyability: (9 out of 10) Can't really put it into words, but I find this game very fun. Supposedly there are multiple endings, I'll try for each one. I feel I got my moneys worth on this game.
A lot of people seem to like the "guitar freaks" mini game. This is a minigame where you pluck tunes by matching colors that are scrolling up screen. Well, it wasn't my cup of tea, and to be honest I was horrible at it. But I found that it didn't really matter whether you were good at it or not. (One of my favorites: "oh, that must have been the 'progressive' style that I heard about!") So don't be put off if you can't play it. I can't, and still had fun!
Sever reviewers on the game sites seem to be bashing this game - I believe they didn't play past the first week. The first week should really be considered an intro to the events- the game really begins on week 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got a bad rap, April 27, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
True, I'll be the first too admit that EF has it's problems... problems that will smack you right upside the head a few times as soon as you start in fact. Example, whenever you look at a character head on, looks like they don't have a nose...okay that's not a gameplay flaw, but a graphical oddity. As to a gameplay factor, it is EXTREMELY non-linear after the first few days, so while it offers a ton of freedom to do as you please, that also means alot of chances to get lost. But still, once you getting past those inital hurdles, I think you'll found a very enjoyable story. Patience is the key in this game, and it will pay off if you can manage it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Concept For a Game..., September 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
... Ephemeral Fantasia is an interesting and challenging game, with the time-loop concept and some really great characters in a huge setting. The main character is a young musician named Mouse who is summoned to Pandule island to perform at the Princess of Pandule Island's wedding. After he arrives, he discovers things are not as they first seemed...
Anyway, the music is wonderful (especially the battle music and when Mouse plays certain songs on his banjo), and the mini games are addicting. One mini game is finding the eggs of Death Hyokos, which can fight alongside you in battles as an extra character. But be warned, Death Hyokos can't be brought back if they fall in battle! The eggs are hidden all over Pandule Island, and searching for them can be VERY addicting. There are 100 Death Hyoko eggs in all. Another mini game is the fact you can play aquired songs anywhere on your banjo after you play the songs for the first time. Play the game to see what I mean!
The sound effects (like when Mouse hits his banjo, or other sound effects) are very good, and the game's gameplay is almost flawless as well. Ephemeral Fantasia's graphics are not top quality, unfortunately, but they serve their purpose well enough.
Here's my ratings for all of Ephemeral Fantasia's elements (out of a possible 10 points):
Graphics: 7 and a half/10
Replay Value (mini games, secrets, and such): 9/10
Gameplay: 8 and a half/10
Storyline: 8 and a half/10
Music: 9 and a half/10
Sound Effects: 8 and a half/10
Overall, I'd have to give Ephemeral Fantasia an 8 and a half.
One other thing, through, some people may grow tired of this game quickly because of the time-loop slowing down Ephemeral Fantasia's story's progress. I recommend renting this game before buying it.
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but sill worth a look, October 14, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
In Ephemeral Fantasia you take the role of a musician/bard/theif named Mouse. Mouse and his talking instrument accept a job offer from the Island of Eternal Summer. Very quickly you soon find out not all is as it seems. Your mission is to break out of the time loop.
The repetitiveness of the game can be annoying (being stuck in a time loop) but after the first week you don't have to go to any of the events again unless you want to or are trying to recrute a certain character. Which makes this game very non-linear. The way you recrute characters is by convinsing them they are repeating the same week over and over. Its ok if you miss someone one week because you can get them next time.
Don't forget the mini games. I am not very good at the guitar mini game (which reminds me of guitar freaks) but thats ok. Its frustrating not to get a good score but it doesn't sffect the game's out come. Another mini game (there are others) is the drinking you play with Clair (a very inportant character to have). The first 9 times you beat her you get a piece of the map.
While were on the subject of the map, this is probably the most anoying part of the game. Find the different peices for the 'world' (island) map can be difficult and tiresome.
Its true the graphics aren't what you would expect for PS2, but really the're just different. Ephemeral Fantasia has a cartoonish anime look (which I like.)
I noticed this game hasn't been getting the best reviews. I think people are being to hard on Konami. I find this game challenging but entertaing and fun too.
What this all boils down to it that some people like it and some don't. Deffinetly rent it first. If you like non-linear RPG adventers deffinetly give it a try. Don't reviews sway your opinion until you try it for yourself. Try to keep an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whatever fantasia, August 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
Theif or musician? In EF you take the role of Mouse, a theif disguised as a musician. Your partner is a 300 year old talking instrment named Pattimo. [dont worry mouse is REALLY young]
Mouse receives an invatation from pandule island to come and pay a visit. he accepts thinking hes gonna make lots of money which he does. But anyway the graphics are AWESOME if you like anime. the battle systems great and you get more allies than you know what to do with. one thing. the princess is THE UGLIEST GIRL ON PANDULE!! sure she might be pretty on the cover, but in the game shes UGGGGLY!! Rummys prettier. you'll get to know her when you play the game. anywho, inthe game the same 5 days get repeated. the princess is pretty much forced to get married to the evil guy stupidly named Xelpherpolis [sounds like a city] time keeps on looping soooo.. you have to stop time from looping
Report
A++++
great graphics
fun battle system
hilarious cutscenes
if there were 10 stars thats
what i would give it!
By miranda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First TRUE RPG on PS2...?, July 15, 2001
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
So that's what the guy at the store had told me when I decided I must have this game simply because it was an RPG and the cover was interesting enough. Spending [money] hasn't always been my favorite thing to do - especially on PS2 games - yet I must say this is probably one of the most pleasing investments I've made. The story basically is about a bard named Mouse (yeah... like those furry things with tails ^_^) who has been invited to compose and play a song at a wedding on an island. I really don't want to give any story away, but let's just say things don't go exactly as planned and Mouse ends up having to try and save the island. You can recruit up to 10 different people for your party and the graphics aren't that bad (especially for a dreamcast to ps2 conversion). The game is also in real time and certain objectives must be completed at certain times - a lot like the Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask. There is no speaking dialogue in it, though, and the game (like all RPGs) requires patience. I gave it a 5 star because I really like it, but unless you are a hardcore RPG fan I would suggest renting it before buying just to make sure you'll like it. If you're an RPG fan, on the other hand, ...what's stopping you from trying out this newest addition Konami has produced? (..They made the Suikoden series, I think they deserve a chance on this game hands down!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is an aquired taste, but the wine is sweet always, June 30, 2002
By 
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
Many people have steped on this game. I respect that, this game was not for them, much like some games are not for me, sports games, for instance. You will like this game if you like RPG's and fantasies and have a little patience. You will not like this game if you have a game shark and get board of games quickly. This game is not for those people. For my part, I think you should rent it and not listin to other people, see if you like it for yourself. I will leave one hint though: Without some kind of guide or gamefaqs.com, this game may take you a very, very long time to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ephemeral Fantasia, ALL THE WAY!!!!!, August 8, 2002
By 
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
Ephemeral Fantasia is one of the biggest games out there on the PS2. It combines all the natural elements of a great RPG, storyline, battle system, characters, music, and minigames.
Right when I started this game, I knew it would be a long game. You play as a a musician, Mouse, who has been hired to play at the princess's wedding on the island of Pandule. Only when you arrive, a dark secret about the island is revealed. The game is seperated into weeks with a monday tuesday type system, with a clock as well. You have to use the clock to meet certain people at the right time or complete a certain event. Timing is EVERYTHING in this game.
The island itself is giant, with tons and tons of characters to interact with. The island has 49 different map pieces you can collect, to show you around the island. It is just huge, with about 5 towns you can visit. Try and find shortcuts. The game contains 12 characters you can recruit onto your team. It will take time, patience, and thinking to recieve each character.....
The battle system is in real time so you must choose your attacks fast to avoid being attacked yourself. There are different skills you can learn called Arts. Make your Arts grow levels and you might learn a knew attack. You can also learn different attacks from you teammates, as well as tons of magic.
I was blown away by the variety in this game. But what is a game without the proper music. Have you ever played a game with the volume on mute? Well its pretty hard to play like that. This game have the coolest music, where ever you go, battle, or outside. You can also add on replay value to the game by using your guitar, Pattimo, to play different music, that is a very fun minigame, as well as Death Hykato raising, and tons more.
But seriously, Ephemeral Fantasia is a really cool game, with endless replay value, and pure fun. I would reccomend this game to all RPG players alike, this game is definatley a must buy for the PS2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not OY...but jOY, June 10, 2002
By 
Big Weave Dawg (Massachusetts...Baby!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
Over all i found this game rather enjoyable. Although it gets confusing in the beginning you can easily pick up the plot. The controls are NOT hard at all. You use the analog stick to move in a 3-D environment which has decent graphics. Seeing as how this game was one of the first PS2 games, i think that it was good. I suggest you rent this game before you buy it, it takes some time to get into the game and of course all people dont like the same thing, however i am quite pleased with the game. It is not difficult to get involved in the game...unless you didnt read the instruction manual (hopefully you did).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty cool, May 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ephemeral Fantasia (Video Game)
This was the first PS2 game I played. I thought at first the game [stunk], I hated it. But then I got into it after the plot, so I really like it. The graphics are good, but I've played only two PS2 games, so I can't really compare. I didn't like how you battled, reminded me of Pokemon, you don't see whatever is about to attack, and your pulled into a fight. It could've been better, but no game is perfect, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ephemeral Fantasia
Ephemeral Fantasia by Konami (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: $2.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.