Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insights, January 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
Boice has written another fabulous commentary. I would highly recommend utilizing any commentary that he has written. That being said, you have to be careful when shopping for a commentary--you need to understand the type of commentary that you want. Boice's commentaries are not technical in nature (i.e. they are not written to help you break down passage, understand the greek nuances, etc). Boice's commentaries are written to help you understand how to apply the passage and how you might contextualize the passage for your local congregation. In actuality, this commentary is the conglomeration of Boice's sermons on Ephesians. So, if you are looking for your one commentary to help you on your studies as you prepare to preach Ephesians, this is not the commentary for you. However, if you are looking for another commentary to help you think through the application and implications of Ephesians, this would be a helpful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ephesians, May 28, 2006
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
**** Ephesians has been termed the Queen of the Epistles, a symphony of the New Testament, and of all the maestros to conduct that suite, James Montgomery Boice is among the most adept. Putting deep theological concepts into layman's terms in a readable fashion without dumbing it down takes a master's touch. That is what you find in this book. Using the rest of scripture to interpret Paul's letter as well as Biblical and modern history, Dr. Boice sheds new light on the ancient text. Yes, there are a plethora of books coming out that tear down sacred texts, but the reader would be far better off diving into an intelligent work like this that illuminates. ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Small Group Study Guide, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
We're using this book to suppliment the study materials we are using for our Ephesian's study series. The material is well organized and the study is quite effective and challenging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Study Tool, January 15, 2011
By 
Gerald Waters (Philadelphia, Pa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Dr. Boice's writings for many years. His expositions and explaination of Biblical passages are very edifying for both laymen and ministers alike. As a proponet of reformed theology and a seeker of the righeousness of Jesus Christ I would highly recommend this book and others authored by Dr. Boice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, June 21, 2014
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
I read this commentary because of the author. Previously I read James Montgomery Boice’s commentary on Phillippians which I thoroughly enjoyed. I also enjoyed this commentary on Ephesians. It is a good expositional commentary and ideal for devotions through the book of Ephesians. I appreciated that it was practical. I have seen other reviews saying that it’s not exegetically detailed but I think it is not fair to expect an exegetical commentary when the intent of the commentary is expositional. While there are other commentaries on Ephesians that are more exegetical than this one (I think the best is still Harold W. Hoehner’s exegetical commentary) I think it is still worthwhile for the exegete to consult Boice’s work to help with thinking about the application and delivery of the content of Ephesians to God’s people. Boice did bring out good lexical insight from the meaning of certain Greek terms in ways that are very insightful. Read this to warm your hearts for God in light of what He has done for us in saving us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
Great book. The writer does a scholarly job and it is clear and concise. I would recommend this commentary for all students of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JMB, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A solid work. If you enjoyed his four volume set on Romans, you are sure to enjoy this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A commentary you can read..., February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
I have often found commentaries to be long & dry. James Montgomery Boice fills the pages with Bible based truth and insights that are so easy to take away with you. The truths are practical and he makes it clear how they can be applied. I have read a number of his commentaries and look forward to reading others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well pleased!, December 3, 2012
Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary The book more than met the quality of what I expected when I ordered the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary (Paperback)
Clear, precise exposition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary
Ephesians: An Expositional Commentary by James Montgomery Boice (Paperback - May 1, 2006)
$22.00 $19.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.