Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to win customers on the Internet
Advertising is not dead, but content marketing is the driver that leading companies now use to capture the hearts and minds of their customers, according to Joe Pulizzi in this book. We need to be epic with our content marketing, focusing more on our customers and less on our products; to sell more, we need to be marketing our products less.

So what is this...
Published 15 months ago by John Gibbs

versus
54 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A magazine article that the publisher pumped up into a book
Joe may be the godfather of content marketing, but the tips in this beefed-up pamphlet are pretty thin gruel. Mission statements? Voice-of-Customer? Focus on content quality? Measure results?! Sure, buy a book to learn about all this ... or save your $15 by attending an after-work Social Media Week mixer and listen to that event's guest speaker.

I have a pretty...
Published 15 months ago by Steve and Idi Amin


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to win customers on the Internet, September 19, 2013
By 
John Gibbs (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Advertising is not dead, but content marketing is the driver that leading companies now use to capture the hearts and minds of their customers, according to Joe Pulizzi in this book. We need to be epic with our content marketing, focusing more on our customers and less on our products; to sell more, we need to be marketing our products less.

So what is this thing that the author calls "epic content marketing"? There are six principles:

* Your content must fill an unmet need or answer a question for your customer
* You must deliver your content consistently
* Your content needs to be written in your voice, preferably with some humour
* You need to express an opinion rather than giving a balanced history report
* You must avoid sales speak, as it destroys the value of your content
* You must aim to produce the very best content relating to your content niche

The book goes on to describe how to identify and define your content niche and content marketing mission statement, how to create an editorial calendar and manage the content creation process, different content types and content assets, how to use social media in marketing your stories, other content promotion techniques, and how to measure the impact of your content marketing initiatives.

The author writes in a clear and compelling style, and his advice seems to be very useful to anyone engaged in business but particularly to those with a marketing role. It seems to me that the more that businesses get on the content marketing bandwagon, the harder it will be for anyone to get found amongst all of the content, so there is a big advantage to getting into content marketing as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands Down the Best Content Marketing Book Available Now - Phenomenal Read, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
Content marketing is an evolving discipline. It has risen, very quickly, to become the most important tool in the digital marketing tool chest. Joe Pulizzi's new book, Epic Content Marketing, is quite simply, the very best book right now about the topic. I'm a content marketing guy myself, having written a couple of books on the subject and running a content development firm, so I know what's good and what's not. There are so many phenomenal takeaways in this book, I'm not sure where to begin. But before I do that, let me share with you why this is a "must have" book for your company:

* It covers content marketing from every angle and for every type of company, so it is comprehensive
* It brings up innovative ideas and strategies that no other book on the subject covers, so its groundbreaking
* The book is absolutely a page-turner, it flows so effortlessly. I finished the book, front to back on a 5-hour plane flight, and I never do that...with any book. That's how good this book is. So, it's easy to read.
* His enthusiasm for content marketing and passion for business "leap" off the page, you can't help but get caught up in Joe's positive energy. So, it's motivational.
* It is written by the "torchbearer" of the industry and one who I continually learn from...Joe Pulizzi, the guy who puts on the best content marketing event of the year, Content Marketing World. So, it's the absolute authority book.

And here are the specific things that I really enjoyed:

* The Foreword by Michael Brenner, VP of Marketing and Content Strategy at SAP. He explained how even a big, well respected company has learned and implemented the finer points of content marketing
* I like how he told his own story about Content Marketing Institute and how they use great content to power their own efforts
* And along those lines, Joe makes the book a personal story, by sharing parts of his private life to illustrate key points as well. He described how his own family uses a mission statement, which he has used to teach his children, and...how much it's made a difference. I like when authors share personal stories, it makes the reading experience more enjoyable.
* He makes a very key point to kick off the book..."your customers don't care about you, your products or your services. They care about themselves"...this is a mistake that so many companies are still making. This is a critically important distinction between companies that are winning and losing the content marketing game.
* Key insights into journalists and how they are changing the content marketing paradigm (ie. Joe mentions that "Journalists are no longer wary of working for non-media companies.")
* He explains a key change that most people have not thought about: the diminishing importance of traditional media outlets. He says "they simply do not have the resources that non-media companies have to compete over the long term". Translation: This means the door is wide open for any company to become the media in their industry.
* The case studies are inspiring: I loved the Legos story, Tesla, Coca-Cola's Content 2020 project, Red Bull and many more
* I loved his "Seven Ways to Take the Media World by Storm" on page 37...this is basically the blue print for your company to become a content marketing powerhouse. The "rent-to-own" strategy was a key learning point for me.
* The emphasis on "Story telling" and how it differs from being simply "content aware" or a "thought leader".
* The idea of focusing on subscription as a key content marketing goal. Very few companies do this now.
* Using Pippity for pop-over services - I'm checking them out this week!
* The idea of setting up "listening posts" to get real time feedback from customers (this is brilliant)
* Great section on Editorial Calendars and their importance to your content marketing success
* I LOVE how he spells out the harsh reality: that most SEO firms and traditional advertising firms don't get content marketing. Reader beware.

So, I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea: This is one of the best business books of the year, period. For all the above reasons and more, you absolutely NEED to get this book. It's quite simply an incredible read for any company, large or small, in any industry. Pick up a copy of Epic Content Marketing...today! You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Epic - It's not hard with this book, September 14, 2013
By 
Sarah Mitchell "globalcopywrite" (Fremantle, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
In his closing address at Content Marketing World 2013, Joe Pulizzi advised more than 1700 content marketers in attendance to "Try". Like so many elements of content marketing, it's a simple concept to understand but difficult to implement. In his new book, Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less, Pulizzi manages to demystify both the art and science of the burgeoning content revolution and give marketers confidence and inspiration. Importantly, he also challenges the reader to get uncomfortable and assume a few risks.

The book is organized into five distinct sections starting with the history of content marketing and moving through strategy, process, implementation and measurement. Suitable for both the seasoned professional and marketing intern, Pulizzi's advice and examples guide the reader through the essentials of a successful content marketing program. Each chapter is summarized with an "Epic Thoughts" section, a helpful recap of the key points of the chapter, along with a comprehensive list of "Epic Resources". Pulizzi also provides online links to additional content and tools throughout the book demonstrating his commitment to being helpful, a principle he endorses as an essential trait of effective content. The final chapter in the book contains several checklists, examples, and prompts to help marketers develop and distribute epic content for their business.

The genius behind Epic Content Marketing is the easy blend of simplicity and complexity in its advice. The reader feels encouraged but also senses Pulizzi expects them to leave their comfort zone. While many business books offer a prescription for success, Pulizzi is throwing down the gauntlet and asking readers to experiment and take chances in order to uncover new and valuable customer stories. Pulizzi advises content marketers to embrace failure, forget about perfection but always move towards producing the very best content in their industry.

Epic Content Marketing stands out in the clutter of marketing books for several reasons. Pulizzi is a talented writer who packs a lot of information into easily digestible chapters. He's loaded each chapter with opinions and advice from expert practitioners, providing numerous case studies and success stories from both large and small organizations. He's generous with his own experience at the Content Marketing Institute giving frank insight into how content marketing has helped his own company to grow. Best of all, he's provided a structured road map that's equally useful for novices and experienced content marketers. His parting advice in this book is to "Be epic", a mandate that seems totally achievable with his help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why I Bought Epic Content Marketing, November 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
There are interesting dynamics playing out in the review section here. Joe's friends and supporters; those who like the book and one who doesn't supported by twenty plus people who found his opinion helpful. If one reads the reviews in order to determine whether or not to buy the book, how does she sort through all of this?

To begin with, John Gibbs, Sarah Mitchell and Jon Wuebben's reviews here are solid and stone cold nail the question: What's this book about?

I have no skin in the game. I don't know Joe and I'm not involved in Content Marketing. My interests are in marketing, storytelling and the art of communication.

So why did I buy Joe's book? Because other authors whose opinions I value, talk highly of Joe's work. Now these authors aren't management and leadership writers, they are Joe's competitors. In Epic Content Marketing, Joe talks about them as well. The fact that these authors are on the same page, squares value for me. It broadens the degree in which I am able to get my mind around Content Marketing and it enriches my overall learning experience. It also speaks volumes of Joe as a businessman, teacher and person. That's why I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 72 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A magazine article that the publisher pumped up into a book, October 1, 2013
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
Joe may be the godfather of content marketing, but the tips in this beefed-up pamphlet are pretty thin gruel. Mission statements? Voice-of-Customer? Focus on content quality? Measure results?! Sure, buy a book to learn about all this ... or save your $15 by attending an after-work Social Media Week mixer and listen to that event's guest speaker.

I have a pretty high tolerance for books that are used as business cards--published on the cheap, endorsed by other authors with books or private consultancies to flog, and sold in the back of the room at the author's events or presold as price of attending such events. But this one may be the straw that broke the camel's back. The only conceivable benefit to this book is to arm new arrivals to the content business with talking points that don't sound idiotic. And if that's your goal, to have an executive summary of content marketing, there's better information available free online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Common sense content marketing, September 25, 2013
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
Joe Pulizzi has been writing and talking about content marketing for quite a while, always making very important points in easy-to-understand language. This book, an A to Z how-to guide, definitely follows that style, making it an excellent read for marketing staffers, marketing executives and business leaders/owners. The information presented here is high level enough and plainly stated enough to make it useful to people looking for a basic introduction to content marketing. At the same time, the book contains more than enough detail (strategic advice, tactical suggestions and case studies) to make it an extremely valuable resource for experienced content marketers as well. This is one thing I've always liked about Joe -- his ability to connect with content marketing newbies and veterans at the same time. The book is somewhat slanted toward larger businesses, but I think people in companies of any size would benefit from reading it; while the corporate structures Joe recommends may not be necessary for smaller firms, the underlying principles of content marketing apply to every company.

This book reminds me a little bit of David Meerman Scott's "The New Rules of Marketing and PR." Both came out just ahead of the curve, and both provide excellent, practical guidance on how to adapt to a significantly altered marketing landscape. In the case of "Epic," companies are just now figuring out that content marketing is a real "thing," and yet most of them have no idea, no model, no benchmark for figuring out how to participate. But any business that wants to market effectively simply has to master content marketing, ideally before its competitors do. For that reason, I encourage people to not only read "Epic," but read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Joe Pulizzi Could Write This Book, But Everyone Can Benefit, September 22, 2013
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
Only Joe Pulizzi could write Epic Content Marketing, but it's contents can help every marketer in one way or another.

Epic Content Marketing can help you if you're a sales manager, marketing director, or entrepreneur looking for a comprehensive introduction to content marketing, or you're an experienced content marketing professional looking for ways to save time and money while replacing stressful deadlines with smooth-running processes.

Joe Pulizzi's unique perspective comes from years of involvement in creating content resources, such as owned media (i.e., corporate magazines) and magazine inserts for for Fortune 500 corporate clients.

But, at heart, Joe's an entrepreneur and he addresses content issues using the conversational language of small business owners and high-tech start-ups.

Epic Content Marketing consists of 25 chapters, logically organized into 5 sections:

- Part I: Content Marketing--There and Back Again. The first 6 chapters set the stage describing the importance of content marketing to both cash-starved start-ups as well as multinational firms like Coca-Cola, LEGO, Oracle, and Red Bull.

- Part II: Defining Your Niche and Strategy. The next 7 chapters help you define your content marketing objectives. Topics covered include identifying your market's information needs, finding your niche, and writing a content marketing mission statement to guide your efforts.

- Part III: Managing the Content Process. This is the implementation stage, where you begin to replace chaos and stress with process, delegation, and responsibility. Topics include creating an editorial calendar, working with employees and outside resources, and creating a content channel plan. For many, especially those working in corporate environments, these 7 chapters may be the most valuable of all.

- Part IV: Marketing Your Stories. The 3 chapter in this describe how to multiply the impact of your content marketing using social media and alternative promotional techniques, including leveraging the influencers in your field.

- Part V: Making Content Work. It' not enough to create good content, you also have to measure it and sell it to your clients or your C-level executives. The final chapters describing ways to measure the impact of your content marketing and evaluate its ROI (Return on Investment).

The final reason for Epic Content Marketing's unique strengths is that, as founder of the Content Marketing Institute, Joe has assembled a first-class team of content marketing observers and experts from all levels--from copywriters to corporate executives--whose examples, experiences, ideas, interviews, and perspectives combine to provide an up-to-date encyclopedia of content marketing best practices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for developing content strategies, September 15, 2013
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
Joe Pulizzi has knocked one out of the park with Epic Content Marketing by taking the mystery out of how to be a successful marketer and giving business leaders practical, every day steps they can take to attract and retain customers with content strategies. Mr. Pulizzi has a knack for breaking down an often complex subject into simple and insightful ways to use content to set yourself and your company apart from the competition. I would recommend this book for both the business owner and any of those on a marketing team who want to enhance their knowledge of content marketing and pick up a ton of ideas they can put into practice tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pulizzi Does It Again - Home Run!, September 17, 2013
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
"Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less" takes a complex, vitally important and sometimes contentious topic and breaks it down so that you can get your arms around it - and more importantly, so you can DO IT.

Almost every marketing book in the last 5 years has advised entrepreneurs and executives to "create amazing content" and everything good will fall out of the sky. This is perhaps the ultimate manifestation of the phrase, "Easier said than done."

Until now - because Joe Pulizzi has written ANOTHER great book that is part strategic guide, part implementation toolkit, and part content marketing manifesto.

I challenge any non-believer to work through this great book and not become a convert - or at least a solid practitioner - of content marketing.

The best thing about the book is that it's filled with specific examples, success stories, strategies, tactics and tools. Nothing is left out. Nothing is assumed. And Joe makes it clear that content marketing is a marathon, not a sprint - while proving beyond a shadow of a doubt that the "journey is worth the trip."

Great book - highly recommended. Makes a great companion to Joe's earlier work, "Get Content, Get Customers" - and if you liked the older book, you'll LOVE this one.

-- David Newman, author of Do It! Marketing: 77 Instant-Action Ideas to Boost Sales, Maximize Profits, and Crush Your Competition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Epic" is only the half of it, October 11, 2013
By 
Leslie (Sagamore Hills, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epic Content Marketing: How to Tell a Different Story, Break through the Clutter, and Win More Customers by Marketing Less (Hardcover)
There is no doubt in my mind that Joe Pulizzi is the content marketing maestro. After reading this book, it is also clear that he is an expert on engaging your audience and generating business without giving the same old sales spiel with too much clutter and not enough quality. Not only does Pulizzi show you how to tidy up your content, but he really gets a reader to take an introspective look into how you are currently interacting with the market and whether or not you are really delivering your content in a way that focuses on the buyer. Pulizzi's got examples, tools, and strategies galore. Epic Content Marketing will assuredly induce an augmented consumer pool. Pulizzi really hits the sweet spot with Epic Content Marketing. "Epic" is only scratching the surface when it comes to the execution of this compelling (and painless) publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.