Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (78)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprising
Saw this at the movies was a last pick on my pepsi points list but choices were low so I got it.Surprisingly it was better this time than at the movies so yeah was worth my points.
Published on August 26, 2008 by GennyR

versus
28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks like a five-pound leech.
This is perhaps officially THE worst movie I have ever had the displeasure of viewing. Uncreative and dull, Epic Movie does nothing more than throw distasteful gags and humorless jests to the screen, hoping that the mess will somehow stick. Unfortunately, it doesn't. Don't bother with this stinker. Try Pirates or Borat! instead.

0/5
Published on June 21, 2007 by D.W. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks like a five-pound leech., June 21, 2007
This review is from: Epic Movie (DVD)
This is perhaps officially THE worst movie I have ever had the displeasure of viewing. Uncreative and dull, Epic Movie does nothing more than throw distasteful gags and humorless jests to the screen, hoping that the mess will somehow stick. Unfortunately, it doesn't. Don't bother with this stinker. Try Pirates or Borat! instead.

0/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As bad as you might expect, June 17, 2007
By 
Carla Lilie "carlachris" (Des Moines, Ia. United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Epic Movie (DVD)
Nobody goes into a movie like this thinking they will see great art, but I was hoping for at least a modicum of cleverness and originality. I didn't find it here. This movie just isn't very funny, not even in a stupid, toilet humor kind of way. I also thought it a bit weird that the main film parodied was "The Chronicles of Narnia," a film I'm sure many little kids saw. There is no way an 8 year old should see this movie. There is way too much sexual innuendo for that. I'm sure some of the target audience for this movie saw "Narnia," but I think it would have made more sense to parody the "Lord of the Rings" films, since they are geared for an older audience. I can think of a lot of stupid movies that are genuinely funny, but this isn't one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Epic" Only in its Pointlessness, January 29, 2007
By 
Here's a list of the films parodied in "Epic Movie": "The Chronicles of Narnia," "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," "The Da Vinci Code," "Pirates of the Caribbean," "X-Men," "Harry Potter," "Snakes on a Plane," "Nacho Libre," and "Click." You'd think that such a large gathering of material would have resulted in a parody that was actually funny, but no; "Epic Movie" doesn't even transcend the parody genre, let alone the genres it makes fun of. The best that can be said about this film is that it's slightly amusing, which isn't nearly enough to allow for a satisfying experience. Yes, I know these kinds of movies are supposed to be extremely silly, and yes, I know that "Epic Movie" delivers exactly as it promises. Nonetheless, I think parodies should have at least one funny joke in them--you know, something that results in laughter.

The film starts with a narrator informing us about four orphans that fate will reunite. The first orphan is Lucy (Jayma Mays), who we first see in the Louvre Museum, running from the masochistic albino monk who murdered her beloved curator (a cameo by David Carradine). She follows several clues--such as a message written on the Mona Lisa saying, "So lame the hair of Tom"--all of which lead her to a vending machine. She then finds a Willy chocolate bar, opens it, and finds a golden ticket. She'd probably be more excited about her find if only she weren't as dumb as a brick; what other kind of a person would run through a museum in stiletto heels?

The second orphan is Edward (Kal Penn), who lives a dreary existence in a Mexican monastery. One day, he decides he's had enough of the awful food he's served everyday (especially since on that particular day, his meal is a dead cat). This doesn't sit well with Nacho Libre, who orders a child no older than nine to beat Edward senseless. Luckily for Edward, he grabs hold of a monk's Willy bar just as he's being thrown through a window. Inside is a golden ticket, which Edward thinks will mark the start of a better life.

The third orphan is Susan (Faune A. Chambers). We first see her as she's riding a plane, where a swarm of snakes have inexplicably taken over. In marches a Samuel L. Jackson wannabe, who does nothing but continuously shout how he's had enough of these snakes. He then grabs Susan and tosses her out the plane. Thank God this character lives in a parody world, where a Paris Hilton look-a-like is enough to break such a long fall; she even gets to mutter her trademark line, "I'm so hot," before she's crushed by Susan. And it seems that falling over thirty thousand feet wasn't a total loss; Susan reaches into Hilton's purse and finds a Willy bar, which contains a lucky golden ticket.

The fourth orphan is Peter (Adam Campbell), a mutant that's a misfit even amongst mutants (his special "power" is the ability to sprout puny chicken wings and run away feeling scared). No one will give him the time of day, not Mystique (Carmen Electra), and certainly not Magneto (Jim Piddock), the school's principal. When he uses his power to open a locker door, Peter walks directly into it, causing him to hit his head and fall to the floor. As would be expected, a group of mutant students laugh and walk away. But then a Willy bar falls out of the open locker, and Peter finds a golden ticket waiting inside.

The four orphans reunite at Willy's factory. Unfortunately, the joy and happiness will have to wait. This is because Willy (Crispin Glover) lets them in on a little secret; his candy tastes so good because it's made from human parts, specifically those of orphans. In attempting to escape, the orphans find a wardrobe, one that's actually a portal to the land of Gnarnia (spelled with a silent G for legal purposes). There, they learn of a prophecy stating that two sons of Adam and two daughters of Eve will defeat an evil queen with a dirty name (Jennifer Coolidge), who rules Gnarnia with an iron fist. If there's to be peace and tranquility throughout the land, it's up to our four clueless orphans--and the half lion, half human Aslo (Fred Willard)--to save the day.

Having just given a plot description, I'm beginning to wonder why I even bothered; this is the kind of film that completely disregards story for the sake of heavy handed jokiness. Consider the numerous pop culture references: a faun named Mr. Tumnus gives Lucy a tour of his house in the style of MTV's "Cribs," showcasing the lifestyle of a hip hop star; Edward escapes the queen's castle with the help of a Jack Sparrow parody (Darrell Hammond), who stars in a spur-of-the-moment rap music video; during the end credits, Edward is in a prison cell with a Mel Gibson parody, who holds a half-finished bottle of alcohol. I understand the direction the filmmakers were going in; parodies often include such references, if for no other reason than staying on top of current events. But if one hopes to make fun of today's day and age, one should go about it with the intent to make people laugh.

The real version of "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has Freddie Highmore saying, "Candy doesn't have to have a point. That's why it's candy." I suppose the same can be said for parody films, even if they fail to be funny. If pure mindlessness is what you seek, and if you see the humor is portraying the "Harry Potter" characters as wasted losers, then by all means, go and see "Epic Movie." I maintain my position that it's an unfunny film that you need not waste your money on. When I reviewed "Scary Movie 4" a year ago, I said that renting an older parody film like "The Naked Gun" or "Hot Shots!" would be just satisfying. In the case of "Epic Movie," I think renting an older parody film will be even more satisfying; at least none of those films have a scene of Sudoku being played by peeing in the snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprising, August 26, 2008
This review is from: Epic Movie (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Saw this at the movies was a last pick on my pepsi points list but choices were low so I got it.Surprisingly it was better this time than at the movies so yeah was worth my points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spoof With No Spunk, September 1, 2007
This review is from: Epic Movie (DVD)
For fans of older spoofs, such as "The Naked Gun" series and Mel Brooks' movies, like Spaceballs, I am afraid "Epic Movie" will prove to be an earth-shattering disapppointment. It would be better that you watched some of the above movies again. It will surely entertain more.

The masic plot, (totally derived from other movies almost verbatim and mixed up a little), is that 4 orphans from different movies find themselves in the factory of Willy Wonker, who has some nefarious plans for them. Escaping to the land beyond the wardrobe, you can pretty much guess what happens next with some not-so-subtle alterations.

What you have in this movie is an attempted spoof without any vestige at all of originality or adaptation. While it is hard to say whether this movie reaches the depths of Bewitched (Special Edition), I think it at least runs a close second.

The one startling positive among the sea of abysmal drivel that is this movie was the character of Jack Swallows. This is not because he is hilarious, (nothing of the sort), but I just thought he did a good job of parodying Captain Jack Sparrow of Carribean fame.

Basically, don't waste your time or your money on this one. There are much better spoofs out there. "Epic Movie" belongs on the trash heap of movies that will be forgotten, if we are lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time for directors to change their ideas, June 27, 2007
By 
fra7299 "fra7299" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Epic Movie (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Epic Movie, a pointless and mostly unfunny movie, is out to get a get a few cheap laughs in an attempt to keep the parody-movie carousel going. Seemingly out to cash it on some of its predecessors (Scary movies, Date Movie, etc), the directors of this film try to get some chuckles with some of the same material: over abundance of lewdness and profanity, repeated jokes and lines, continual attempts at parodying some recent movies. As one reviewer mentioned, some of the movies that are parodied aren't anything worth making fun of, so at times the humor attempts are a bit perplexing.

What makes this comedy a failure is that there are ideas within each of these films to satirize, but the directors completely miss the mark because they are so concerned with juvenile humor. For instance, the opening scenes, where they are making fun of The Da Vinci Code and then Snakes on a Plane, could have been funny if they had taken the direction of actually mocking those films. What do they do instead with the frantic scene on the plane? Have some guy come out and repeat a line about ten times with profanity in it for some juvenile humor. Ha, ha. Real funny.

There are some other points where they could have used a movie's excessive popularity against it in a satire or parody, but instead they once again just relied on stupidity and immature jokes to make fun. The biggest examples are many of The Chronicle of Narnia scenes, when they first meet the queen ....

Everything about this movie is just about cashing from former types just like it. I'm sure there will be another film type like this within a year, and we might be writing the same reviews again.

Hopefully the directors will decide to change the course of their upcoming comedies and try a different formula in their movies, because their stuff is becoming old quick.

1 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupid but hilarious, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epic Movie (Amazon Instant Video)
If you liked the movie 'Scary Movie' you'll love this. They spoof multiple movies and personalities,,,,at times it borders on the ridiculous,,but it's hilarious and a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it was no epic, and that's probably what the writers meant, December 25, 2007
By 
This review is from: Epic Movie (Unrated Edition) (DVD)
Epic Movie was, for me, an entertaining experience. However, it's really the silliest and most pointless kind of comedy style you can imagine. The movie is nothing but one parody after another from some other, older film. Is that a bad thing? No, not really. It's understandable as time goes on, things from the past are brought back to light for people to make fun of, but sometimes you can make fun of something *so hard* it just becomes too silly to even laugh at. This movie borders on that kind of comedy. Many times you will watch certain parts and think to yourself "Why did the writers even bother including this or that if it's going to be THAT silly?"

Some of the parts fell flat on its face though, such as the horrible Snakes on a Plane parody. I didn't like ANY of that one (the actual supposed horror movie was funny enough). I did find something funny towards the end of the film when all the soldiers who were trying to kill the four good guys (and girls) were froze in the middle of battle from some kind of stop watch that made time stand still, and they found creative ways to kill off all the soldiers. Nice moment of creativity at least.

It was worth my time, and I loved some of the scenes (such as the Harry Potter and Willy Wonka imitations) but it's not the kind of comedy that should be considered groundbreaking or extraordinary in any way. It's just a nice way to have a few laughs, and then forget about it. You'd be better off not even thinking about trying to grasp any kind of storyline out of it. It wasn't intended that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Goat Voice: bahahahahahhahahahahadddddddd movie., July 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: Epic Movie (DVD)
I love parody movies, I am able to enjoy movies most others can't stand, and there have been some great parody movies over the years. But lately they have become more a trend to make then actually trying to make what a film parody is about... mocking other films in a funny manor, which is what Epic movie fails to do in 99% of it's attempt.

This film had a budget, it had the stars, it had nice sets, nice scenery, nice stages, BUT NO JOKES!!!!!!!! This is not a parody movie, this is clip's of movies you know with BAD attempts at jokes but I would rather see "actors who did not get to be in the big time movies that have been shown in the last few years that really really wanted to be in those films" rather then "parody" titled with this thing.

I do not consider this a parody movie. Nothing was funny at all, nothing made me laugh, nothing made me think "that was a good one" or "why didn't i think of that" and the whole thing was a big waste of time that these actors should hide there faces in for being part of.

The only thing I finally got a laugh out of was the end credits when it showed some outtakes... shows how funny a movie is when they have to do something by accident to actually be funny.

there attempt at "gross humor" with puss, pimples, farts, feces and vomit... been done a 1000 times, no shock value in anything you have already seen before and I love shock value humor, but this movie fails to come up with anything unexpected, over the top, or most importantly, NEW.

I love parody movies, if you loved movies like Hotshots, Naked Gun, KFM, Spaceballs, Scary Movie and the rest of the best... then take my word for it when I tell you that Epic movie makes Scary movie 3 & 4 seem hilarious compared to this epic p.o.s.

Why did they even make this film? Who gave it the OK? Who said it was good enough to be released.... in theaters??? Dont waste your time on this epic piece of s**** and expect an even worse sequel to be made soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a complete waste of celluloid, March 4, 2007
By 
*1/2

As movie parodies go, "Epic Movie" is an aggressively unfunny hodgepodge of such recent movie blockbusters as "The Chronicles of Narnia," "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory," "The Da Vinci Code," "Pirates of the Caribbean," "X-Men" and even "Snakes on a Plane" (despite its decidedly "un-epic" nature), most of them not really worth mimicking in the first place. The makers of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy and "King Kong" must be counting their blessings that their respective works were, for some unaccountable reason, deemed unworthy for inclusion in the epic movie canon.

"Epic Movie" lacks even the sporadic laughs of its "Scary Movie" predecessors, with each and every joke and sight gag contained herein landing with a resounding thud the moment it arrives on screen. At least those who made the film were somehow able to resist the temptation of including what would have been the ten millionth "Brokeback Mountain" parody in their repertoire. Let's at least give credit where credit is due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Epic Movie
Epic Movie by Epic Movie (DVD - 2007)
$9.98 $4.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.