Start reading Eponymous on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Eponymous [Kindle Edition]

J. Eric Smith
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $18.95
Kindle Price: $3.99
You Save: $14.96 (79%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $3.99  
Paperback $17.06  
Kindle Delivers
Kindle Delivers
Subscribe to the Kindle Delivers monthly e-mail to find out about each month's Kindle book deals, new releases, editors' picks and more. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

J. Eric Smith's bracing debut novel Eponymous paints a darkly humorous, yet reality-rooted, portrait of frustrated musician (but successful music critic) Hutson Colcock “Collie” Hay III. This entertaining, engaging novel is crafted with a detailed understanding of the forces that drive and foibles that define the music industry on both a national and a local plane, focusing heavily on the regional element of the music-making experience, where the vast majority of contemporary musicians and writers spend their careers, far removed (literally and figuratively) from the bustling industry hubs of New York City, Los Angeles or Nashville. In so doing, Eponymous illuminates the reality that most regional musicians, critics and music-lovers alike experience, wrapping love, loathing and the dirty realities of rock and roll into a bracing, fast-paced whole that’s guaranteed to appeal to readers who enjoyed Nick Hornby’s "High Fidelity” or Cameron Crowe’s “Almost Famous.”

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

J. Eric Smith is a freelance critic, fundraising professional and regional television host. He lives in Upstate New York with his wife and daughter, and is generally happier than you might think he is.

Product Details

  • File Size: 548 KB
  • Print Length: 348 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: iUniverse (April 9, 2001)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00793U65K
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,706,049 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
(2)
4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carefully crafted and tons of fun October 4, 2007
Format:Paperback
I loved this book; let's get that out of the way. I'm not sure when I've cared about a character, and the people who fill that character's world, as much as I cared about "Eponymous"'s protagonist, Collie Hay. Collie is a darkly humorous -- no, make that hysterically funny -- self-loather, one who seems to do bad things mostly in order to justify feeling bad about himself. He's a slacker who, perhaps deliberately, sabotages himself repeatedly and thereby avoids the pain of failure that he'd feel were he to shoot for success and not quite make it. He seems to realize these things about himself, and yet he's helpless to curb his compulsive misbehavior.

"Eponymous" is a hall of mirrors. Eric Smith, the author, who's been an upstate New York rock critic, has written a book about an upstate New York rock critic who is himself writing a book. The book-within-a-book device is hard to pull off, but when it works (see "Tristram Shandy" and "Adaptation") -- and it works well here -- it's lots of fun. In his "About Eric Smith" section, he states "Eric Smith is not Collie Hay. Honest." Right.

Smith's style is accomplished, seemingly effortless, and lean, yet there's a richness of detail that enlightens every scene and draws you in thoroughly.

Although it helps, it's really unnecessary to be a record geek, or a musician, or a journalist. I know zero about "prog rock," the genre of choice for Collie Hay, and that didn't matter a bit: Smith explains everything that needs explanation, so his audience is just about everybody. Buy this!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
J. Eric Smith, Eponymous (iUniverse, 2001)

Reviewing a book by a friend is usually a way to get oneself in deep trouble. Reviewing a book by a friend published by the normally-loathsome vanity press iUniverse.com is pretty much begging to be struck by lightning. This is the second time I've done it (Charles Sheehan-Miles' Prayer at Rumayla, on that other vanity press, Xlibris), and to put it mildly I was quite relieved when once again I wouldn't have to drag a friend's name through the mud.

I was rather taken aback, though, when I first got the thing. The back-cover effusiveness compares Eponymous to the movies High Fidelity and Almost Famous, two of the more nauseating pictures to come across the silver screen in the past few years. Having been reading Smith's shorter work for a while, though, I should have known better. The boy's a better writer than that, and it comes out here.

Collie Hay is a failed musician making his way as a music critic. Eponymous is the story of how he got that way, from his childhood working in the family music store in South Carolina to his band Arctangent's shot at stardom on a little Sony sublabel. It's also an exposure of self-loathing. Collie Hay does not like himself much. At all, actually. And while self-denigrating humor is pretty easy, to beat yourself up for this many pages with that kind of bitter cynicism rings both horrifying and oddly true. No one plots emotions this much, and that reality in the main character is the book's strongest point. No matter how out of control things get, there's not a single thing in the book that doesn't ring true.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category