Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Epson Stylus Photo R300 Inkjet Printer
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 11, 2016
Ink is expensive and photos are not so good even if using photo paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2015
Was received promptly and works perfectly with all parts included
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
New in box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2014
Unfortunately, as with all Epson printers, it jams and uses lots of ink.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
Runs out of ink like none other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2011
It doesn't surprise me that over five years after this printer was discontinued by Epson new ones are still for sale at 5x the original price and used ones can fetch as much or more than the printer originally cost.

The R300 and R320 are almost the same printer with the same foot print, paper paths and ink cartridges.

Even if you buy one of these used three secrets to printing glorious photos at a fraction of the cost of other printers:

1) Use re-manufactured cartridges that are OEM or better. They work, are a heck of lot cheaper than Epson and are affordable. And if you get them for a reputable company like LD Products they will exchange a failed cartridge quickly. They won't risk a bad customer rating for one bad ink at $5.

2) If you really print a lot of stuff get a Continuous Ink System for around $75. Its easy to install and it will pay for itself after only 2 sets or Epson OEM ink cartridges. Look on Amazon for one for this printer. The savings is amazing. Typical cost per page in the industry for all brand of printers is around 4-6 cents per color photo. With this printer and the CIS noted above the cost is only 1 1/2 cents per page. Now do see why this printer is still so popular?

3) Epson did a low-down no good thing with their printers by building in some "planned obsolescence". After a couple thousand printed pages the printer will act as if it's dead and the printhead won't move. The LCD display will say "The printer has reached the end of its life, etc." No it hasn't. Epson is just trying to get you to junk it and buy another. Look around for someone selling a reset CD (Not the guy who also wants to sell you a "key"). For around $8 you can buy the CD which will update the printer and it's back online, good as new. How many of these printers were thrown in the trash when they didn't need to be?

I own three R300s and one R320. Whenever I see someone selling one as "Parts, Not working" I buy it for $30 and run the reset on it then either keep it or resell it. Clean it up and its good as nearly new.

Also, don't forget the CD printing capability. The Epson R300/320 print beautiful CDs. Worth the money alone for that.

7/19/2011 Update: I've seen other reviews claiming the printer doesn't work in Windows 7. Actually it does. Epson has always been great about long term driver support. I had the original Epson Color Flatbed Scanner from 1990 and Epson kept updating drivers for it well into Windows XP, alomst 15 years later! I have an Epson R300 working in Windows 7 64 bit and was able to install the latest driver from the Epson site and even get the latest version of Epson CD Print. Works great!

8/3/2011 Update: RE: Posts about problems with the power button. You have to press and hold the power button for three seconds to power on the printer. That is normal. A read of the manual might be in order, hmm?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2011
I've had this printer for quite some time and have been satisfied with it...

...UNTIL!!!

I built a new computer and installed Windows 7 after I confirmed that the MS compatibility site indicated this printer was compatible with Win 7. The MS site reflected Epson's claim of compatibility -- they lied. The compatibility rating was later changed to NOT compatible and there is no indication that Epson will provide a new driver for Win 7. Contact with Epson seems to have verified that unhelpful position.

So, although I score the printer functionality fairly well; I score Epson as unsatisfactory. If you're not running Win 7, you'll probably be satisfied with this printer. If you're running Win 7, look for something else.

Epson, you should be ashamed of your lack of support and forcing owners to abandon a good printer. I've had to spend money that should not have been needed; and, you can bet I didn't buy another Epson. This one's going to a yard sale.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
Printer works fine if you leave it on. Getting it powered on is a problem. There appears to be a short of some kind in the switch. Printer works fine for the purpose it was purchased.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 15, 2010
Have had this printer for several years and have been quite satisfied with it. The color quality of the printing is outstanding. I have a newer quality printer by another top manufacturer and the colors are not nearly as vibrant as they are with the R300. Epson apparently makes some of the best inks. I use standard 20 lb. paper in it and get good quality. Photo paper gives better quality of course, but heavier paper does jam easier in this printer.

There have been a lot of complaints about the amount of ink this printer uses, but it may be a misconception. It warns you of low ink long before you have to really replace the cartridge. You can sometimes print many, many pages before the ink actually runs out. Ignore the low ink warning and just wait until it stops printing and says the ink is actually out. One problem with low ink is that you sometimes cannot do an ink head cleaning if ink is too low.

Once in a while I have had banding problems when printing. Just run the printer through a cleaning cycle or two and problem goes away.

The only design flaw I have found in my printer is that the CD/DVD printer tray seems to have an issue with feeding in sometimes and quite often I have to give it a little nudge to get it started. Also it sometimes doesn't eject all the way and I have to pull it out. Initially the tray worked fine, so it could be a component that has worn enough to cause the problem. It has been doing it for a long time, but I can live with this slight problem, as the print quality of the CDs and DVDs is excellent and I have printed 100's.

Would hate to pay the prices now being asked for this printer ($300+ and up), as I think I bought mine new for around $100. I must have gotten an incredible buy or the prices on this have jumped dramatically.

When the printer quits, I think it will be well worth repairing. The last color inkjet I had before this one (different brand) did not last as long.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2010
This printer WILL NOT WORK if any of the color cartridges are empty. Even if color is turned off.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.