Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with flexibility in a compact package.
Epson's PowerLite 1761W Projector brings a nice feature list to the table that is headed up with wireless projection abilities from most portable devices via the iProjection app on portable devices (iDevices and Android tablets and phones) and via typical PCs or Mac computers with the required application installed. On top of that, add the respectable 2600 lumens of...
Published 21 months ago by terpfan1980

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but limited MAC support
The Epson Powerlite 1671W is a very nice lightweight projector with a bright display. Set up was easy except when it came to trying to use it wirelessly I am using it with a MacBook Pro running OS 10.8
Epson does not have the drivers to support wireless with the Mac. This limits you to using the remote with both a VGA cable and a USB cable.
I did call the tech...
Published 10 months ago by terry


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with flexibility in a compact package., October 23, 2012
By 
terpfan1980 "Barry" (Somewhere near Washington DC, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Epson's PowerLite 1761W Projector brings a nice feature list to the table that is headed up with wireless projection abilities from most portable devices via the iProjection app on portable devices (iDevices and Android tablets and phones) and via typical PCs or Mac computers with the required application installed. On top of that, add the respectable 2600 lumens of color and white brightness that puts the performance in the projector brightness category in the upper half of the price/brightness scale.

Typically, projectors delivering 2000 to 3000 lumens would be considered good for rooms that aren't going to be completely darkened, while projectors delivering under 2000 lumens would require a completely darkened room for acceptable viewing. The 3000 to 4500 lumen range would be considered very good and would normally work well even in rooms for some ambient light or without the artificial light turned down, but of course that performance typically comes at much higher prices. Projectors capable of delivering 4500 lumens or more would be the upper end range and would normally be priced accordingly.

This projector should probably be considered a short throw projector as the projected image size from this projector is large sized, even at shorter projector to screen distances. The actual specs, as reported in the documentation, are these:
* 50 inch screen/image size from a Projection distance of 44 to 53 inches (112 to 135 cm) (approx. 3.5 to 4.5 feet)
* 80 inch screen/image size from a Projection distance of 71 to 85 inches (181 to 217 cm) (approx. 5 to 6 feet)
* 100 inches from a distance of 89 to 107 inches (226 to 271 cm) (approx. 7.5 to 9 feet)
* 150 inches from a distance of 134 to 161 inches (340 to 408 cm) (approx. 11 to 13.5 feet)
If an intended buyer is dealing with smaller potential screen sizes, knowing these distance ranges may help determine whether or not this projector, despite other features that might be useful (such as the wireless projection capability), would make for a good purchase.

In researching this projector, I would openly acknowledge reading other reviews from various sources on the internet. I take seriously the responsibility of a reviewer or author of any sort not to steal others works (plagiarism) and I don't borrow content from other reviews, though I may find inspiration within those reviews for making sure I cover some important items within this review.

One comment that I did see within a couple of other reviews was a back and forth "discussion" between reviewers on another site about the wireless capability of this projector. One reviewer found the installation and setup process for the wireless feature to be more work than they had expected and perhaps more difficult than they felt they should have to go through. With that possible red flag raised, I was curious to see how well the included instructions covered installing the wireless module and further, how well the instructions covered the wireless configuration. I found that the instructions were crystal clear and easy to follow though I would acknowledge that it seemed to be somewhat silly not to have installed the wireless module at the factory. I'm sure that Epson had a good reason not to do that, perhaps with the thought pattern being that by not installing the module at the factory and letting the user perform that task the user could easily note the MAC address in advance and have that information for configuring the security of the wireless network (MAC address filtering as an example).

In those same inspirational reviews, I had noticed that one reviewer seemed to have the impression that in configuring this projector for wireless access that they were no longer able to use the internet on the device they configured to project from. Apparently the reviewer in that case didn't understand the difference between Ad-hoc and Infrastructure network modes, both of which are supported by this projector. In Ad-hoc network mode, this projector and the device that would be wireless projecting to it would be operating on their own isolated network. In that case the device that would be doing the projecting would no longer have access to any other network and therefore wouldn't be able to access the internet (or corporate or home networks) at all. In Infrastructure mode this projector becomes just another device on an established wireless network. In Infrastructure mode all of the devices would have full access to the network (internet, corporate, home, whatever was configured).

The network configuration, even in an advanced environment, is still easily configured via the projector's remote control and built-in menu for the projector. That configuration would require a little knowledge of the wireless network configuration (the appropriate addresses if DHCP isn't being used, the network passwords if necessary, etc.) in the intended environment, but it really isn't difficult to set up on this projector.

iProjection Application notes:

Thanks to Epson's iProjection application, which is free to download and install via the appropriate application market places, projecting wirelessly from iDevices (phones, tablets, etc.) or Android devices (again phones, tablets, whatever devices the application would install on) is incredibly easy. The technology is similar to the fruity company's AirPlay technology, though in the context of the iProjection application the feature set is much more limited. When using the iProjection application (at least at the time this review was written and submitted) a user of the application would be restricted to specific document types, photos, or internet (browsing) projection. You can't, for example, toggle the projection on and wirelessly output videos from on a tablet. ONLY PHOTOS, DOCUMENTS and WEB BROWSING may be wirelessly projected via iProjection on phone/tablet devices.

PC users running the required application on their PC are not restricted in that way. On my Media Center PC I was able to output video and audio from the Media Center application along with the other content that was displayed on my PC's desktop.

Output quality and input ports on this projector:

Image output from this projector is a very respectable 1280 x 800 pixels 16:10 ratio widescreen native resolution (which leads to the image sizes mentioned above). 720p high definition projection is easily achieved simply by connecting to the output of an HD cable or satellite tuner box. For those so inclined, a high def gaming console (such as the Xbox 360 or Sony Playstation 3) can also easily be connected to this projector via the HDMI port.

PCs or Macintosh computers can also be connected via the older style 15 pin analog video (VGA type) port.

PC users could also quickly make use of a USB connection to connect this projector to their PC, meaning that this projector is incredibly flexible and should be useful in just about any configuration a user might imagine.

The Epson 1761W is incredibly thin, light weight, and astonishingly portable. The included carrying bag/case is deceptively roomy but also small and easy to carry around in a very comfortable manner. Obviously Epson has put a lot of thought into the design of this device and to the design of the accessories and they should be commended for just plain getting it right.

Thinking back on the other materials I read about this projector, I recall another comment/complaint that this projector doesn't offer an "audio out" connector. It does have a built-in speaker that sounded reasonably good when playing back audio from my TiVo Premiere XL (directly connected via HDMI cable) as well as when I used the PC application to connect to the projector wirelessly. Thanks to this projector's support of wireless n as well as 802.11 b and g, I was able to use the higher wireless speeds and never suffered any lag or poor performance that might be encountered with slower wireless networks. THIS PROJECTOR DOES NOT HAVE AN AUDIO OUT port though, and anyone that requires such a configuration will have to look elsewhere.

Sluggish performance via iProjection?

One note on wireless projection performance. When I used the iProjection application on my third generation iPad device I found the network browsing displays a little sluggish in updating on the projected image. That was possibly slowed by a connection that was syncing that pad back to my PC, updating content on the pad device, but the performance was slowed noticably enough for me to take note of and think of mentioning here. Honestly, I think that problem was simply my pad device as I wound up having to restart the iPad later to resolve another issue.

Sending output from my Galaxy S III phone over to the projector was fast enough when I was browsing through photos and such, but I didn't opt to try network browsing on that device.

On other note here though, when I used the network browsing on my iPad I noticed that the iPad wasn't showing me the bookmarks that I would normally have on that device. It seemed that the browser session that was used was one that was isolated away from the built-in browser, though again that might simply have been a one-time issue with my iPad.

Some other possible options:

I've had the pleasure of reviewing a few other Epson projectors, including the Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 705 HD 720p 3LCD Home Theater Projector Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 705 HD 720p 3LCD Home Theater Projector. It was also very nice, with output sizes smaller and more compact than the widescreen output of this projector. Another Epson projector that I used and really liked was the EX7210 Projector Epson EX7210 Projector (Portable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2800 lumens color brightness, 2800 lumens white brightness, HDMI, rapid setup). That particular projector offers greater brightness ratings (2800 lumens versus the 2600 lumens for the 1761W) and again is not an ultra widescreen projector. It does typically sell at lower prices than either the 1761W reviewed here or the PowerLite Home Cinema 705 HD, so if you are on a budget and don't need the flexibility that the 1761W offers with it's wireless projection capabilities, you might want to look hard at the EX7210.

Buy it or not?

Personally I would rate the 1761W a must buy. It is an incredibly flexible projector and should work in just about any configuration a user could imagine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly compact, powerful and portable multimedia projector, October 31, 2012
By 
Nuknuk (Springfield, VA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Epson's Powerlite 1761W projector is amazingly slim and light, it is called ultra-portable and categorized as a corporate projector. I have the Epson Ex7210 which is three times as big as the ultra-portable Powerlite. Despite the size, it is only slightly less in lumen output, 2600 compared to the 2700 of the EX7210 (a difference that is hardly discernible).

The ultra-portable Powerlite series have 4 flavors:

1751 - 2600 lumens, XGA resolution (1024x768)
1761w - 2600 lumens, WXGA resolution (1280x800), wireless
1771w - 3000 lumens, wireless
1776w - 3000 lumens, wireless, auto keystone, auto screen fit

Quick spec:

Aspect Ratio - 16:10 (supports 4:3 and 16:9)
Lamp life - 4,000 hours
Contrast Ratio - Up to 2000:1
Built-in Speaker -: 1 W mono
Power Consumption - Normal mode is 293 W, ECO mode is 212 W

Wireless:

The first thing you would need to do is attach the white USB dongle that came with the unit (dongle is an option and not included in the previous model 1761 [without the w]). Next download the app from Epson website to your laptop or desktop (either Mac or Windows). A little configuration will be needed but you only need to do it once. I chose the Quickselect for an easy connect - this is if you only need to configure it to a single PC. If you need to connect the projector to multiple PCs, you would need the manual configuration. Do not lose the user guide and keep it in the bag for future use. Lastly, make sure to press the LAN button on your remote to see the images on the projector screen. This is very convenient for doing presentation on the go; one less cable to attach. This is a great way to show PowerPoint presentation, and so as your images, spreadsheets and charts.

Unfortunately, there are issues with streaming videos. Videos will play but choppy, like watching it in 15 frames a second. No problem with the audio, but you will need direct cable connection to make video play smoothly. So, always bring an HDMI cable with you. By the way, a PC cable is included but not an HDMI cable.

I have been using it with my Roku, AppleTV and Macbook Pro via DVI to HDMI adapter. With the downloaded software, it is streaming wireless contents from iMac to the projector.

Fan noise:
By switching to ECO mode (dimmer but less fan noise), fan noise reduced from 40db to 30 db. I was a bit bothered by the fan noise on regular mode.

Lamp:
The Epson ELPLP65 Replacement Lamp - DP9608 costs 177$ (at the time this review was written) at Amazon.

The black case with an Epson logo that came with it has multi-compartment and is padded for protection. It is a much better case than my EX7210.

Includes limited 2-year Epson Road service Program. Epson will pay shipping both ways.

Cons:
- no audio output for home theater
- no Airplay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pick this for portability and wireless option. Pick another Epson if you do not need wireless and do need more sound options., November 25, 2012
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The biggest advantages of of the 1761W Epson compared to the other Epsons I have used is the compactness and wireless access. The wireless access is REALLY nice, and if you are going to be using a projector in various rooms where you do not know where the projector will need to be set up relative to the computer this is a big, big plus. Setting up the wireless with my Asus netbook running Windows XP and with a HP desktop running Windows 7 were both effortless.

The biggest downside is sound. There are no sound outputs for the projector, you need to either use the built in speakers (not fantastic) or output sound in some other way (through your laptop to external speakers or so on).

If size does not matter (you are going to use this at home for movies) I would go with another Epson, with audio output and which is slightly brighter and less expensive. If you need portability and wireless access, this projector is fantastic.

A more through comparison is below.

I am a teacher and am now using four versions of Epson projectors currently in my classrooms as well as sharing with others, the EX7210 and the EX3210 the Powerlite Home Cinema 710HD and this Epson Powerlite 1761 . I have also used them to view movies at home as well.

It is clear that this projector is designed to be portable, and it excels at this design requirement. It is significantly smaller and lighter than the other Epsons, with almost equal specifications. The wireless option is just fantastic for us teacher types, hook this up and you can project onto a screen what you are doing on the computer NO matter where you need to put the computer relative to the projector. A lot of the classrooms have fixed screens available (or a whiteboard) but not movable screens. I use an online program for part of my teaching, and the ability to show an entire classroom what I am doing without having them huddle around the computer screen is priceless. Previously I could hook up a projector, but then I needed to perch at the back with the cable connecting the computer and the projector.

I am going to compare the EX7210, as the price range is similar to the Powerlite 1761.

I compared the EX7210 and the Powerlite 1761 head to head and found no huge differences when viewing. In spite of the fact that the 1761 has slightly lower lumens (200 less) this was not obvious, only being slightly dimmer. Both have WXGA (1280 X800) resolution and I noticed no difference in the clarity between the two.

Specifications:

Contrast 3000:1 for EX7210 and 2000:1 for Powerlite 1761.

Weight 5.1 lbs for EX7210 and 3.7 lbs for Powerlite 1761 (this DOES make a difference when you carry it over your arm).

Size: 3.1 X 11.3 X 9 for EX7210 and 2.1 X 11.5 X 8.3 for Powerlite 1761.

Audible noise is 37dB for EX 7210 and 40dB for 1761. This is not the speaker noise, but the noise of the projector itself (The decibel scale is logarithmic, so this actually represents a reasonable difference, I found it noticeable in a classroom).

The EX7219 has 2 watt speakers, while the 1761W had 1 watt. The Ex7219 can be turned up louder without distortion.

The projector itself is smaller and comes with a carry case for easy transport. As teacher who moves from room to room the portability is handy. The carry case has a strap long enough to throw it over your shoulder, a real plus when you are juggling stuff between classrooms. The case has a front pocket for the power cord and remote as well.

Light output is strong enough that Powerpoint presentations can be seen with the projector 20 feet away from the screen (this is as far back as I can get it in the room in partially lit room. Partially lit in this case is defined as the overhead lights are off but the three windows do not have blinds. The room is bright enough that the students can easily see their papers and take notes (and I can see the students!). The school has 1500 lumen projectors, which I rarely used because the lights had to be all the way off for the student to see the projections, and that leads to trouble. This projector has 2600 lumens (a lumen is a unit of visible light emitted by a source) and was not hugely different than the 2800 lumens from the EX7210.

The sound output was quieter in the 1761 Powerlite than the EX7210. If you are going to use another sound source this is not an issue. The EX versions have audio out, if you plan to take the audio from the projector into your speakers you will want one of those versions. If you feed the audio into your speakers (say from a DVD player) and the video to the projector, then the lack of an audio out on the 1761W would not be an issue.

In short, if portability and wireless ability are tops on your list, pick this projector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great business projector, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Great projector for business. Fits into my laptop's bag and is very light. We bought this one for the wireless function, and it's pretty straightforward to place the projector on the table and then just plug electricity. The laptop connects via ad-hoc networking and using this little app (we're using Macs) you pick the projector from a list and it does screen mirroring. The widescreen aspect is great. Also, it seems to me that it's almost a short throw projector. Even placing it 3-5 feet from the wall makes a huge image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bright, easy to use projector with multiple connection options including wireless, December 29, 2012
By 
mhnstr (Christchurch, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector is a lightweight, thin, easy to use projector with multiple projection options including connecting to a computer wirelessly. The projector is easy to set up and includes a remote control for convenience. I found the image to be sharp and bright. The internal loud speaker is a nice touch. Included with the projector is a travel bag for the projector, a remote control complete with batteries, a wireless adapter for the projector and a CD which includes the Epson network software.

Wired Connections

The computer offers connections to your computer via a VGA cable, a USB cable or a HDMI cable. You can use multiple connections at the same time and toggle between them. You can also use the split screen mode to show two images side by side, one from each connection. I connected the projector to several different laptops including a netbook and a 7 year old laptop without problem. However, I only connected to Windows computers and so I can not comment on the ease of connecting Apple computers.

Using the VGA or HDMI cable is the most straightforward and reliable means of connecting a computer to the projector since no software needs to be installed on the computer and it takes less than a minute (usually). However, the computer must be set to display on an external display which can be tricky to figure out sometimes.

Alternatively, connecting the computer via the USB cable takes more time and is more invasive since software is installed on your computer, but the USB connection offers the most features. With both the computer and the projector turned on, the USB cable is connected. Windows recognizes the projector and goes through the usual process of installing the hardware. A window appears (the first time only) from the Epson USB Display setup wizard which will install software installed on your computer after you agree to the terms and conditions. Once the software is installed, the image on the computer screen will be projected. The use of the USB connection is nice because you don't have to toggle between your computers display and the projector which can be troublesome in some cases. The computers screen is shown by both the computer and the projector. Furthermore, the use of the USB connection allows you to use the Epson remote control (included with the projector) to advance your presentation. Audio from your computer is played through the loudspeaker in the projector, not your computer. There is an audio jack in the back of the projector if you want to then connect it to a better loudspeaker. This is the default configuration with the Epson USB software, but it can be changed under the settings for the software.

Another option is to plug a USB drive directly into the back of the computer. Inserting a USB stick will bring up a menu showing the files on the drive which can be displayed on the computer and folders from the drive. PDF files and JPEG images can be shown, but disappointingly, PowerPoint presentations can not. So, to use the projector for presentations without a computer you would need to save your PowerPoint presentations as PDF files. The lack of support for PowerPoint negates the practicality of being able to plug a USB drive into the projector, in my opinion. However, it is a feature that allows you to show slide shows of your photos easily which is nice.

There is an audio port so that you can run a cable between the projector and a loudspeaker to use the loudspeaker instead of the projectors internal speaker.

Lastly, there is a RCA video port.

Display Settings

The height of the projector is adjusted by pressing a button on the underside and adjusting a foot that extends down from the front of the projector. At some angles, the image could appear as a trapezoid rather than a rectangle, but there is an auto keystone function that will adjust the image so that it appears to be a rectangle. If he image is not automatically adjusted enough, the problem is easily fixed using the keystone controls on top of the projector. You can adjust both the vertical and horizontal keystone. The focus and image size controlled by rings above the lens or using the remote control.

The controls on the top of the projector include a help button that will bring up a list of common questions. A menu button lets you adjust the controls for the projector such locking the control panel and presents information for the projector such as the number of hours it has been used.

The remove is surprisingly big, but lightweight. There a lot of controls on the remote including those to change the zoom, advance pages, control the volume and control the source. If your computer is connected to the projector via the USB connection, you can advance PowerPoint presentations using the remote which is a very nice feature. There is also a button which allows you to split the screen between two sources. So if you had a laptop connected to the USB port and another connected to the HDMI port, you could project both side by side. The remote has a pointer option, but this is controlled by the arrow keys so although it works, it isn't as good as using the mouse on your computer or a laser pointer. However, it is a nice touch.

Operation

The projector gets very hot when it is in use. There is a fan to cool the projector which is noticeably loud, but it is certainly not the loudest projector fan that I have ever heard. However, switching to the Eco mode will reduce the fan noise at the expense of a dimmer image.

Wireless Connections

Setting up the wireless connection is a bit time cumbersome and takes about 20 minutes. First you have to add the wireless USB drive (supplied with the projector) to the projector by unscrewing a cover, inserting the USB drive and then screwing the cover shut. Next you have to follow a series of steps using the projectors menus to get it ready for the wireless connection. Lastly, you must install the network software that is on an included CD or downloaded from the Epson website. You have to choose a virtual display (no explanation is given) and then restart your computer. Once the computer was reset and the Epson network software started, the wireless projector was easily found and once the security settings were set, the screen of the computer was being wirelessly projected.

I can see the wireless connection being very convenient since the computer is no longer tethered to the computer and so the person controlling the presentation doesn't need to sit near the projector nor are long cords required. The only feature that would have been better would be if the projector itself could connect to a wireless network to connect to the internet directly via a web browser.

Summary

Overall, an outstanding projector offering lightweight portability and multiple options for connections including wireless connections. The image is bright and sharp. The remote control is a nice touch and allows you to advance your presentations or to toggle through images. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice but limited MAC support, September 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
The Epson Powerlite 1671W is a very nice lightweight projector with a bright display. Set up was easy except when it came to trying to use it wirelessly I am using it with a MacBook Pro running OS 10.8
Epson does not have the drivers to support wireless with the Mac. This limits you to using the remote with both a VGA cable and a USB cable.
I did call the tech support on this and that experience was positive. I wasn't on hold for long and got an answer relatively quickly.
The other thing that is not as nice about this product is the pointer on the remote. You turn on the pointer with a single button click on the remote but to move the pointer around on the screen you have to use the arrow keys on the remote. While that may be fine for some presentations it makes for a time-consuming and tedious process if you want to point out several things on different parts of a slide. Know I think I will have to by a separate laser pointer.
The other negative comment I have is that there does not appear to be a way to change the image size other than by moving the projector closer or further away from the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Working very well, and I will purchase more of these as needed., September 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
There are many great reviews on here already that cover this product very well so I will be brief. I have had this now for a couple of months and purchased based on the reviews here, and elsewhere, that praised it. I am very happy with it, and as this is used in a conference area many people use it and they too are very pleased. This is a great upgrade from our old unit, and the features work as advertised for us anyway.

Great focus and sharpness on our screen, and the brightness is great. We have used it several times now with all the lights on in the room where the old unit required dimming the lights to see at all.

Only major oddity is the wireless adapter having to be installed by you. Yes, it's dead simple but still odd to have to do it. Wireless setup could be easier, but then again it is a projector so I'm not sure what you could do to make it really easy? I had no issues but many of my other users would never have figured it out.

Wireless projection has been tested from Android and iOS users successfully, no surprises there so far.

In the end, we are very pleased and I would recommend this projector to others.

EDIT - 2/27/14 - I've now had this in service for over 6 months and it is still working very well. It is still surprising the users at how sharp and bright it is compared to our old unit. I just connected this to an Apple TV this week and spent some time tweaking it and playing with 1080P video on it and it really looked great. Good enough in fact that I'd already purchased a 70" TV to install in the conference room for the Apple TV to connect to, and now we're not going to do that as the projector works plenty well. Now I have to figure out what to do with a 70" TV, but I'm sure I'll come up with something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great little projector - when it works. (Projector #3 in 3 months just quit.), November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
Great little projector - when it works. I purchased this and used it for business for about 8 weeks - until the unit failed. The fan clattered as if it were coming loose and hitting something. Epson graciously replaced the unit (with a refurbished unit) speedily, but the replacement unit only lasted 2 weeks, and then it also died. This time it would not start up. I returned the 2nd unit and received a 3rd replacement unit - which only lasted 2 days before it failed to start up.

I have always chosen Epson projectors in the past and have had no issues with any of them. I understand that once in a while a new projector might be defective, but when 3 projectors in 3 months all fail, there must be a problem with the quality of this machine, or the refurbished units which they send as replacements are not being repaired properly before being sent to another customer.

If this were a home theatre projector, I might be able to live with the hassle, but this is a business projector and it is disastrous when I show up for a business presentation and the projector does not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase. Just remember that you dont get great speakers or audio out jack., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
It truly is a great projector. The weight, size, dimensions, the whole bit. The bag, remote, cables. Just really worth every penny. I didn't give it a fifth star for two reasons. It automatically transfers the audio to the projector when you use the hdmi cable and the speaker is worse than a laptop speaker, I mean it works and its decent, just not good for quiet moments in movies or presentations. Second, when you use USB instead of hdmi, even in presentations, theres choppy lag. So make sure to use the hdmi cable and go through your computer settings to disable other devices from rerouting the sound from your computer to another device. Once you disable that, your laptop speakers will carry the sound or whatever speakers you have hooked up to them. :)
Really odd that the manufacturer didn't make the audio jack that is on the projector and audio out. Instead its an audio in, considering the mild loudness of the built in speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met all my expectation, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Epson PowerLite 1761W Projector (Ultraportable WXGA 720p Widescreen 3LCD, 2600 lumens color brightness, 2600 lumens white brightness, HDMI, wireless, app compatible, rapid setup) (Office Product)
I'm an author ("Cascade Summer; 52 Little Lessons From it's a Wonderful Life") who does slide presentations for small and large groups. The Epson PowerLite 1761W has been perfect. I love the clearness of the image and the compactness of the size. It's no more cumbersome than carrying a dictionary. Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.