Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 27, 2013
I read all 6 books in this series, each as good as the one before. I've never read an Avi book I didn't like including this one. If you've read the 1st 4 you are already familiar with the main character - Ereth. He gets himself in a jam or 2 in this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2015
I purchased the entire Poppy series by: Avi for my daughter's 9th birthday and she LOVES them! It's the perfect adventures! She reads them out loud to me and I enjoy following along!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
My kids love these books! They are saying - one of the most engaging they've ever read for pleasure. I still have to read one to have my own opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
I've had to read Poppy, by Avi when I was in grade school. I immediately fell in love with Poppy and Ereth, and needed to buy the whole series!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2014
My son thought that this book was very funny because of the crazy language like belching beavers and he said it was a cliff hanger.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Great books
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2007
Not the best for very young children, because a fox dies, this book is a meloncholy story in the beginning. It makes you see what Ereth thought like. Good book to read eventuallly, but for readers who can take it. a good story about a good deed.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2002
Ereth's Birthday by Avi is an adventurous and cruel book. One fine snowy day a porcupine named Ereth found it was his Birthday and went to see what his best friends(Poppy,and Rye)were doing. Unfortunatly, when he asked their small children they answered they left home and were to come back soon. Ereth now knew for sure that they had forgotten his birthday. Now Ereth was extremely upset because the naughty kids were jumping around and making extremely loud squeaks and his best and only friends forgot his birthday. With a couple negative words Ereth went off to fetch his own birthday present, salt. He would have to travel to a person's home and suck on the axes to suck up the sweat(because it contains salt). When he was traveling he heard movements up in the trees but could see no people or animals. Finally, he reached the house where he went under the house and found the axes. Then he immediately started to lick the salty axes and then the handle bars of the people's ski mobile. Ereth disliked humans so he wanted to treat them a lesson by putting porcupine quills on the ski mobile and chewed the handle of the axe in two. Suddenly, footsteps could be heard coming towards Ereth and out of nowhere there came a person who grabbed the axe and cursed at the site of it broken in half. Then another hand came down and grabbed the ski mobile and this second person cursed at the site of the chewed handle bar. But it was nothing until the two people sat on the seat they yelped,"yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyooooooooooouggggh!"For they found porcupine hairs where sat on by their rear ends. After those incidents they went back on setting traps. After they left, loud cries of, "Heeeeeeeelp!"
"Hellllp,"could be heard. Right when Ereth heard the noise he saw a container of pure salt. But his heart took over and he went to see the pure animal. To his surprise it was a wounded fox that was going to die and it asked Ereth if he could take care of her cubs. Ereth was angry because he didn't want to take care of cubs his whole life. All Ereth wanted was to have a lick of salt. Will Ereth take care of his cubs or celebrate his birthday by having the best treat he ever? YOU could find out if you read this fabulous book. This book was desined for people who like salty adventures. If you want to hear my recommendation, I'd say it's the best book of it's kind.
0Comment2 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2014
good
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Love the story, but the book was clearly not new (someone's name was written in marker on the cover, the pages were old and yellowed, and there was a bookmark in it). Very disappointing.
11 comment0 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse