Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Eric Andersen
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Eric Andersen

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, January 22, 2008
"Please retry"
$49.99 $24.99
Vinyl, 1969
"Please retry"

Editorial Reviews

Unfairly pegged, again like so many others, as a 'new Dylan', Eric Andersen struggled to be accepted as a powerful songwriter in his own right. After a five album stint at Vanguard, which included his classic 'Bout Changes & Things, Andersen moved over to Warner Brothers in 1969 and released this self-titled record. Available on CD for the very first time, this album, though mostly ignored in 1969, has subsequently become a sought after collector's item beloved for its heartfelt songs and classic arrangements.

1. Don't Leave Me Here For Dead
2. It Wasn't a Lie
3. Sign of a Desperate Man
4. I Will Wait
5. What is It Like To Be Free?
6. She Touched Me
7. Lie With Me
8. I Was the Rebel (She Was the Cause)
9. Secrets
10. Go Now, Deborah

Product Details

  • Audio CD (January 22, 2008)
  • Original Release Date: 2007
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: DBK WORKS
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #477,623 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Eric Andersen Store

Visit Amazon's Eric Andersen Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Tom P. James on January 23, 2008
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
i have waited a long time for this record to be released as a c.d. Got it in college in late 60's when it came out.,wore this baby down to dust .Some very,very moody songs on it as i recall.Haunting tunes like "secrets."."go now deborah" and" I will wait" ( a tour deforce of yearning and angst..beautiful melody. The album is full of strong melodies-'lie with me' Is one of my all time favorite andersen songs.. .There are a couple of uptempo countryish songs such as "i was the rebel and she was the cause" and "signs of a desperate man" but for the most part this is an album of quiet yearning,love and of loss... This album i felt was as strong as the later "Blue River" but was not as varied or produced or commercially acclaimed.It's record that slipped between the cracks at the time..and since obviously.....Its a late night record to listen to, to drift away with.If you hear this c.d. and listen to the quiet songs you will know what i mean....very confessional songs for the most part and a lot of minor chord melodies which i happen to love. It is his most personal record,I feel.. .. Not as experimental as another record of his at that time "avalanche"(.also just released).. I look forward to finally sinking into the world of mood that this record creates.A gem.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By E. Harwood on February 29, 2008
Format: Audio CD
I would simply like to second the previous review. "Eric Andersen" is a record that I loved when it first came out, but that has in some respects grown in stature over the years, perhaps because the good things here are really rather extraordinary. In particular, "I Will Wait" has to stand as one of Andersen's finest songs with, as was noted, a truly exquisite and complex melody. It in some respects seems to have been cut from the same cloth as the equally beautiful "We Were Foolish Like the Flowers" from "Avalanche," another remarkable song that shows the songwriting heights to which Andersen could ascend at the time. No one else was writing like this in 1968, nor have they, for that matter, since. There are other classics here, most notably "Lie With Me" and "Secrets." "What Is It Like to be Free" could have been another wonderful track, but is somewhat compromised by an over-the-top arrangement...a not infrequent problem for Andersen during these years. One of his other great songs from this period, "Dreams of Rimbaud," finally appeared some time back on the re-release of the "Lost Album," but it is very much of a piece with the songs here. I have always assumed it was from the same sessions, and thought it strange that it did not make the cut for the album. It would have been very creative to have included it in this cd release. I guess we can all do that on our i-pods in any case, but it would have been interesting to see it reunited with similar work. One assumes that neither this nor "Avalanche" will stay in print for long, and so you should act now if Eric Andersen is of interest to you.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Lee Armstrong HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on April 11, 2009
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The vinyl on Eric Andersen's self-titled 1969 album is still in my collection. I'm delighted to get the CD version on re-release. Andersen recorded this set for Warner Bros. The album still sounds fresh. The opening rocker "Don't Leave Me Here for Dead" booms with Eric's excellent chorus, "It's coming on like lightnin'; Thunder to my head." "It Wasn't a Lie" follows with its soft textures and aching vocals for an unrequited love. "Sign of a Desperate Man" adds pedal steel for a full-blown country track. "I Will Wait" has one of Eric's soft contemplative melodies with the piano like a wistful reflection of days gone by, "Day after day through the fields, sit by the sand with weary heels." "Lie with me & be my love, Just for now stay with me all through the night, Be as close as you can be 'till the morning sets you free," Eric sings on his soft gentle love song "Lie With Me." "Secrets" has a childlike melody with Eric's haunting lyric, "Toes in the dust walkin' down the road; I kissed you on the lips so ruby & bold; Heather in your eyes, your hair spun gold." This is a welcome release, great delight. Enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category