Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The New Erotic Photography (Taschen 25th Anniversary) (German, English and French Edition)
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2007
The book contains a variety of photographers, with each presenting a short series of well done photos, using many different models. The overall quality of the collection is outstanding. I was particularly impressed with the highly detailed nature of the photos. For devotees of erotic photography, I would definitely recommend this book.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2007
This book is amazing. 600 hundred pages of pure beauty. Anyone who is not famaliar with erotic photographers, like myself, this is a wonderful book to start with. The cost of the book will set you back about the cost of a tank of gas. But unlike gas, you will have the book longer than a week. Every artist is a bit different from one another and shine in their own way. A great coffee table book. However, i would put it away when the nephews are over, but not other grown ups. Classy and sexy.
33 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
I'm not sure I totally agree with the editors' definition of "erotic photography" but the photos they chose are lovely. The book is of the quality you come to expect from Tachen and the prints are brilliant colors on nice paper. I wish more of the photos were "erotic" or sensual. It seems like it is a collection of pictures of naked women. I find the cover photo of the hanging underpants more erotic than a photo of breasts. But maybe that is because I am a woman.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
This big hardcover book was at a good enough price for me to take a chance on. I like the natural hairy women & there were several to keep me happy. If you like your big breasted natural women there are quite a few of them here. For $20 it is worth getting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
I got this for myself to help prep for a boudoir shoot. This was a NY Times bestseller and it's obvious why. Wonderful variety of erotic & boudoir shots. Nothing cheesy. Great blurbs by the photographers and wonderful variety.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 18, 2009
This is the most disappointing coffee table photography book I've ever received from TASCHEN. What a let down. The most interesting photographs in the book are some of the historic samples. The best of the so-called new erotic photographs were from attorney Joan Sinclair's book on Japanese Sex Clubs. True to TASCHEN's usual high quality standards, this collection is beautifully printed and bound, but so many of the pictures are so similar. It's like the censors had risen from the dead and the book ends up filled with rather boring, often sexless photographs. The pictures are almost all of females with only an occasional male being used as a sex toy/slave. I guess men aren't considered erotic? I guess hot teenage hetrosexual couples lusting after each other aren't considered erotic either. This collection was also lacking even an iota of romance. Some of the excellent photographers included in this slick collection have taken what this reviewer considers much more erotic images. Sadly those pictures are not to be found in this collection. I'm sorry to report that 90% of these pictures were boring. There were almost no sexy fetish images or fashions included. There was little fantasy or dreamy eroticism. There were no soft-focus, cotton-candy moody photos. And the weird colored dreamscapes of Jan Saudek don't really fill this void. Thank goodness for Mike James adding a little humor in his pin-up series. Ditto for Olaf Martens who seems to be aiming to become the heir to the Helmut Newton style. The photographs by Ralph Gibson were among the strongest images in the book, although his erotic work is not exactly new-who can forget his wonderful and very famous feather tickling photo that is not in this book. Alla Esipovich provided the book's geriatric senior citizen model pin-ups. I suppose somebody will find those images erotic? According to this collection, girdles seem to have made a major comeback in women's fashion? Panty hose, getting tattooed and little girl's white panties with flower prints hanging on the clothes line are now very erotic. (No slight to Japanese men intended here). There were too many snapshots of partially nude, gutter-tough-looking broads with lots of piercings and tattoos smoking cigarettes and cigars. This appears to be an editing problem or perhaps not enough variety was submitted. But how can that be, this is one of the most photographed subjects on the planet? There were few, if any, beautiful, subtle pictures of people actually doing the deed included. In fact, there was almost no subtly in this entire volume. If this is the best of new erotic photography, then that field has gone to Hell in a hand basket. Much of eroticism exists between the ears and there was little or no mental stimulation, flirting, or come-hither looks and promising smiles captured in this picture collection. It had too many ultra-sharp images of flesh that reminded the viewer more of a meat market or a morgue than eroticism. I'd send the book back for a refund, but I collect all the TASCHEN Photography Books, even this one. I trust we won't have to make these kinds of allowances very often with one of the best photography publishers in the world. I'm so disappointed. Ugh!
44 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2008
This book is so full of great photography from so many talented contributors that anyone can find something to titillate and amuse them. There's no accounting for taste ofcourse but no matter what you crave theres a morcel for each and everyone included in this book. It covers the Mild to Wild territory. From fantastic to grotesque, from beautiful to baffling, from realistic to surreal....well need I say more? A great addition to anyone's collection of erotic photography.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
Features 80 artists, in English and two other languages they give an explanation of their work. Several move around as children which may explain their choice of vocation. 3 to 5 photos for each photographer, the two people responsible for creating the book comment on the photographer at the conclusion of the photographer's comments.

Black and white and color, they all aspire to answer questions posed by the authors. Insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2009
This is an incredible collection of erotic photography by some of the world's leading photographer's. There is something for everyone. I found the photos and descriptions told by the photographers very informative. A picture really is worth a thousand words. This is a coffee table book not for the coffee table. The cover photo and book jacket are a bit too provocative for some. I highly recommend this book for photo enthusiasts, photographers and general erotic photography lovers. You will not be dissappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2007
The book should be called "The New Female Nude Photography". No sex here. Nothing wrong with that, I just feel the title is a bit misleading. Quality is up to Taschen standards (they're really high), but the content is somewhat dull. There's nothing terribly creative or groundbreaking here.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse