Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A book for your "must read" list.
"If Errands Could Kill" by Jim Bronyaur is a brilliantly written thriller with an unlikely main character of a stay at home mom that becomes involved in an unlikely drug related murder.

Bronyaur develops the characters from page one and cleverly describes Eve's character by explaining how she, at the age of seven, made a deal with her mom to keep her real name...
Published on March 18, 2012 by Elizabeth Marshall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great
I was looking forward to reading this book, it sounded like a lot of fun. The author started out fast paced and fun, but I couldn't get through more than the first several chapters. Eve Bailey is the girl from the horror films who always dies because she opens the door she shouldn't. She puts herself into situations that any mother who expects to make to it see her...
Published on May 16, 2012 by LE Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! A book for your "must read" list., March 18, 2012
By 
Elizabeth Marshall (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
"If Errands Could Kill" by Jim Bronyaur is a brilliantly written thriller with an unlikely main character of a stay at home mom that becomes involved in an unlikely drug related murder.

Bronyaur develops the characters from page one and cleverly describes Eve's character by explaining how she, at the age of seven, made a deal with her mom to keep her real name of Genevieve a secret because it was too old. The Bailey household is just a regular family; Eve and her lawyer husband, Ben have three children, Delaney, their eldest daughter who is mad about playing soccer, son, Cody, who just tried skipping school, probably just to see if he could get away with it, and cute seven year old daughter, Penny who is trying to learn how to talk to her goldfish with bubble language.

Eve's regular life is turned upside when, driven partly by curiosity and partly by being a good neighbor, she witnesses Janet, a self-made town outcast who works at the bank, being shot; apparently in a drugs deal that went bad. Being the type of person that always sees the best in people, Eve doesn't believe the popular story, based on the evidence that the police found in her car, that Janet was involved in drugs and that her shooting was a drugs killing. Nor does Eve believe the village gossip that Janet was having an affair with an unknown man, possibly from out of town. Eve just could not let the murder of Janet go and, despite being told by her husband, Ben, to just let the police pursue their investigations, Eve continued to try and work out how Janet ending up being shot. The only leads that Eve has are the black Lincoln car from which the killer had shot Janet and the mystery of why Janet had opened the flap to the gas tank before driving away from the bank to her death.

The book builds to a thrilling climax as the mystery develops and Eve starts being intimidated and threatened. Eve is determined to get to watch Delaney's championship soccer game despite being kidnapped, tied up and held at gunpoint.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the next book in the "Minivan Mom Mystery Series".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT new series!!! MUST READ!, March 21, 2012
PDF format free from author for honest review

Stay-at-home Mom's can really be super heroes, but how dangerous of a situation is too much for a Mom? Eve is "wonder Mom", she takes care of all the household duties, keeps the kids in order, goes to her daughter's soccer games, makes sure the other two kids are taken care of too, makes sure her husband always has a spare tie (for those oops moments of his) and has decided to take up finding a murderer too!

To prove a point one day, Eve takes her son to school (an embarrassment tactic to make sure he never skips school again) and her life is changed forever. At the school her son's teacher sees here there and swings by her car to tell her that there was a problem with her check she made out for her son's field trip and he just wanted her to know so she could get it straightened out before the trip so her son could still go. Well, Eve knows there are more than enough funds in the bank and there should be no reason for any issues, so she decides to go to the bank and check it out. That is where her day changes from normal "Mom stuff" to amateur sleuth. In the bank she notices Janet (a woman from the neighborhood and bank teller) acting funny and extremely out of the ordinary. When Eve is outside getting ready to go back home after straightening out the check issue, Janet comes out and opens her gas door on her car and then proceeds to drive off. Confused, but also wanting to help Janet in case any light was on in her car due to the open gas door, Eve follows her in hopes to catch her when she stops to tell her the door is still open. Following her and then stopping because of a phone call on her cell, Eve witnesses something she never would have imagined seeing that day...Janet being murdered...shot in her car by someone in a black Lincoln. Eve calls police, but she just can't let it go, she wants to help solve the murder because she thinks the police are looking at all the wrong leads. Her husband, mother in law, and the local police tell her to back off and let the police do their job. Eve just can't bring herself to do that though. She just knows they are looking at leads that were meant to lead them away from the real killer. So, she takes it upon herself to investigate more and try to figure it all out for the police. Is this a smart thing to do? Will this "helpfulness" lead to Eve's own murder?

I just loved this book! From page one I was hooked on the character Eve and her personality. Eve is the perfect wife/Mom. She makes sure everyone's needs are met and that the house is always in order and that her wifely/motherly duties are always done before her personal wants. In a small town like Eve and her family live in nothing happens that they all don't know about. I love that fact in this book. It makes the murder all that much more...out of place or mysterious. This book takes off near the beginning and doesn't let the reader rest until the end. It is action filled and has comedy too. Not only is the plot very well written, but the characters are developed in such a way that you can't help but think of people you know that they remind you of. Every time I thought Eve had it figured out and so did I something would be added that made me and the character back pedal our conclusions and re-examine things. When Eve does figure it out, it may well be too late to matter, for now the murderer has another target set...Eve.

Great read and book, would highly recommend to anyone wanting a small town mystery and unforgettable characters.

5/5 Stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start, April 13, 2012
By 
Sandy S. (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
IF ERRANDS COULD KILL by Jim Bronyaur

IF ERRANDS COULD KILL is an indie publication from author Jim Bronyaur. If Errands Could Kill is the first book in Jim's new "Minivan Mom Mystery" series. Jim has previously self-published many short stories and novellas, but this is the first instalment in his new series.

Eve Baily is a stay-at-home wife and mother, raising 3 children in a typical suburban neighborhood. Like most families, her children are involved with soccer, class projects and trips, as well as the occasional playground fight. Her husband Ben is a lawyer, handling contracts and business accounts, but the family is well respected in the small community of Marysville Pennsylvania. With her only son Cody's class trip days away, the science teacher informs Eve, that the cheque has bounced, and Cody will not be allowed to attend, without payment. Hoping to straighten out the issue at the bank, Eve doesn't realize that the world she once knew is about to change.

Witnessing what she believes to be a potential case of fraud, Eve follows bank employee Janet Vanden out to her vehicle, but notices that Janet has opened her gas tank before she drives away. But a simple case of fraud, has suddenly turned into something bigger when Eve witnesses Janet's murder. When a large black Lincoln quickly leaves the area, Eve knows of only one potential person in town, with enough money to afford the luxury automobile. But when the police interview Eve, they reveal more information about the murder than first believed. Perhaps someone was being set-up?

Eve, hoping to gather her own information about the murder, sets out to investigate, but soon realizes that she has crossed the line with both the police and the potential suspects. When she follows the black Lincoln around town, she is quickly swept into melee of rumor, innuendo and threats against her life. But when her husband learns that his wife has continued to involve herself with the murder case, she is asked to step back before she gets hurt, but not before the victims husband, wants to meet with Eve. Hoping to learn more about his wife's murder, Ted Vanden becomes distraught and defensive when he is suddenly pushed deeper into the rumor mill, with stories surrounding a possible affair and drugs.

Throughout the storyline, the Bailey family and their issues with time management, school activities and sports teams, play a secondary but important role within the novel. As part of the Minivan Mom Mystery series, Jim has woven real -life activities into a mystery, letting the reader know-that family is important and will not step aside. Life continues, even when you should NOT be investigating a murder.

Eve's investigation soon threatens the stability of her family and the town. The police believe the murder is drug related, but Eve suspects that the police have been set up, as well as the victim. When Eve reveals what she knows and suspects, she is suddenly thrown into a scenario, where life or death, are her only options.

Jim Bronyaur writes an interesting mystery without the use of sex, foul language or graphic violence. The premise and scenario could be taken from any news headline, but Jim wraps the package with a nice secondary storyline involving the heroine's family and home life. The one drawback-the suspect, perhaps, was a little too obvious. I wanted to smack Eve a couple of times, for her involvement with the investigation, especially when she was risking her life as well as her family, but shouldn't all good storylines emotionally involve the reader? A good writer will always pull the reader into the story. I have no problem recommending IF ERRANDS COULD KILL.

See all of my reviews at: thereadingcafe.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyday Characters, April 15, 2012
By 
Liza (Panama City, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
Eve is a married mother of 3 children living in a small town. She is a typical soccer mom, with her 12-year-old playing soccer with the potential to head to state championship, and her husband is a lawyer. Due to her middle child's recent cutting school, she drives him to school instead of allowing him to take the bus, purposely trying to make him not want to cut again. However, this leads to the science teacher informing her that the check for her son's field trip bounced. Little did she know that this would lead her to witness a murder. Eve just has to get involved and see what's going on at the bank, and, after the murder, trying to find out what happened.

The author did a good job of developing the storyline, however, throughout the book, I continued to get frustrated over Eve's own stupidity for getting involved in a murder investigation. Not only is she warned by her husband, she is also warned by the police to stay out of the investigation. She also feels as if she were threatened by somebody she thinks actually was involved in the murder. There were several times I just wanted to shake her to put some sense into her, due to her own disregard for her own safety. I'm not sure why this annoyed me so much when this is a common theme in other mysteries (the heroine putting herself in danger to find out who did it), but maybe it's that this was stressed so often in the book. If that's how she is, just let her be that way. It was also frustrating to see her purposely evade her husband's request for her to stop her investigation when she had no intents to do so. Several times she purposely kept him out of the loop and seemed to deceive him to some extent about what she was about to do, yet in other areas of their relationship, she was so completely open and honest. There was suspicion thrown onto a variety of different individuals, trying to keep the reader guessing who might have done it. The story really brought to life the events that happen within it, not just focusing all the energy on the investigation, but also developing every day life like aspects to the characters' lives, such as having to deal with the youngest daughter's desire to learn about how fish breathe. All in all, a decent read I would really give 3.5 stars. I especially liked the town gossip, the author personified this character so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting, March 26, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantastic book with an exciting plot at every turn of the page!! Eve is a very strong willed woman who lots of people can relate to! I found myself unable to put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the edge of my seat!, March 17, 2012
By 
Jacqueline A Wagner (BECHTELSVILLE, PA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
This was absolutely a book in which women with children can relate to with the added suspense of her bravery. It may inspire us all to stand up for what is right and for what we feel in our gut. Thank you, Jim, and keep them coming!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, May 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
I was looking forward to reading this book, it sounded like a lot of fun. The author started out fast paced and fun, but I couldn't get through more than the first several chapters. Eve Bailey is the girl from the horror films who always dies because she opens the door she shouldn't. She puts herself into situations that any mother who expects to make to it see her first grandchild wouldn't ever do. I have a very hard time believing anyone could be this naive. The story and the writing wasn't enough to keep me reading this book unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, May 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, it kept me in suspense so just wanted to keep reading, very hard to put down. Really enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review From Eva's Sanctuary, March 29, 2012
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
Eve is at the bank one day and notices one of the employees she knows is leaving and has left her gas cap open. She follows her so she can tell her and finds herself on a dirt road. A black car pulls alongside Janet and shoots her though the open window. This all unfolds with Eve as a witness.
Eve calls the police to report the crime. Drugs are found in Janet's car; but Eve doesn't believe she is involved with drugs. Eve turns into an amateur sleuth against the advice of the police and her husband. Of course, she is doing this while taking care of her house and family which includes three children. Eve becomes a target herself. Will she survive to see her oldest daughter's soccer championship game?
This is a well written story of a stay at home mom who is much to honest and caring, in some ways, for her own good. It is not actually a funny story; but it is funny in the respect of following Eve and her determination to solve the murder of Janet. The things she does and the way she behaves just had me shaking my head. On the other hand, that is what makes the story what it is. The story is well developed and everything just fits into place. I found it a bit scary that this woman feels it is okay to go off on her own trying to solve the murder and that the police do nothing to stop her. Eve is a strong willed individual and I don't think she would have stopped short of being locked up in jail. Despite her husband being an attorney, he has little influence over what she does.
This is the first book in the minivan mom mystery series. In this episode, we have drugs, murder, kidnapping and bombing. What a way to start a series. If you enjoy mysteries or just a good book for an afternoon read, you can't go wrong with this one. I highly recommend it. I will definitely be watching for the next one in the series.
I wish to thank the author for providing me with a copy for reading and reviewing purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. I was not compensated in anyway except for receiving the book to review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edge of my seat, March 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Errands Could Kill (Minivan Mom Mystery Series) (Kindle Edition)
I mighta gasped for air a few times while reading this book. Im not a big reader, so when I read a book in one day you know I enjoyed it. This kept me on the edge of my seat. It was so incredibly detailed I felt like I was right there with eve in her minivan everyday. I could feel her pain, her fear, and her urge to help. Id recommend this book to anyone, an easy addicting read, im going to have to try and stay patient for book #2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.