Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastered, yes, but not newly remastered
This is a reissue of the 1996 remastered edition along with the 4 bonus tracks. I bought this hoping that it had been newly remastered, but the sound is identical to the 1996 cd. "The Essential Journey" from 2001 is louder and has a better mix (as in you can hear the instruments better and clearer) than this 2006 cd. The live tracks on this cd can all be gotten on the...
Published on August 2, 2006 by Shane Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars That scarab beetle on the cover has the right idea...
Ah Escape Journey's most beloved and sacred album. How can any `true' Journey fan not wet themselves with delight upon hearing the opening chords of Don't Stop Believing, the true pinnacle of Journey songs?

Easy, because it SUCKS that's why! DSB is so annoying from start to finish. I haven't heard this song in years and I can recite it verbatim. It's the kind...
Published 11 months ago by sliferswrath88


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastered, yes, but not newly remastered, August 2, 2006
By 
Shane Wilson (Lafayette, Louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This is a reissue of the 1996 remastered edition along with the 4 bonus tracks. I bought this hoping that it had been newly remastered, but the sound is identical to the 1996 cd. "The Essential Journey" from 2001 is louder and has a better mix (as in you can hear the instruments better and clearer) than this 2006 cd. The live tracks on this cd can all be gotten on the 2006 "Live in Houston" cd and the sound on that cd is better, clearer, and louder than on this reissue cd ("Reissue" is written on this cd wrapper not "remaster"). I'm a bit of a fiend for remasters and I did play them "side by side" and can hear no difference from the 1996 to the 2006. The only true new thing on here is "La Raza Del Sol".

So this is great if all you've got is the original cd release, but do realize that this is not a 2nd remaster. Get the "Essential" disc if you want that; it's the closest there is and it does sound better than the 1st edition remasters. Of course, not all the songs are on there that I'm sure you want. I'd like to see all their albums remastered like the "Essential" is. But oh well, it's not here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but compressed remastering. Stick to the original CD, August 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
Avoid all of these Journey remasters/ reissues and find the original non-remastered CD's. Why? Please see below the next paragraph.

FYI: some of these Journey Legacy reissues have new remastering that is worse than the previous 1996 remastering while some have the 1996 remastering:
Infinity (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Evolution (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Departure (remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues)
Escape (not remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues, old 1996 remastering)
Frontiers (remastered for 2006 Legacy reissues)

This was an amazing CD with lots of great songs and the most natural-sounding production of any Journey album. As with the albums before it, there's some great, underrated guitar work, especially the solos.

I initially thought this was a much better, fuller sounding version. I even initially posted a favorable review. All of the Journey remasters and reissues seemed to sound great and better than the originals, until I realized something is missing. The sound is very compressed.

When I first listened to the CD, it seemed fuller sounding. It seemed great...at first. I started to wonder why I began listening to the remaster less and less. Then I dug out the original CD. I realized how instruments that jumped out on the original now just all blend together on the remaster. Drum hits that popped out before are softened and now in the background along with every other peak, making for a very generic, modernized and cloudy sound. The definition and clarity are gone.

Feel can be hard to describe or pinpoint, but the feel and excitement of great albums like this are destroyed by this kind of mastering that has become the norm for new albums and reissues alike. That feeling that made you had with the original will eventually (or instantly) disappear with this version.

It makes no difference how loud or full the CD sounds compared to the original. When they eliminate all of the peaks, the music overall loses its power. All of the accents are gone.

Unfortunately, the record companies (and sometimes the artists) simply want their discs to be as loud as possible. The only way to do that is to compress the music by lowering the peaks and bringing up the valleys.

It's easy to think initially "it's bigger, fuller and louder" but over time you'll wonder why you just don't enjoy it quite as much anymore. The punch is taken out and gone. Parts of songs that used to be loud compared to other parts are relatively reduced in volume and there's no longer those big contrasts.

If you don't believe it can be that bad, for a great example and side by side comparison, search YouTube for two videos titled "Loudness War is killing music" and "The Loudness War: Iron Maiden (Part 2)". (Neither are my videos). You'll see and hear what I'm talking about. One compares Dire Straits' Money for Nothing from the original CD vs. the remastered CD and the other compares Iron Maiden's Wasted Years from the original CD vs. the remaster. It is the exact same effect as on this remaster.

Here's some other compressed remasters I've wasted money on that should be avoided. I listened to these for a long time before I realized what was missing from the music. This is by no means a complete list. More remasters these days are overly compressed than not. Simply, these are some of the ones that I own and am really glad I never ditched the original CD's. These are albums that I love and do not just casually listen to:

AC/DC:
All Atlantic and Sony remasters

Anthrax:
Among the Living Deluxe Edition 2009 remaster CD/DVD

Black Sabbath:
Ozzy years Black Box

Def Leppard:
Pyromania Deluxe Edition
Hysteria Deluxe Edition
((I haven't bought the Adrenalize Deluxe, but given the compression of the other 2 above, I won't).

Helloween:
All Sanctuary deluxe remasters with bonus tracks

Iron Maiden:
All 1998 remasters

Journey:
All 1996 and 2006 and 2008 remasters, reissues and special market releases

Metallica:
All the early CD's that were secretly remastered (they are not labeled as remasters; any with "EMI Ventues" on the back tray insert are the recent pressings that are remastered)

Ozzy Osbourne:
Every remaster including:

Blizzard of Ozz 2010 remaster

Diary of a Madman 2010 remaster and 2010 Legacy edition

30th Anniversary box set remasters (are the same as above)

All 2002 remasters:
Blizzard, Diary, Bark, Tribute, No Rest, No More Tears, Ozzmosis, Ozzman Cometh

All 1995 remasters (not the worst, but still compressed):
Blizzard, Diary, Speak, Bark, Ultimate, Tribute, No Rest, No More Tears, Live and Loud

(All that's left for Ozzy are the original CD issues, which are the ones to get)

REO Speedwagon:
Hi Infidelity Anniversary remaster

Supertramp:
Breakfast in America 2002 and 2010 remasters (can't comment on the other titles).
However, the Japan-only 2013 Platinum CD is simply stunning. It sounds three-dimensional and incredible. That is how a CD should sound and it has received accolades along with other Platinum releases that Universal has done in Japan. (Note: if your CD player cannot play CD-R's, according to Universal, it won't play a Platinum disc).

Van Halen:
All 2000 remasters

Whitesnake:
1987 (self-titled) Deluxe Edition 2010 remaster CD/DVD

1987 (self-titled)/Slip of the Tongue Axe Killer label 2000 remaster 2CD

Here I Go Again The Whitesnake Collection 2CD of Slide/1987/Slip

Hope all of that helps. You have been warned. Don't waste your money on these remasters/reissues. Get the original non-remaster if you really want to enjoy this music the way it should sound.

If you think this remaster, or the other remasters listed above are great, like I used to, seriously just check out those eye (and ear) opening videos mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Escape, June 24, 2009
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This album was the defined turning point for Journey. This album spawned off two tours of the album, a live album from the tour later released in 2006, and even their own video game on the Atari 2600.

This album got Journey a number one spot on the Billboard's Pop Albums and with 10 tracks on the album, 4 singles came from this album which were, "Who's Crying Now", "Still They Ride", "Open Arms", and the band's most recognizable song, "Don't Stop Believin'". All of them broke the Billboard's top 20 with 3 in the top 10, and 2 in the top 5. Several non-single tracks like Stone in Love, Mother Father, and Escape had their own popularity and most have found their way on Journey's compilation albums like Time3, Greatest Hits Live, and The Essential Journey. Even the other 3 "Dead or Alive", "Lay it Down", and "Keep on Runnin'" all have a special place in the heart of the album and the fans.

Escape as you can tell from several other reviews of mine including this one, is my favorite album because it has most of the Journey classics being "Don't Stop Believin'", "Stone in Love", "Who's Crying Now", "Still the Ride", "Escape", and my favorite rock ballad of all time "Open Arms". The Album also just never gets old for me as I've listened to it dozens of times.

The reissue features another classic hit from Time3, "La Raza Del Sol" which has a more Latin feel to it like Santana which is a rare occasion but definately worth a listen. Closing the reissue is the 3 big singles from Escape from the Live in Houston album which are "Don't Stop Believin'", "Open Arms", and "Who's Crying Now".

Like with other classic rock albums, Escape ages well and whether if your a fan of Journey or arena rock, you should welcome this album to your CD collection with "Open Arms".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True classic 80's rock, March 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This one brings back so many memories from the early 80's! That is what I think is the best part of listening to this CD!

My favorite track is "stone in love" because of the 2nd half of the song's rock montage! It always gets me psyched up for anything! Not to forget the rest of the tracks, which range from great love ballads to simple blues rock. I highly recommend this one, which is Journey's greatest CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection doesn't age, February 26, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
I started typing this review as Stone in Love from the Summit DVD concert is playing on my TV. We are on Keep on Running right now. This album is I think as close to perfect as any of the hundreds of CD's I have. Almost 30 years after it was initially released it sounds as good, fresh, energetic, etc. as I recall hearing it as a boy in my early teens. I think this was the "hungry" band at their realized peak and Frontiers was the follow up. But with Frontiers Journey was at the top and trying to stay there. Frontiers has an aged feel to me, but Escape...WOW....With La Raza Del Sol added you won't be dissiapointed either.....Journey para vida....Journey for life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey's biggest and best album, March 23, 2007
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
Released in 1981,"Escape" rose to #1 on the Billboard Top 200 Album chart on the strength of its monster Top 10 hits "Don't Stop Believin","Who's Crying Now" and the perfect 80's power ballad "Open Arms"(#2 for 6 weeks),selling over 9 millon copies in the process.It all makes sense because it pefectly symbolizies Journey's brand of melodic AOR rock,with great rockers like "Stone In Love"(a classic-rock radio fav),"Lay It Down" and "Escape" meshing well with slow songs like "Still They Ride"(a minor Top 20 hit) and "Mother,Father".The 2006 reissue pairs the 1996 remaster with 4 bonus tracks(the fusion-like B-side "La Raza Del Sol" and the "Live In Houston" takes of the aftermentioned Top 10 biggies,plus a cool booklet containing photos and tour dates from the "Escape" period.Essential!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey rock!!!, August 10, 2007
By 
S. J. Caldwell "country girl" (Tirau,North Island,New Zealand.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
The selection of tracks on this cd are outstanding.Having 10 studio and 4 live recordings you get best from both worlds.Three of the live songs feature on the Live In Houston 1981 dvd which is great,they are Don't Stop Believin',Who's Crying Now and Open Arms.I wreckon the Escape album is a must have for any Journey fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cd, January 23, 2007
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
The enhanced version of Escape is great, has a few more songs, like La Raza Del Sol, by the way, a great song. If you are a hard core Journey fan like myself, I suggest getting this disk. You will really enjoy everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Rock That Didn't Stink, January 19, 2010
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
This album to me is their best, they were close also with "Infinity" but on "Escape" it is one rock and ballad CD that came out in the early 80's that wasn't hair band stuff, but overall is pretty similar and much better if you listen close enough to it.

Nowadays perhaps they are considered a "guilty pleasure" due to perhaps their commercial appeal to teenage girls, women, and perhaps guys who were not really into metal, but were somewhere in between. Journey were I guess according to my sister somewhat attractive guys who made accessible songs, catchy songs with hooks and melody, who rocked enough to annoy your parents, but did those sappy ballads that made them swoon. After many years to me they appeal to a broader range than I remember, and if you think all those hair bands in the mid to late 80's sounded the same and were embarassingly cheesy, give Journey a chance to give an early glimpse of how it should have been done, and in '81 it sets the template in places for the rock and ballad Cd. A Band like UFO had this down, Scorpions also back before this even and all had their own sound. Journey added in a nice dose of melody that would also become the norm in hard rock. Perhaps they were a tad bit softer than your average 80's hard rocker, but listening to this now it's a fun CD to jam to, they don't have a single filler track here, and my fav songs are mostly non singles it seems, and lesser known songs.

Fav song of all time by the band is here in "Stone In Love" which is a classic journey song, hard rock, guitar solo, plenty of melody. Aanother fav in the title track "Escape", and it rocks plenty also with "Lay It Down", "Dead Or Alive", and "Keep On Runnin'", and I also love one of the 3 ballads in "Still They Ride". It has plenty of radio singles also with "Don't Stop Believin'", "Open Arms" (another ballad), and "Who's Crying Now" (ballad). Those 3 get the most attention, and if you like those perhaps you should check out the above mentioned songs also for Journey at their very best. Steve Perry could sing too, so it's not like todays commercial hard rock where they all sound like they were drummers forced to front the band, my apoligies to Dave Grohl...but isn't it true?

Plus the added Live in Houston tracks are a nice addition to the latest reissue. This is a must CD for not just a Journey fan, but a hard rock fan to me, a guilty pleasur, but a very good one in that and much better than anything put out by those late 80's hard rock clones. The Beatles had melody, the Beach Boys did too, but when you get to this point where it really begins to turn into a harder sound, to me the natural progression is with a band like Journey, even Boston perhaps with their brief run. I personally like Ratt, Dokken, Van Halen, Motley Crue, and Hanoi Rocks to name a few along with Journey, and eventually progressed into Jane's Addiction, Saigon Kick, Extreme, Kings X, it all comes back to this CD in my opinion, it's influential even if nobody out there wants to readily admit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Pop Rock at it's finest!!!, May 2, 2008
This review is from: Escape (Audio CD)
For many Journey's Escape album sums up the 1980's. The first album that featured Johnathan Cain on keyboards, and in my opinion Steve Perry's peak as a vocalist. The last of Journey's 1970's sound left with Gregg Rolie (Journey's original keyboardist, who is exceptional in his own right), and Escape is an album that for all intensive purposes should be considered a classic. From the rockers "Don't Stop Believin" and "Stone In Love" to the ballad "Open Arms;" this CD has enough power, emotion, and exceptional song writing that it could be considered a greatest hits on it's own merit. Perry's voice is authentic, rich and flawless. Neil's guitar work is right on the money as usual. Not to mention that Steve Smith, Johnathan Cain, and Ross Valory's contributions are without question perfect. This is a can't miss CD (and there arn't many of them out there). Pick it up, listen, and you will hear the best Pop Rock the 1980's had to offer...

Bottom Line: Can't miss classic Pop Rock Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Escape
Escape by Journey (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.