Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and fun!
From start to finish this book is sure to please children. From young readers to teen readers, they'll all crack up at the jokes posed throughout.

It's great for reluctant readers who need a book to really pull them in, and not too long to tire them out. On a level a step or two above Magic Treehouse--more like Beverly Cleary's books or Tales of a 4th Grade...
Published on October 13, 2008 by Heather W.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Book for Tweeners - a review of "Escape of the Mini-Mummy
Just couldn't get into this one, and my two children who are boy and girl, 6 and 8, weren't the target audience either.

The story is about a boy who has shrinking episodes where he gets down to the size of a toe. The weirder thing is that he has a brother, Pablo, who is always small that no one knows about and who was born in his ear. (Reminds me of Zeus and...
Published on October 18, 2008 by aa-Pam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and fun!, October 13, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
From start to finish this book is sure to please children. From young readers to teen readers, they'll all crack up at the jokes posed throughout.

It's great for reluctant readers who need a book to really pull them in, and not too long to tire them out. On a level a step or two above Magic Treehouse--more like Beverly Cleary's books or Tales of a 4th Grade Nothing.

Even as a mother of 4, I read this book myself and giggled through the whole thing. The worse swear word is "Holy Macaroni" and there isn't any offensive content, except possibly a little too much harshness towards his sisters. And even that, is written in a way that should not be offensive to girls, since the main character himself is so clearly flawed. The author really captured the tween/teen boy's attitude.

The plot isn't anything grand, but I gave the book 5 stars for how clever it was, written completely 'in character', how appealing to the age group, and even sprinkling some interesting historical and other silly facts within. Kids might actually learn something. My tween girl and teen boys will all love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written at the right level for the age, October 9, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have to admit, when I leafed thru this book I thought "meh" but when I gave it to my 11 year old daughter she cackled & laughed with delight in the back seat as she read it. Daniel Funk can shrink down to a very small size and thus embarks on a series of adventures. This one is about the escape of a Mummy and while its not the first book in the series, you don't really need to read them in order.

There is a certain amount of potty humor, which seems to be all the rage in pre-teen books these days (captain underpants, etc.) but I suppose that is an acceptable trade off to get kids to kids rather than watch tv or play video games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, engaging read for kids, October 15, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Jamestown, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I read this book to my son (who's 7) and his friend (she is also 7), as a test audience for the book. In this day and age, it is tough for books to compete with video games and on-demand television, especially when kids (even...or perhaps especially...teenagers) have such short attention spans. Creating something that is engaging, fun and hopefully unique is a must, then.

Held against that standard, this book passed with flying colors. Heck, even the prologue had the two of them giggling away (it's a fun aside on the difference between a diorama and diarrhea). The style is very easy, making it a natural read to kids - it is almost conversational in style. Further, there are simple, yet amusing, illustrations on every other page - something the kids were looking for from page one.

Plot-wise, the story involves a boy named Daniel Funk, who has the incredible ability to shrink to the size of one of your toes. Further, he has a twin brother, Pablo, who has always been in that shrunken state (although Daniel only just met him when he shrunk for the first time). In this tale, Daniel is giving a presentation at school involving a diorama of King Tut's tomb, and Pablo makes an appearance as a mini-mummy.

Logically, it doesn't make much sense, having a tiny brother that no one except Daniel and his great-grandmother know about, or that nobody misses Pablo. Honestly, though, with kids, it doesn't really have to make sense...perhaps it adds to the mystery and allows them to use their imagination.

My only qualm about this excellent book is the slightly over-used phrase "If you ask me, and I know you didn't..." The kids didn't notice it, but I found it a little irritating.

Other than that, I highly recommend this fun kids tale. Oh, and the kids gave it their seal of approval too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Its Target Audience, October 5, 2008
By 
D. Salerni (Chester County, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Now, I'm giving this book 5 stars -- even though I would never read it aloud to my class or use it for literature discussion -- because it is perfect for that certain kind of reader teachers and parents know well: the reluctant, intermediate-level, boy reader. This is a particularly difficult reader to please. Books have to be a) thin b) humorous and c) illustrated to appeal to this kind of reader. There's no shortage of that type of book, but the challenge for adults is to find some that are also well-written.

Escape of the Mini-Mummy by Lin Oliver is a slim volume with plenty of cute illustrations interspersed throughout the text -- so it's got those requirements covered. The prologue begins with a clarification of the important distinctions between a diorama and diarrhea -- thus proving it meets the fifth grade boy humor needs as well. But it also has an engaging and energetic narrative full of clever word-play and just the right amount of vocabulary development. The plot is a bit silly -- but, again, that's perfect for the target audience. What boy doesn't like to complain about his sisters? And wouldn't it be neat to have a secret, miniature, twin brother who was ultra-cool and constantly involved in daring adventures?

Don't expect great literature or deep themes here. But if you know a reader like the type I have described (and I'm thinking of a few, myself), you could do worse than this cute little novel. See also the first book in this series: Attack of the Growling Eyeballs (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rated One Star & 5 Stars..., October 16, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I chose this book because I have a 7yr old grandson and thought maybe he would enjoy it. Since I haven't been around him long enough for us to read it together, I thought I'd read it alone.
Quite honestly I was bored to death and only got half way through. First person narrative from a young boy's perspective. It just didn't move fast enough for me. However it is easy to read and has some cute drawings. Consequently I would have rated it 1 Star.

So to be fair, I took it to a friend (who is a good 10yrs younger than me) and asked her if her son would read it and let me know how he liked it. Instead of doing that, she read it herself. She thought the book was hysterical and gave it 5 stars.

So I am recommending this to anyone under 50yrs old as apparently I no longer relate to children.

xox
MEF
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cute story, October 13, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Escape of the Mini-Mummy by Lin Oliver is a wonderfully funny story about an only boy in a family of girls, well not quite. He does have a twin brother that is the size of his forth toe on his left foot. Daniel also has the ability to shrink, but hasnt quite figured out how to do it on command. It just sort of happens. This is the 2nd book in the "Who Shrunk Daniel Funk" series. In the story Daniel and his friend Vu have to make a diorama for their history class diorama competition. The story had my 8-year-old son and 12-year-old daughter cracking up. The author did a wonderful job writing a story that is very entertaining for this age group. I am always on the look-out for books that make my kids want to read. This one definately fits the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for a 11yr old boy, January 15, 2011
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My 6th grade son had to read a book during the holiday break and finding books for him to read is tough because he's so picky. This book I thought he would like since he and the character are much alike...

He enjoyed Daniel Funk and asked for more books with this character so must have been a hit.
The comments and story of Daniel is one my son can relate to in school and every day life. He himself just completed a diorama and could totally relate on that topic! So much pressure to out beat everyone in his class. With the help from his brother Pablo, Daniel tries to win the diorama competition. Every now and then I heard my son giggle and laugh as he read this book. He would recommend to boys ages 10-12.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Read for Tweens, December 29, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is an excellent book choice for tweens. It's about a boy named Daniel Funk who lives with a household of females, i.e., sisters, mom, grandmother and great-grandmother. His special talent is that he can shrink to the size of 4th toe on his foot and he has a twin brother who is also miniature size, which by the way, no one else knows about except his grandmother.

In this story Daniel and his best friend, Vu, are trying to win their diorama contest at school so they can go to a Lakers ballgame. They come up with a good idea but there are trials and tribulations before they get to show their diorama. It's a fun book and any kid will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Posted for Justin J., March 4, 2009
Download the original attachment

General Information

The book, "Escape of the Mini-Mummy," was published in 2008 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers. "Escape of the Mini-Mummy" is a fantasy book targeted to youngsters at the sixth grade reading level according to the Flesh-Kincaid Readability Scale. The book contains 145 pages and is written by Lin Oliver.

Plot Synopsis

In the second of the series "Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?" entitled "Escape of the Mini-Mummy," Daniel Funk teams with his miniature twin Brother Pablo, who is one inch tall, for an exciting adventure. In this particular adventure, Daniel and his best friend, Vu, team to try to win their history class's diorama contest. The prize for winning the class's diorama contest is tickets to the Los Angeles Lakers game. However, if Daniel and Vu lose, they will have to hear from their adversary Vince Bruno, who has made a multi-sensory diorama made of pizza.

The journey starts with Daniel teaming with Vu to build a diorama replicating King Tut's burial in Ancient Egypt. The two build a formable replication with the help of Daniel's sister. However, unknown to almost everyone in the book, Daniel uses a secret weapon to enhance the realism of the diorama, his miniature twin brother. With Daniel having the ability to shrink to the same size as Pablo, they are able to further enhance the realism of the Egyptian diorama. To find out whether Pablo helps Daniel and Vu win tickets to the Lakers game or causes them to lose to Vince the Pizza Prince read "Escape of the Mini-Mummy."

Appraisal of Book

After completing "Escape of the Mini-Mummy," I would like to give an appraisal of the story. Though the book is targeted for sixth graders, I still found the book enjoyable. The author, Lin Oliver, is very talented at incorporating humor for the targeted age. There were multiple instances in which I was literally laughing out loud to myself. For instance, David found himself in a rather tough predicament involving his great-grandmother, his miniature brother, and a sand crab. I will not explain the story, but it will be rather humorous for any age reader. Beyond the humor, the book actually does serve some education functions.

Lin Oliver, similar to a good teacher, uses humor in order to grab the attention of her readers, and like a good teacher, she has her readers learning indirectly even when they are not realizing it. For instance, at the beginning of each chapter the reader is presented with "The Funkster's Funky Fact," which is a miscellaneous fact that has something to do with the given chapter. In addition to a fun fact, the reader, especially the target audience, is given subliminal messages about the physical developments an adolescent is going through. For instance, Daniel is told that he "stinks" by his two older sisters. While seen as comical to the reader, Daniel goes in depth about how his feet or under arms might smell due to the sweating that occurred while he was playing. While an adult might not read much into a passage about smelling, the young reader an indirect way was just given a lesson on hygiene. These types of subliminal, indirect teaching lessons occur throughout the book.

Critique of the Book

Although I thoroughly enjoyed "Escape of the Mini-Mummy," there is one aspect of the book I believe can be improved upon. The aspect of the book I would alter is some of the comical language used by Oliver. The comical language is positive in that it draws in the attention of the reader, but some of the same comical language could be sending a negative message to the young audience. In one instance, Daniel is being highly critical of his nemesis, Vince Bruno. Daniel states, "He looked kind of like a pizza. His face was round and red and well...if I were polite, I'd say blotchy. But if I weren't being so polite, I'd say zitty" (Oliver, 2008, p. 87). The nature of this language is not consistent with the message society should be sending its future; one that is based upon respect and the consideration of others. However with that stated, I would recommend "Escape of the Mini-Mummy" for a pleasurable, recreational reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Daniel Funk!, October 16, 2008
This review is from: Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) (Hardcover)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) was such a riot to read. It is fast-paced, ideal for grade 3 and up readers who want a little action in their stories.

Daniel Funk is your average middle school guy 'tweener who is the only boy in a family of 7 women that includes Great Granny Nanny, Grandma Lola, his mom, sisters Goldie, Robin, Lark, and family bulldog pet, Princess. That is, if you don't count his twin brother, Pablo, whom no one else has met or seen because he is the size of the fourth toe on your average foot. Only Granny Nanny knows about Pablo, but because she's eccentric enough, no one else suspects that all the little houses and furniture she made are actually for the little guy: these were where he actually lived, slept, and played. Pablo's existence makes Daniel's life with the women bearable, especially as his father (who died a few years ago) is not there to talk to him about boy stuff (you know, things that only boys love to do and talk about). There's also Vu, Daniel's classmate and bestfriend, who provides Daniel much-needed boy-bonding time and companionship.

The story surrounds around Daniel and Vu's school project: a diorama competition about ancient Egypt. Tickets for 2 to the Lakers game is the grand prize for winning the contest. Daniel has already decided to put Pablo in the diorama as one of the mummies to give it a more authentic look. It was also a great excuse to bring Pablo outside the house, because ever since Daniel and Granny Nanny found out about him, he hasn't been allowed out of the house without either of them accompanying him. Daniel and Vu desperately want to win the competition, especially since they are going up against the quintessential school bully, Vince the Pizza Prince, who makes life hard for any and all of his classmates. How he gets Daniel into trouble and almost ruins his and Vu's diorama entry make up the rest of the story. And, oh yeah, did I also tell you that things are further complicated by Daniel shrinking at the most importunate times?

Overall, this makes for an excellent light, fast-paced reading for elementary to middle school young'uns today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?)
Escape of the Mini-Mummy (Who Shrunk Daniel Funk?) by Lin Oliver (Hardcover - September 9, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.