Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and imaginative, but...
"Escape from the Museum" has the foundation for a first class hidden object-adventure game. The problem is that the designers tried to tie in sophisticated environments and sophisticated little mini-puzzles with cartoon-rendered drawings and really boring and inane dialogue directed at kids. The beautifully rendered scenes of a great natural history museum in collapse...
Published on April 10, 2009 by P. B. Sharp

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not work on Mac OSX; Fun problem solving game
This software is NOT Mac compatible, despite saying so. Two minutes after running it on our Mac, the game froze. Turning the Mac off and then back on didn't quit the game; we had to Force Quit the game, which took some time [option+command+esc]. HOWEVER - we then installed it on our PC and it runs very well.

This game is fun and enjoyable. It probably appeals...
Published on December 30, 2008 by Musicbookfan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and imaginative, but..., April 10, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
"Escape from the Museum" has the foundation for a first class hidden object-adventure game. The problem is that the designers tried to tie in sophisticated environments and sophisticated little mini-puzzles with cartoon-rendered drawings and really boring and inane dialogue directed at kids. The beautifully rendered scenes of a great natural history museum in collapse after a huge earthquake are worthy of the purchase price of the game, but the drawings of you, as museum curator, and your daughter Caitlin, who are apart and trapped in the museum, are second-rate. The two halves don't match, don't blend, don't work together. The environments get an A, the cartoons and dialog get a C.

"Escape the Museum" is rather unusual for a hidden object game in that it is interesting- interesting in that you are literally thrown together with an incredible amount of stuff you might encounter if you were in a natural history museum and an earthquake occurred. Boom, the earthquake hits! You, a museum curator, are trying to reach your young daughter who is trapped in the administrative area far from where you are. You have to laboriously claw your way out of one room into another, often employing ingenious techniques. which are sometimes logical and sometimes pure fantasy maneuvers. These maneuvers, such as freezing a water leak with liquid nitrogen, are entertaining and often funny.

Along the way you have to locate hundreds of hidden objects, and these are so well camouflaged you have to have eyes like a hawk to find them as they are often very tiny and the various rooms are in a vast state of disarray with a vast number of objects cluttered about. You will be rummaging around Neanderthals, trilobites, medieval armor, Egyptian masks, wild West artifacts, dinosaurs and much more and the detail is positively amazing and as noted above, down right interesting.

It's entertaining to see what is included among the various exhibits- and assembling the objects in each area must have been a mind-boggling task as the artifacts seem to be very authentic and authentically related to each other, a different era and theme for each room you're trapped in.

If you're a hidden object aficionado and enjoy natural history museums, you'll be right in your element with "Escape the Museum" in spite of the inferior cartoons and story dialog. I'm giving the game four stars on the basis of the environments and the mini-puzzles alone which are worthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not work on Mac OSX; Fun problem solving game, December 30, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
This software is NOT Mac compatible, despite saying so. Two minutes after running it on our Mac, the game froze. Turning the Mac off and then back on didn't quit the game; we had to Force Quit the game, which took some time [option+command+esc]. HOWEVER - we then installed it on our PC and it runs very well.

This game is fun and enjoyable. It probably appeals to kids ages 7 to 12 (give or take), and I certainly enjoy sitting down with a cup of coffee and playing for awhile. When one of kids sit down to play, eventually the other kids look over their shoulder and everyone gets involved in the "I Spy" type sections and puzzle solving.

There are interesting, cluttered-full museum rooms, with detailed graphics, and there's a task for each room - finding a way to escape, collecting items, etc. The item collection is very similar to an "I Spy" game. Other rooms require problem solving skills. The game reuses rooms for different puzzles, which is fun. Once a player figures out how to navigate the rooms, the task icons alone are helpful, so it works for younger players, although there is a need to read for instructions and clues. The concept of being trapped (and the mom and daughter separated during the earthquake aftermath) might be mildly worrisome for young players. The sound can be a little annoying so we just turn that off.

There's a story narrative that's a flat cartoon with voice narration & dialog boxes, which sets up the earthquake story and gives game instructions. There is a "Skip" logo on these dialog pages which doesn't skip the whole screen but only moves along the dialog. Players can skip these dialog sections without compromising game play.

There's a map that shows progress through the game, and which rooms have been "escaped", and a % box shows game progress. Returning to a saved game is easy and the game takes you right to the map to see where you left off.

This is a fun (even when the problem solving gets difficult!) game - just don't try and run it on a Mac!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, March 14, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
This game is a bit of a challenge as far as hidden objects are concerned. The good news is nothing is hidden in a black area but cleverly disguised. The other good news is there are limitless hints if you get tired or stuck. Lots of other activities as well and takes a bit of time to get through. Worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
Very nice I would recommend this product to anyone. It has quality and I don't have one single bad thing to say about this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Escape the Museum, March 20, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
I've been playing this game for a few days off and on and what I don't like the most is some of the items are extremely hard to find. Took me forever to find a bone. I bought this for my grandchildren and I don't think they would play it as much as other games. There is too much dialog for the player to read in order to get clues and there are no puzzles to play. I'm kind of sorry I bought the second game but I haven't played it yet so maybe they improved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great hidden object game with a plot line & no dark twist!, March 31, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
My entire family (including teen, elementary school & 30-something adult) thoroughly enjoyed this game (we liked the sequel Escape the Museum 2 even better). The game has various hidden object scenes, most of which are challenging but not impossible. Significantly, the game has a plot line / overarching story so that the hidden object scenes actually move you forward in an adventure (for some strange reason a lot of hidden object games we've played have no discernable plot/story or have some very dark twisted plot not suitable for children).

Thank you for making good, wholesome & fun games!!! I wish more developers would follow suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very repetitive!, October 29, 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
After reading reviews, I felt this would be a fun game. When playing it, it's all the same. No interesting puzzles to fiqure out and not what I expected. Have played other hidden object games that were way more fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too difficult, September 12, 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
The puzzles in this game are kind of challenging, and solveable, but the hidden objects scenes are nearly impossible. Many of the objects are so totally hidden that even when I get a hint I still can hardly see them, if at all, and a lot of them don't look at all like what they're described as being. I don't think it's that I'm not smart enough, because I have a number of other hidden objects games, and none of them treat me like this one does. I also don't care for the useless conversation the woman carries on between scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, March 18, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
This is a pretty fun hidden object game. The puzzles and the graphics are pretty good. The storyline is not too bad although some of the things they say are kinda dorky.

Overall, if you like these kind of games, I recommend getting this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape the Museum, May 14, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape the Museum (CD-ROM)
I love to play this game, especially the scenes where you have to figure out how to get out of the rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Escape the Museum
Escape the Museum by 21 Rocks (Windows Vista / XP)
$19.99 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.