Customer Reviews


1,055 Reviews
5 star:
 (387)
4 star:
 (368)
3 star:
 (185)
2 star:
 (75)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


178 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a 4.5, but too good to give a 4
The Good- The script is surprisingly well-written. Stallone's methods of escape are explained in intricate detail, all of which are believable and logical. Stallone is still likeable as a lead actor and as usual, you find yourself rooting for him. The action is done old school, not much in the way of CGI (with the exception of a pull away shot of the hi-tech prison). The...
Published 11 months ago by Gene Siskel

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Pretentious
I give this three stars because holy ----!, was it better than than that other piece of work that was The Last Stand--or the Expendables movies, which are little too gratuitous for their own good--but it wasn't quite a True Lies either (which would get four stars in my book). That said, I wouldn't go so far as to say it's "awesome," though, I feel this is the...
Published 7 months ago by Benjamin P.


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

178 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a 4.5, but too good to give a 4, January 15, 2014
This review is from: Escape Plan (Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
The Good- The script is surprisingly well-written. Stallone's methods of escape are explained in intricate detail, all of which are believable and logical. Stallone is still likeable as a lead actor and as usual, you find yourself rooting for him. The action is done old school, not much in the way of CGI (with the exception of a pull away shot of the hi-tech prison). The hits are brutal and when people are shot it looks real. Jim Cavizel is great as the soulless warden of the Tomb. He shows menace without raising his voice, but using his eyes and chillingly even tone to show he is a threat. He also has some good humorous villain moments. The plot is again, surprisingly tight. Everything intertwines and is explained in equal detail as Stallone's escape methods. Schwarzenegger is great in this movie. I can't remember the last time he was so solid. Most of his jokes hit and he even shows some decent acting chops.
The BAD- '50 cent' and the blonde who play Stallone's team come right out of a B-movie with their acting. There is also no chemistry between Stallone and his group. Fortunately, they are not in the movie very much. I guess between natural aging and plastic surgery, Stallone has lost some of his facial expressions. At times, especially when he smiles, you really can't tell. Not much, but some the dialogue falls flat.
THE DEAL- This movie is a pleasant surprise. A lot of critics are incorrectly labeling it as 'dumb fun' eh, no. The Expendables is dumb fun, Escape Plan is not. While there are a few B-movie moments, this movie is a top-notch action film that will have you engaged in the story. Stallone and Schwarzenegger play off each other well and the action is in your face and realistic. Even though they are older, when Sly and Arnold slap people around you still believe it. This long awaited team-up is everything an action fan could hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable Action Movie, January 17, 2014
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape Plan (Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Sylvester Stallone is Ray Breslin, a man wrongly incarcerated in a top-secret prison. I should rather not tell you much about the story and his character, except that he gets a help from one of his fellow inmates Emil Rottmayer (Arnold Schwarzenegger), to escape from the jail run by a sadistic warden named Hobbes (Jim Caviezel). But Ray and Emil (and viewers) soon realize that this is the “most secure prison” in the world.

“Escape Plan” is an old-school prison-escape movie. It is fast-paced and action-packed, made with solid direction (by Mikael Hĺfström). While the basic idea of “the most secure prison” may be stretching credibility, it is fun nonetheless watching two stars teaming up for the big screen (though, as the story is basically about Ray, Stallone’s screen time is longer.)

The supporting cast includes Vincent D'Onofrio, Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson, Vinnie Jones, Amy Ryan and Faran Tahir. Except for Faran Tahir’s role, none of the characters are fleshed out enough, especially Jackson and Ryan’s that are underwritten and even pointless.

So finally Stallone and Schwarzenegger are in one movie together (and not in a cameo role). Acting-wise, both stars deliver more than satisfactory performances, and there is an impressive scene where Schwarzenegger (speaking in German) shows his acting skills. And of course as an action movie “Escape Plan” is very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sly and the Governator Make Great Entertainment, January 17, 2014
By 
This review is from: Escape Plan (DVD)
Fast, raucous, adrenalized fun at its finest. If you're a fan of 80's style action movies, this will not disappoint.

Ray Breslin (Stallone) is a top notch security consultant that must break out of the depths of "The Tomb", an uberwicked security fortress/prison complete with futuristic translucent cells, a smart, sadistic warden (Jim Caviezel) and sci-fi costume inspired guards (Brit Vinnie Jones). Breslin (Stallone) teams up with another inmate, smack-talking Emil Rottmayer (Schwarzenegger) and the escape of a lifetime ensues, via torture, pursuit and the usual high stakes are on the line; their lives.

The greatest fun in this movie derives from Stallone and Schwarzenegger zinging each other. Here's a small sample:
Emil Rottmayer: "Who were you before you came in here?"
Ray Breslin: "I break out of prisons for a living. Someone wanted this place tested."
Emil Rottmayer: "You don't look that smart."
Ray Breslin: "You don't either."

There's plenty more where this came from and it makes you wish California hadn't hogged the big guy (Schwarzenegger) all to themselves when he did his stint as the their Gov.

Darn entertaining and Stallone's best in a while.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escape Plan on Blu-ray/DVD Combo, January 31, 2014
This review is from: Escape Plan (Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Escape Plan is a fun action movie with two great stars: Schwarzenegger and Stallone. Ray Breslin is incarcerated in a master prison he designed himself and he needs to escape and find the person who put him behind bars. You get a Blu-Ray, DVD, and a Digital Ultra Violet HD copy of the film in this release. The picture quality is great and the audio quality is terrific. There is 70 minutes of total bonus content plus an audio commentary. The supplements are solid and entertaining too because Arnie and Sly had a great time working together. Escape Plan (formerly known as Exit Plan and The Tomb) was a huge success overseas since it opened at number one in many countries outside the US.

Video Resolution/Codec: 1080p/AVC MPEG-4 | Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1
Audio Formats: English DTS-HD 7.1 MA, English Dolby Digital 2.0, Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles/Captions: English SDH, Spanish

Special Features:
Audio Commentary with director Mikael Hafström and writer Miles Chapman
The Making Of Escape Plan (HD, 23 mins)
Maximum Security: The Real-Life Tomb (HD, 22 mins)
Deleted Scenes (HD, 9 mins)
Clash of the Titans (HD, 16 mins)
Trailers

Buy this Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Better than expected!, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape Plan (Amazon Instant Video)
I am a big fan of the 80's action hero's, especially Stallone and Arnold. I was hesitant on this movie because I didn't really get into the latest movies they have done, but this one was FANTASTIC! It was NOT the typical blow em up, shoot em up, beat the guy up movie that we are used to by them. It does have plenty of action, don't get me wrong, but it's also a thinker with lot's of drama. Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Pretentious, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I give this three stars because holy ----!, was it better than than that other piece of work that was The Last Stand--or the Expendables movies, which are little too gratuitous for their own good--but it wasn't quite a True Lies either (which would get four stars in my book). That said, I wouldn't go so far as to say it's "awesome," though, I feel this is the first movie for post-politics Schwarzenegger wherein it felt good and natural to see him on screen again.

Basically, you get two, older, muscled-up stars (Schwarzenegger and Stallone) doing what they do best: kicking a-- to overthrow the bad guys and looking like bada--es while they do it. Also, a couple of surprises throughout, such as Sam Neil and Vinnie Jones. While Schwarzenegger and Stallone don't "look" the way they did 20 years ago, I've got to say that the tenacity of these two is inspiring, and if I look as half as good when I'm their age, I'll say I'm doing alright.

In short, a good lazy afternoon flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun film, terrible audio, May 18, 2014
By 
Scubafiend "scubafiend" (St. Petersburg, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape Plan (Amazon Instant Video)
Fun movie. 3 stars because of the lousy audio. The sound engineer on this must have had their hearing aid out. Background noise far overshadows the dialog in most of the film. Note - I used to make a living as a sound engineer so I have a little experience with mixing audio and this is poor.

This review is specifically the streaming version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, March 17, 2014
By 
Q. Jackson (Leesburg, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape Plan (Amazon Instant Video)
I may be somewhat partial, but I'm a fan of most of Arnold Schwarzenegger movies, Stallone somewhat. Even though they are older now, the movie was very good. Great plot, better than some of their earlier movies when they were much younger. One of the things that make a movie good for me, is does the story line make sense, is the action scenes realistic, do the people playing the parts fit . (too old , too young, too cocky, not believable) I think this fit my criteria, and I would recommend this to all Stallone & Schwarzenegger fans. Oh and one more thing not a lot of F words, movies really don't need all that to be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well Sly is at is again, June 29, 2014
By 
Cheryl S "mystery,adventure" (Lincoln, NE United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape Plan (DVD)
I know a lot of "critics" didn't like this movie. I have been trying to figure out just what they do like. Not what I like that is for sure. If you like Sly and Arnold well this is a good action movie with an interesting twist at the end. I like it. It was fun seeing them beat each other up. 3 1/2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty sure it is one of their best, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Escape Plan (Amazon Instant Video)
These two guys (no longer young) were very entertaining in an adventure story that kept you riveted to the action, and gave you a surprised and enjoyable ending. Recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2106 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Escape Plan (Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD)
Escape Plan (Blu-Ray + DVD + Digital HD) by Mickael Hafstrom (Blu-ray - 2014)
$39.99 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.