Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating New Perspective on Escher
As a kid, Escher's work fascinated me as my brain tried to unravel the twists and impossibilities inherent in his art. This amazing collection of pop-ups builds on Escher's work, retaining his singular sense of depth and interplay of elements while bringing them into the third dimension. Rather than breaking the illusions that Escher created, Watson McCarthy's designs add...
Published on December 6, 2011 by Communications Pro

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inartful paper engineering actually detracts from the beauty of Escher's original designs.
I collect pop-up books, study paper engineering, and am a big fan of MC Escher's. In short, I'm a key demographic for this book. Unfortunately, it fails miserably on most accounts. The book's inartful paper engineering actually detracts from the beauty of Escher's original designs. Most of the designs are rendered as two-dimensional "floating planes," which actually work...
Published on December 10, 2012 by Thasha Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating New Perspective on Escher, December 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
As a kid, Escher's work fascinated me as my brain tried to unravel the twists and impossibilities inherent in his art. This amazing collection of pop-ups builds on Escher's work, retaining his singular sense of depth and interplay of elements while bringing them into the third dimension. Rather than breaking the illusions that Escher created, Watson McCarthy's designs add a new level of mystery as you try to figure out not only how Escher created his images but how she, the paper engineer, so successfully translated those flat images into complex and fantastical constructions. The blending of designs works wonderfully well. I discover a little something new each time I go through the book and have been thrilled to watch my young daughter get caught up in the designs as well. This is a phenomenal book for those who are fascinated by Escher and his work as well as those who can be absorbed by and appreciate the subtle craft of finely designed paper engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and beautiful, December 7, 2011
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
This is a really fun and beautiful book. Most pop-up books are designed for kids, but this one is for grown-ups. The works of Escher really come to life. It's a great book just to flip through and enjoy. It's great for anyone who is a fan of Escher, or loves pop-ups, but is looking for somethine more sophisticated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent work of and about art, December 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
It's hard to imagine an artist more difficult to interpret on the page than M.C. Escher; it's harder still to conceive of Escher in three dimensions. But that's what Courtney Watson McCarthy's remarkable and beautiful book of pop-ups accomplishes, giving us a fresh experience with these compelling and ubiquitous images. Escher's work is all about the illusion of what we see and how we see it; he was both humorous and provocative at the same time. Watson McCarthy's book gives Escher's illustrations a life in space, inviting us to both see and interact with them as never before. Her three-dimensional renderings renew and refresh our appreciation of art framed in a new, exciting way. Both the imaginative and technical work in this book is of the highest caliber, making it a thrill to turn every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inartful paper engineering actually detracts from the beauty of Escher's original designs., December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
I collect pop-up books, study paper engineering, and am a big fan of MC Escher's. In short, I'm a key demographic for this book. Unfortunately, it fails miserably on most accounts. The book's inartful paper engineering actually detracts from the beauty of Escher's original designs. Most of the designs are rendered as two-dimensional "floating planes," which actually work against the three-dimensional (four dimensional?) designs originally drawn by Escher. I agree wholeheartedly with the reviewer who labeled this "Flat and Boring," and wonder what the work would've been like were it attempted by paper engineering master such as Sally Hewitt or Ron Van Der Meer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful take on Escher's work, December 7, 2011
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
My first response to hearing about this book was surprise: "How can anyone translate M.C. Escher into pop-ups?" But these images have been beautifully transcribed into playful 3-D creations, which breathe new life into the artist's classic scenes. A few of these were new to me (e.g., the dandelion and its reverse-video companion), but they are all lovingly rendered and captivating as pop-ups. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys the pop-up medium, Escher's art, or both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flat and Boring, March 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
After reading all of the raving reviews I thought this book would be more impressive. Instead it is quite rudimentary. I was expecting something closer to a Reinhart or a Sabuda pop-up book. Where the images have movement and complexity to them. Instead the pages just lay there limp and boring, barely three dimensional. When dealing with such a intricate artist like Escher, it would take an equaly talented paper engineer to bring these images to life. Unfortunately this is NOT that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book does not live up to the artist, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
esher's work was exciting ... mystifying ... often thrilling.
this book felt rather 2-D despite its attempts at being a pop up book.
we were disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just a pop-up book, nothing much, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
It's great only as a pop-up book. there is too little text to describe what the illustration was all about. gets boring after you've flipped through it once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente. Un interesante libro., December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
El diseño de cada POP UP es realmente creativo y aedecuado con las imágenes del artista. Es realmente una experiencia nueva en los libros de Escher
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of are on/about works of art. I found no credits given for the pop-up designer, but he/she did a fabulous job., October 2, 2013
By 
Margaret Holmes (REDONDO BEACH, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: M. C. Escher Pop-Ups (Hardcover)
If you know Escher, you'll be very happy with this book. I certainly am. one, two, three, four, five, six
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

M. C. Escher Pop-Ups
M. C. Escher Pop-Ups by Courtney Watson McCarthy (Hardcover - November 8, 2011)
$29.95 $19.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.