Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Correspondence Course on Correspondence
This book is lessons C & D to Volume I's A & B. So you may want to also keep Book I close by for reference. It goes into more depth on interrelations and correspondences of the Qabalah, tarot, color, planets, and tones with life and wisdom. Have a tarot deck and Tree of Life with all the letters, planets and paths handy when you read this book, unless you've got it all...
Published on February 17, 2010 by Elliot Malach

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Case's Mixed-Bag Teachings
This is the second Paul Foster Case book I have read and reviewed (see my two-star review of "The Tarot: A Key to the Wisdom of the Ages"), and before I begin the actual review, I want to make a statement about the quality of the writing: Paul Foster Case is one of the best nonfiction writers I have read. His prose is exemplary: clear and concise, elegant and...
Published 1 month ago by L. Ron Gardner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Correspondence Course on Correspondence, February 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book is lessons C & D to Volume I's A & B. So you may want to also keep Book I close by for reference. It goes into more depth on interrelations and correspondences of the Qabalah, tarot, color, planets, and tones with life and wisdom. Have a tarot deck and Tree of Life with all the letters, planets and paths handy when you read this book, unless you've got it all memorized.

Case describes what exactly you are concentrating when you meditate, and he explains the process of concentration to meditate. It is the perfection of inner vision. We open ourselves up to the descending current of light. We bring the powers down from above. Everything is within. We just externalize these latent powers. I never heard it explained that way before.

The author also uses plenty of quotes and passages from Levi, Patanjali, Boehme and others to explain esoteric secrets.

He makes some very interesting observations and relates them to the Tarot. In his explanation of the Devil card, he states that laughter separates occultists from the fakes. We laugh at the Devil, but not at God. Why not laugh at the equally stupid ideas of God put forth by the theologians and imposed upon our consciousness? The Devil card is really an image of man's silly imaginings of God.

It is not an easy book to read; it is one you need to study. According to Paul Foster Case, you need to spend a few weeks on each chapter. There is a lot of information here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent sampling of Paul Foster Case's Esoteric philosophy., February 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book does a good job in introducing the reader to the forms of meditation and magical models Brother Case used to arrive at his later conclusions regarding esoteric science. The reader can use the same material or develop on the forms and models presented to make his/her own conclusions along similar lines. Highly recommended for those who enjoy/practice the western mystery traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Practical Guide, September 14, 2009
By 
Del C. Jordan (Monroeville, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book is a continuation of the concepts and exercises begun in Volume 1:Occult Fundamentals and Spiritual Unfoldment - Volume 1: The Early Writings. These are two of the best sources available to the general public, providing a clear explanation and practical exercises for those interested in spiritual unfoldment using the concepts of the Western Mystery Tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic Volume 2, February 8, 2013
By 
Delia Tamez (Albuquerque, NM, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This book is the continuation of Volume 1. Volume 2 can stand alone, but I recommend that you study Volume 1 first. I do mean study, not read. Both volumes contain a wealth of metaphysical information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only for the Dedicated, September 8, 2009
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
It is a well crafted book. Do not fool yourself into thinking that you can buy the second volume without true knowledge of the Tarot, Hebrew and the Tree of Life. There are no shortcuts here if you really want to learn. If you are willing to buy the first volume as well as read some of the other material Paul Foster Case has written, then and only then will you be able to comprehend the second volume. This book takes true dedication and to get through it effectively, expect to study for a year. Then you will need to go through it again, and then again, and then again if you want to get the most from it. It would be helpful to know either Hindu Astrology and Numerology as you study this book. For numerology, Finding Your Perfect Soulmate or Business Partner: Finding That Perfect Someone Through the Science of NumbersNumerology is helpful, but not a requisite. I created a simple way to begin to understand numerology. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insightful read, September 6, 2013
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
this is a great book, definitely very interesting and a good read, very informative. highly recommended. here is another short booklet that some of you might be interested in. alchemy and the green lion: the truth of the philosophers stone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!!!, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
Both of these books are great!!! They explain the Western Mystery Tradations. Very keen insight you will love them. And remember LOVE is what you are!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
I highly recommend Paul Foster Case's works, if you are a student of the Esoteric. Extremely knowledgeable and written accessibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Case's Mixed-Bag Teachings, January 4, 2015
This review is from: Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings (Paperback)
This is the second Paul Foster Case book I have read and reviewed (see my two-star review of "The Tarot: A Key to the Wisdom of the Ages"), and before I begin the actual review, I want to make a statement about the quality of the writing: Paul Foster Case is one of the best nonfiction writers I have read. His prose is exemplary: clear and concise, elegant and inspiring.

Case is also erudite, teeming with occult knowledge - but to my mind, some of his knowledge is faulty, and much of the information he presents is beside the point for those seeking true Wisdom.

As I see it, Case is a "victim" of his times and background. Most of his information (at least in this book, written in 1924) derives from just a few sources - the great occultist Eliphas Levy (1810-1875), the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn, old Rosicrucian teachings, and Patanjali's Yoga Sutras. I'm familiar with these teachings (I learned astrology through the Rosicrucian Fellowship), and because they are all flawed or limited, so are Case's teachings.

The book is a collection of lessons Case wrote for associate members of the Builders of the Adytum (B.O.T.A.), and Case covers a lot of ground in them, discoursing on the Qabalah, tarot, alchemy, astrology, numerology (gematria), and Raja Yoga (meaning Patanjali). He focuses on symbolism, providing virtually endless attributions and conections. Case is really into gematria, and if the subject interests you, you might especially appreciate this text.

One particular paragraph in the book stood out for me:

"You remember that we interpret this Key as a symbol of attention. It shows an adept in the act of concentration. The power he uses is being brought down from above. Here is a subtlety, for one result of concentration is the raising of the Mars-force from lower to higher centers of the sympathetic nervous system. This is what the Hindus mean when they say that concentration raises the Kundalini. What they do not say, for no Hindu occultist ever makes a complete statement concerning any phase of practical work, is that the serpent-power rises in response to the descent of the undifferentiated Prana from above. In concentration we do not try to lift up the Kundalini by main force, as if we were trying to raise ourselves by our boot-strap. We simply open ourselves to the descending current of light which flows down from Kether, and that current, when it returns, raises the serpent-fire from chakra to chakra. For it must never be forgotten that the Astral Light is cosmic electricity, and every electrician knows that no matter what the application we make of that force, it must always pass from a higher to a lower potential."

Because I have written a book on the relation between electricity and spirituality, I found this paragraph particularly interesting. In alignment with Case, my spiritual teachings emphasize receiving Divine Power rather than attempting to raise the Kundalini. Unfortunately, there is nothing more than than this single paragraph in Case's book with regard to the Kundalini and reception of the Light-current from above.

A statement of Case's about obedience and spiritual law resonated with me:

"Masters may not see far into the future, may not be prophets among prophets, knowing the outcome of many currents of activity whose end is not perceived by ordinary human beings. What we mean is that they do not make personal plans, that they have no need for plotting out a scheme for future action, because their whole training has made them so exquisitely responsive to the direction of the cosmic superconsciousness that every moment of their lives is a perfect obedience to spiritual law. Obeying perfectly, they achieve perfect results."

The real spiritual "law" is Ohm's Law, which Case alludes to in the first paragraph of his I quoted. I expound upon this in my teachings. And from my perspective, obedience to this Law is what real spiritual life is about. My guess is that if Paul Case were alive now, being the brilliant metaphysician that he was, he'd teach this and direct people to spiritual teachings -- Tibetan Dzogchen, Kashmir Shaivism Divine Means, Adi Da's Divine Communion, the mystical Christian Eucharist, and Electrical Christianity's Plugged-in Presence -- that, implicitly or explicitly, emphasize obedience to this Law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings
Esoteric Secrets of Meditation and Magic - Volume 2: The Early Writings by Paul Foster Case (Paperback - January 12, 2009)
$19.95 $16.38
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.