Prime Music
Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting viewers with great music since 1972. All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Customer service is our top priority!
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $0.30
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • España: Anthology of Spanish Music
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

España: Anthology of Spanish Music Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, September 21, 1992
"Please retry"
$42.88 $2.92

Product Details

  • Audio CD (September 21, 1992)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Astree / Auvidis
  • ASIN: B000026DG2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #426,707 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Cant De La Sibil.La: Sybil.La Latine (Excs) - Montserrat Figueras
2. Villancicos & Ensaladas: Mundus Et Musica Et Totus Concentus (Canon Perpetum) - La Capella Reial De Catalunya/Jordi Savall
3. Cantigas De Santa Maria: Cantiga 384: A Que Por Muy Gran Fremosura - Esther Lamandier
4. El Cancionero De La Colombina: Propinan De Melyor - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
5. El Cancionero De Palacio: Tres Morillas - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
6. I Musica De Vihuela: Pavane IV - Hopkinson Smith
7. Romances & Villancicos: Si Habra En Este Baldres? - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
8. Recercadas Del Trattado De Glosas: Recercada Segunda Sobre El Passamezzo Moderno - Jordi Savall/Tom Koopman/Rolf Lislevand
9. Il Sonetos, Villancicos Y Romances: Quien Amores Ten (Villancicos En Portugues) - Montserrat Figueras/Hopkinson Smith
10. El Organo Historico Espanol I: Fabordon Y Glosas Del Sexto Tono - Kimberly Marshall
11. Missa Pro Defunctis, A 5: Pie Jesu Domine - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
12. Tres Libros De Musica En Cifras Para Vihuela: Fant Que Contrahaze La Harpa - Hopkinson Smith
13. Ensaladas: Mateu Fleccha L'Ancien La Bomba, Ensalada Studium Musicae Valencia - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
14. El Cancionero De Medinaceli: La Perra Mora - Hesperion XX/Jordi Savall
15. Poema Harmonico: Canario, Treze Diferencias De Canario - Hopkinson Smith
16. Missa De Batalla: Gloria - La Capella Reial De Catalunya/Jordi Savall
17. L'Oeuvre Pour Clavecin 1: Son in a No.118-Allegro - Bob Van Asperen
18. Lope De Vega: Intermedios Del Barroco Hispanico: No Hay Que Decirle El Primor - Montserrat Figueras
19. El Organo Historico Espanol 9: Toccata Del Sexto Tono - Francis Chapelet
20. Cancons De La Catalunya Mil.Lenaria: Els Segadors (Excs) - Montserrat Figueras
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Enrique Torres VINE VOICE on March 27, 2007
Verified Purchase
This is a truly inspirational disc that features several different artists. I came across this disc years ago because of my interest in time period music performed by Jordi Savall and the lovely voice of Monteserrat Figueras in the group Hesperion XX. Both are featured on this disc extensively. Listening to this music is almost like a religious experience, it elevates your senses beyond the mundane for a richly rewarding experience; it is an auditory time warp. Essentially this is a compilation of time period music with compositions mostly from the 1500's. Besides the fabulous work by Hesperion XX the disc also includes some interesting work by Hopkinson Smith on Vihuela while Figueras sings in her lovely soprano voice. There are also some nice orchestra pieces most notably by Issac Ibeniz on "Iberia, El Puerto" which is a lush theme that would sit well in a movie about Spain's Golden Age, Manuel de Falla's beautiful compostion of "El Sombrero De Tres Picos" as performed by Joven Orchestra Nacional de Espana and Roberto Gerhard's "Don Quijote Albada Danza" as performed by the Orchestra Sinfonica de Tenerife. Also of note is the work of Francisco Guerau and the magical baroque guitar of Hopkinson Smith as performed on "Treze diferencias de Canario." Listening to this music reminds one of the grandeur of Spains's past in the Age of Discovery. This is classical album for people like me, who really don't know that much about classical music but realizes good music when he hears it. Recommended for people who like to listen to time period music and the interpretations of Hesperion XX.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Savonarola on April 10, 2013
This is a great collection of Spanish music from the Renaissance to the Romantic period. The earlier period pieces often feature the lovely voice of Montserrat Figueras; I greatly enjoy her interpretation of these works.

The sole problem with the album is that it covers too much ground. The common thread, that the works are all Spanish, don't hold it together as an album. That makes it difficult to listen to in one go, but for the individual tracks it's well worth owning.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?