Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Chaos: A great primer on chaos theory.
Edward Lorenz takes a complicated topic and makes it accessible for all people, regardless of prior knowledge of chaos theory. He provides interesting and easy to follow examples of chaos, fractals and complexity. The illustrations are helpful and he includes a glossary of terms to aid the beginning chaos enthusiasts to quickly become familiar with the terminology...
Published on August 23, 1998 by Brandon R. Julio (bjulio@aol.com)

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of info poorly binded
I think that the book touches a interesting subject, but itself fails to be interesting or compelling to the casual reader.
As another reviewer mentioned the same book could have taken half of the space.
Dissapointed but i still managed to plough through it ..
Published on August 26, 2011 by Yannis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Chaos: A great primer on chaos theory., August 23, 1998
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
Edward Lorenz takes a complicated topic and makes it accessible for all people, regardless of prior knowledge of chaos theory. He provides interesting and easy to follow examples of chaos, fractals and complexity. The illustrations are helpful and he includes a glossary of terms to aid the beginning chaos enthusiasts to quickly become familiar with the terminology. Mr. Lorenz gives a brief history of chaos and explains how it is used in the study of mathematics, meteorology, economics, music, and other fields. The book is very interesting and is highly recommended for those who would like to acquaint themselves with the exciting world of chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Chaos Primer, August 8, 2000
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
My first intro to chaos was Gleick's book *Chaos: Making a New Science* which focused on the history of the discovery of chaos. Although this was fascinating - and a good read for those just learning about dynamical systems, strange attractors, and the like - Lorenz's *Essence of Chaos* was much more satisfying. Lorenz analyzes specific chaotic functions, gives you the math (equations are in the appendix) and generally accomplishes what the title suggests - that is, exploring the essence of chaos. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in this deeply fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essence of chaos book by E.Lorenz, October 13, 2007
By 
Intars (Riga , Latvia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
Lorenz did a great job when he wrote this book!
The very first time when I heard of chaos theory was year ago while watching some old documentary about Nostadamus. In film was mentioned chaos theory and said that acceptance of it by many people could change whole look to life and so on. Movie left to me questions - what is that theory, what it's standing for.
Finaly my interest lead me to this book and it clearly showed me what kind of staff is that chaos theory! That was and is really intriguing!
Book is well written. There was of course some places that wasn't easy to understand. I myself have studied high math,encountered differential equations but anyway had some difficulties. That's why not 5 stars to book - it's really not for absolutely everyone although almost close to it. I couldn't stop it reading, I was done in two days.
This book encouraged me for further reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the book if you're looking for a chaos primer, February 1, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
If your interest in Chaos was piqued by Gleick's book on the subject, you may have found it unsatisfying. While it conveyed a enthusiasm for chaos, it only superficially answered questions about what characterizes a chaotic system. "The Essence of Chaos" is a much better book for gaining an understanding of chaos, mainly because it includes a discussion of the mathematics. Both authors strive to avoid mathematics as much as possible, but in the end, I believe Lorenz achieves a better balance. He only touches lightly on the math, but without that, it's impossible to understand what makes a system chaotic. He doesn't quite go so far as to show a practical application of chaos theory, but a clear and concise example of that probably doesn't exist yet. But, he does achieve the goal of demonstrating and examining the fascinating characteristics of a chaotic system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Lay Person, September 18, 2008
By 
L. Leeder (Newton Centre, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
Having read several books about Chaos Theory, and having been promised a user-friendly and yet academic book on the subject, this book fell a little short. Certainly academic, not so easy for someone who does not have a solid background in the sciences and mathematics fields. The various sections cover much of the recent research, and if you can get past the equations, you get a more complete sense of the progression in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Introductory examples of chaos, February 15, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
Chaos is not randomness and randomness is not chaos. Ed Lorenz, one of the founding fathers of chaos theory, has produced a book aimed at explaining chaos theory to the public, starting and ending on the same point- common usage has incorrectly rendered "chaotic" and "random" to be synonyms. Randomness implies that there are no equations to govern the evolution of a system, while chaos implies that the system is incredibly sensitive to its initial conditions, but there are equations behind the curtain. A pinball machine, flipping coins, tossing dice, and the global weather are all examples of chaotic systems, despite what your math teachers might have told you. Along the way you get a small dose of the history of the field and the relevant higher-level mathematics.

Lorenz does, I think, a pretty good job of explaining the subject. The more mathematically inclined reader will find all the details and differential equations in the appendix of the book, but for the most part you do not need to have that much of a mathematical background to understand the main points of the book. Sometimes the explanations do get a little hairy, and might require a second read. Lorenz makes analogies with simple systems and everyday occurrences (such as a pinball machine and skiing down moguls) in engaging language mostly free of jargon. I would recommend this book if you are interesting in learning about the basics of chaos theory. I haven't yet read Gleick's famous Chaos: Making a New Science, but this seems like an excellent place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff from the Great One, July 21, 2000
By 
biru hoover (grizzly hollow ranch, california) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
Lorenz has done it again. This is a terrific inside look at chaos by the man who made Gleick's book possible. And it had a few interesting new ideas too--who would have thought there was a different way to present fourth-order Runge-Kutta? Who would have thought Runge-Kutta could convert a phase-space circle to a nice-looking fractal attractor? A good book for the air plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading., November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
A good personal narrative from the grand old man of the Chaos field. Not an easy reading for laymen, some technical education (basic Calculus notions) is required for a full appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
This book exceeded my expectations, and the in-depth discussion of chaos theory and sensitive dependence on initial conditions was extremely intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) (Paperback)
It is for me a reference book. I keep going back to it and propose it to others. I could read it and understand although I am not an expert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures)
The Essence Of Chaos (Jessie and John Danz Lectures) by Edward N. Lorenz (Paperback - March 30, 1995)
$26.95 $19.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.