Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, one-semester course in biochemistry
This book is not intended as a detailed account of biochemistry, rather it is meant to be used in its entirety as a semester-length, overview of biochemistry. Further, I would argue that the text is geared towards pre-medical and pre-physician assistant students, because a lot of interesting topics such as sulfur metabolism are not covered. Unlike larger tomes...
Published on May 13, 2009 by ninjasuperstar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought it out of need
Got this book for class.

What can I say, it does what an academic text book is supposed to do. Nothing more and nothing less.
Published on December 11, 2012 by Wayne Wong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, one-semester course in biochemistry, May 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
This book is not intended as a detailed account of biochemistry, rather it is meant to be used in its entirety as a semester-length, overview of biochemistry. Further, I would argue that the text is geared towards pre-medical and pre-physician assistant students, because a lot of interesting topics such as sulfur metabolism are not covered. Unlike larger tomes introducing a student to biology or organic chemistry, Essential Biochemistry sacrifices depth for the information a college instructor actually has time to teach in fifteen weeks. Even so, this slimmer volume has perhaps too many details, but it is much more focused than books two or three times its size.

As a point of criticism, I question the need for the first few chapters of the book. You should know basic chemistry and biology before you take a course in biochemistry. But these obligatory chapters stating the obvious seem to be a staple of all introductory science texts.

The text is well-written and pleasant to read. There are some interesting figures and charts, but the most helpful are the detailed diagrams for specific biochemical pathways (the citric acid cycle, glycolysis, oxidative phosphorylation, etc). Scattered through the text are "boxes," commentaries and information that provide "a closer look" at a specific topic or area of historical and current research. I liked reading these boxes because they offered a break in tone from the rest of the text. Finally, the book comes with an accompanying CD. I did not make time to use the CD, and so I cannot offer a review.

Table of Contents

Part I: Molecular Structure and Function

1. The Chemical Basis of Life
2. Aqueous Chemistry
3. From Genes to Proteins
4. Myoglobin and Hemoglobin: A Study of Protein Structure and Function
5. Cytoskeletal and Motor Proteins
6. Chymotrypsin: A Model Enzyme
7. Enzyme Kinetics and Inhibition
8. Biological Membranes

Part II: Metabolic Reactions

9. Overview of Mammalian Metabolism and Free Energy
10. Glucose Metabolism
11. The Citric Acid Cycle
12. Oxidative Phosphorylation
13. Photosynthesis
14. Lipid Metabolism
15. Nitrogen Metabolism
16. Regulation of Mammalian Fuel Metabolism

Part III: Management of Genetic Information

17. DNA Replication
18. Cancer and DNA Repair
19. Transcription and RNA
20. Protein Synthesis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Biochemistry readable, May 28, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
Unlike most Biochemistry books, this one is readable. It also has full solutions for every problem at the end of the chapter (not just odd or even soluton sets from your typical science text book). i'm taking this class as MCAT review and it is helping me remember a lot of the orgo and gen chem II stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good supplement book, September 11, 2010
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
I find this textbook to be a good supplement to the one I use for class (Lehniger).
It provides clear & simple understanding of the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
Best price almost 99% identical to second edition. It's a really good reference for biochemistry and it will help you ace it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought it out of need, December 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
Got this book for class.

What can I say, it does what an academic text book is supposed to do. Nothing more and nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
CLEAR PRESENTATION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars College Students Listen Up!, September 14, 2009
By 
Fawkes (Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
This was definitely what I needed. I saved a whole bunch of money by not using my university's book store. This book even came with the interactive CD which was also pretty expensive. I wasn't even sure that the book came with the CD because it was only mentioned in the comments of the product. So make sure you read each items description carefully because it could end up saving you about a hundred bucks! The book is in fantastic condition too. Who cares if there is highlighting in some chapters I'm just gonna end up doing the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars do not lie, February 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
u said ur book was brand new. but its not. its used...there are scribbles everywhere on the textbook and some pages were folded up weirdly. and the CD was definitely used as well. DONT LIE on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good seller---swift shipping!!, September 18, 2005
This review is from: Essential Biochemistry (Hardcover)
GOt my book in less than 5 days. Thank you for the fast shipping. I'm a very happy customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essential Biochemistry
Essential Biochemistry by Kathleen Cornely (Hardcover - December 2, 2003)
$67.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.