Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new 2010 4th Edition but advertised online access not available yet!!
This is a great streamlined anatomy text that gives the key take-home points. The info is sufficient for most except of course the masters and PhDs in anatomy! The only downside is that, as of the date of this review, the access to the online book is not up and running yet (i.e. with the scratch code). I wrote to the customer service (thePoint) about this but have had...
Published on February 8, 2010 by Sunrise

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, bad and ugly
Good: Clinical aspects (blue boxes) good for board review.

Bad: Bulk of the text is just not written in a readable manner. Read Blumenfeld's neuroanatomy text, or Gray's, and you'll know what I mean.

Ugly: Mis-labeled tables, poor labeling of some illustrations, and some information in text either confusing or just plain wrong. Netter's, Gray's,...
Published on October 22, 2011 by J. Sharp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, bad and ugly, October 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Good: Clinical aspects (blue boxes) good for board review.

Bad: Bulk of the text is just not written in a readable manner. Read Blumenfeld's neuroanatomy text, or Gray's, and you'll know what I mean.

Ugly: Mis-labeled tables, poor labeling of some illustrations, and some information in text either confusing or just plain wrong. Netter's, Gray's, Blumenfeld all have superior illustrations and explanations of them.

Overall, a decent supplementary text, but infuriating at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great new 2010 4th Edition but advertised online access not available yet!!, February 8, 2010
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This is a great streamlined anatomy text that gives the key take-home points. The info is sufficient for most except of course the masters and PhDs in anatomy! The only downside is that, as of the date of this review, the access to the online book is not up and running yet (i.e. with the scratch code). I wrote to the customer service (thePoint) about this but have had no response in two weeks. So if you are buying this book to access it online be aware. Not sure when it will be ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to find information. No glossary. Not a thorough index., July 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
The book is difficult to find information because there is no glossary or index. I also found that the images were not consistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I've taken more than one anatomy course. If your professor assigns you this. Save yourself the headache and find another anatomy book to cross reference with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Suppliment for General Anatomy Book, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
I have the Netter's anatomy as well, but this book puts more clinical context into the anatomy and (frankly) is able to "dumb" some of the diagrams down a little, such that they are a little less overwhelming. For example: when you're studying something for the respiratory block, it will be more specific to what you're supposed to know (at least at my school, in the first year).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOPE, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
Not a great book. Pictures and diagrams are subpar at best, I would not recommend buying this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Essential" has the exact level of detail..., May 22, 2010
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This is just the right level of detail...and it has the added benefit of being able to actually be carried around because of it's thoughtful layout and organization. Have your local printer put a spiral binding on it and along with FA4S1 (First Aid for Step One) carry it everywhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, December 29, 2012
By 
K. Mayo (Lynchburg, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
We used this for basic anatomy class. Loved the book as it was more detailed then we needed, but gave me insight on what was to come in later classes. I decided to keep the book and not sell it back as I felt it would be a great reference. I especially liked the blue boxes with clinical correlations to connect the class to real life medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As described, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition (Paperback)
This book is a great, concise resource as compared to the Moore's anatomy book. It will be very helpful for MSK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having never read "Clinically Oriented Anatomy," I can't confirm whether or not this book was largely taken from that. It does feel like it was cut down from something else, however, and not in a good way; some parts of the text just don't flow very well. This book may point you towards the "essentials," but at times, it is so confusing that you might want to consider using a different text as your main one.

Despite its prose format, it often reads like bulletpoints, perhaps due to the effort to condense it.

The images can be a little rough. I don't mean the fact that they are like cartoons, but that the lines aren't always very sharp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition
Essential Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition by A. M. R. Agur (Paperback - January 8, 2010)
Used & New from: $6.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.