Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential is right
Sure, there are more than a few Elvis anthologies out there and, yes, there is nothing on this set that isn't readily available on a few hundred other compilations, but this one is noteworthy in its own way, and a great collection as well. Focusing less on hits than on great performances, "Essential Elvis" gathers a handful of Sun sides, the best of his early RCA output...
Published on January 6, 2007 by R. Riis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Everyone should have one Elvis CD. This is the one I bought.
Published 2 months ago by Gene StJohn


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential is right, January 6, 2007
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
Sure, there are more than a few Elvis anthologies out there and, yes, there is nothing on this set that isn't readily available on a few hundred other compilations, but this one is noteworthy in its own way, and a great collection as well. Focusing less on hits than on great performances, "Essential Elvis" gathers a handful of Sun sides, the best of his early RCA output and acclaimed sides from throughout his career. You get the best of Elvis' many hits as well as critically-acclaimed album tracks ("Reconsider Baby", "Trouble", the live "Polk Salad Annie"), and that, for once, is a unique concept in Elvis reissues. Everyone will have differing opinions on what should or shouldn't have been included, and tob sure sure some great tracks have been left out, but this is a whale of a great collection of "essential" Elvis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, September 8, 2008
By 
PhillyB "Mr. B Music Lover" (Glen Allen, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good CD to buy. Remastering is great, the third disc is a nice addition. Everyone knows the songs, you may have them, but this is a very well mastered CD and if you have the older Elvis stuff from the 80's-90's this will be a jaw dropping improvement over the poorly mastered RCA days. Avoid all of them!

Good job Sony Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Music From The Best, January 2, 2007
By 
David L. Banes "D.L.BANES" (McEwen, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
If you were stranded on an island and could only take one Elvis cd with you this would be the perfect one.There is not a bad song on this cd and it is a good and pleasant listening mix of all of his music.You get the blues,rock,rockabilly,gospel,movies,and some live concert music.One of the best arrangements of songs of all the cds that have been released since his untimely death.If you grew up listening to Elvis music it will bring back so many memories and if you are just getting acquainted with his music you will be pleased and will build happy memories.Not a bad price.Buy it,play it once and you will not want to play anything else for a long time.You will be hooked.This cd brings to mind what all the fuss was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GIANT OF AN ENTERTAINER SINGS ALL FABULOUS SONGS WITH OUTSTANDING SOUND QUALITY, February 16, 2011
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
It takes a GIANT of an entertainer to create a two cd set that is filled with all fabulous songs. Elvis Presley stands so distinctively above all other popular music vocalists that such an all fabulous songs cd set is exactly what you find in The Essential Elvis Presley. If anything, The Essential Elvis Presley is an understatement of Elvis' unmatched and enduring musical legacy. It would have been possible to extend The Essential Elvis Presley to four song-packed cds and these four cds would have still contained all fabulous Elvis' songs. I own and am familiar with about 80 of Elvis' best cds and cd sets, so I know what I'm talking about. Elvis Presley still remains and probably will always be the KING of Rock N Roll, rhythm and blues music, and slower romantic ballads. The Essential Elvis Presley does a very thoughtful job of selecting 40 songs to include in this two cd set. I am especially pleased that the song selection included Fever, Steamroller Blues, Can't Help Falling In Love, Peace In The Valley, Reconsider Baby, and the original, not the remixed version of, A Little Less Conversation. I am disappointed that Any Way You Want Me, One Broken Heart For Sale. and Ask Me were not included. The remastered version of Reconsider Baby emerges on The Essential Elvis Presley as perhaps the best rhythm and blues song that Elvis ever recorded! The song selection also does an excellent job of sampling Elvis' songs across his entire singing career; from the beginning to the end of Elvis' singing career. All of the songs have been remastered so the sound quality of The Essential Elvis Presley is outstanding. It makes perfect sense that anyone who is an ultimate fan of Elvis Presley, as I am, should purchase, or more likely re-purchase, his/her favorite Elvis' music in remastered form, because one can then best hear and appreciate the greatest beauty of Elvis' fabulous music. The Essential Elvis Presley should be a MUST BUY cd for every true fan of Elvis Presley; it has my strongest positive recommendation.

John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the 3.0 limited edition, January 19, 2009
By 
ebinrock (Leander, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
I looked all over for a CD set that would have darn near every hit of Elvis', and this seems to be it (better than the "official" "Elvis #1 Hits", as that one for some reason doesn't have "Viva Las Vegas" (!?)).But, get the 3.0 edition of this (golden cover, eco-friendly cardboard packaging), because that has a third disc with "Let Me Be Your Teddy Bear", among others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Sound Quality, November 19, 2009
I bought this cd for the price (3 cds for $15!) BUT was floored by the sound...I really didn't expect much of an improvement and was very surprised. Gives the remastered Beatles a run for the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, December 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
This CD has all or most all of Elvis's hits from the early days to later days. The sound quality and mix was very good and up to modern standards.
Listening to it took me back to my youth when I remember Elvis performing Hound Dog on the Ed Sullivan show - If anyone is old enough to remember that on this website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud, January 5, 2007
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
This CD has essential songs in it, but of course there were several that were left off. "Hitstory" is still the recommended compilation. Actually "24 Karat HIts," but that CD is very rare and out of print. The first disc has only 20 songs and clocks in at less than an hour! It is also loud, so it does not seem natural, but this is DSD remastered by Vic Anesini and special thanks to Kevan Budd. I think they used their own remasters from their previous discs, combined them for this release, and tweaked the volume so they match. It's still a recommended purchase for completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars + 1/2 stars...A First-Rate Collection for the Casual Fan, January 4, 2007
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
Without question, Elvis has been the most anthologized artist in the nearly thirty years since his death. So how is this collection different from the others? The short answer is--nothing. If you're a die-hard fan, there's no reason to buy this. But that's not true for the casual fan who's looking for a comprehensive overview of perhaps the most influential performer of the 20th Century.

This mid-priced two-disc collection covers every aspects of Elvis's career, beginning with his first Sun single "That's All Right" through the 1977 single "Moody Blue," which topped the country chart just months before his death. In between are hits from every stage of his career--50's rock 'n' roll classics like "Hound Dog," movie hits like the million-seller "Viva Las Vegas" and comeback hits like "Suspicious Minds" (his first No. 1 in more than seven years!).

Sure, there are missing tracks (including nine No. 1's, like "(Let Me Be Your)Teddy Bear," "Stuck on You" and "Good Luck Charm"), but for the casual fan who only wants one anthology in their collection this works nicely. However, with a total playing time of less than two hours, it could have been more inclusive. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always the King, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
There's only one King in America and that was Elvis. He was a true artist that conquer rock, pop and religion music. This collection has many of his best hits. I was very happy with the collection the studio made for this Double cd. Its a must have. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essential Elvis Presley
Essential Elvis Presley by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.