Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 6, 2007
Sure, there are more than a few Elvis anthologies out there and, yes, there is nothing on this set that isn't readily available on a few hundred other compilations, but this one is noteworthy in its own way, and a great collection as well. Focusing less on hits than on great performances, "Essential Elvis" gathers a handful of Sun sides, the best of his early RCA output and acclaimed sides from throughout his career. You get the best of Elvis' many hits as well as critically-acclaimed album tracks ("Reconsider Baby", "Trouble", the live "Polk Salad Annie"), and that, for once, is a unique concept in Elvis reissues. Everyone will have differing opinions on what should or shouldn't have been included, and tob sure sure some great tracks have been left out, but this is a whale of a great collection of "essential" Elvis.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2008
Good CD to buy. Remastering is great, the third disc is a nice addition. Everyone knows the songs, you may have them, but this is a very well mastered CD and if you have the older Elvis stuff from the 80's-90's this will be a jaw dropping improvement over the poorly mastered RCA days. Avoid all of them!

Good job Sony Music.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2007
If you were stranded on an island and could only take one Elvis cd with you this would be the perfect one.There is not a bad song on this cd and it is a good and pleasant listening mix of all of his music.You get the blues,rock,rockabilly,gospel,movies,and some live concert music.One of the best arrangements of songs of all the cds that have been released since his untimely death.If you grew up listening to Elvis music it will bring back so many memories and if you are just getting acquainted with his music you will be pleased and will build happy memories.Not a bad price.Buy it,play it once and you will not want to play anything else for a long time.You will be hooked.This cd brings to mind what all the fuss was about.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2011
It takes a GIANT of an entertainer to create a two cd set that is filled with all fabulous songs. Elvis Presley stands so distinctively above all other popular music vocalists that such an all fabulous songs cd set is exactly what you find in The Essential Elvis Presley. If anything, The Essential Elvis Presley is an understatement of Elvis' unmatched and enduring musical legacy. It would have been possible to extend The Essential Elvis Presley to four song-packed cds and these four cds would have still contained all fabulous Elvis' songs. I own and am familiar with about 80 of Elvis' best cds and cd sets, so I know what I'm talking about. Elvis Presley still remains and probably will always be the KING of Rock N Roll, rhythm and blues music, and slower romantic ballads. The Essential Elvis Presley does a very thoughtful job of selecting 40 songs to include in this two cd set. I am especially pleased that the song selection included Fever, Steamroller Blues, Can't Help Falling In Love, Peace In The Valley, Reconsider Baby, and the original, not the remixed version of, A Little Less Conversation. I am disappointed that Any Way You Want Me, One Broken Heart For Sale. and Ask Me were not included. The remastered version of Reconsider Baby emerges on The Essential Elvis Presley as perhaps the best rhythm and blues song that Elvis ever recorded! The song selection also does an excellent job of sampling Elvis' songs across his entire singing career; from the beginning to the end of Elvis' singing career. All of the songs have been remastered so the sound quality of The Essential Elvis Presley is outstanding. It makes perfect sense that anyone who is an ultimate fan of Elvis Presley, as I am, should purchase, or more likely re-purchase, his/her favorite Elvis' music in remastered form, because one can then best hear and appreciate the greatest beauty of Elvis' fabulous music. The Essential Elvis Presley should be a MUST BUY cd for every true fan of Elvis Presley; it has my strongest positive recommendation.

John
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2009
I looked all over for a CD set that would have darn near every hit of Elvis', and this seems to be it (better than the "official" "Elvis #1 Hits", as that one for some reason doesn't have "Viva Las Vegas" (!?)).But, get the 3.0 edition of this (golden cover, eco-friendly cardboard packaging), because that has a third disc with "Let Me Be Your Teddy Bear", among others.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2009
I bought this cd for the price (3 cds for $15!) BUT was floored by the sound...I really didn't expect much of an improvement and was very surprised. Gives the remastered Beatles a run for the money!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2007
This CD has all or most all of Elvis's hits from the early days to later days. The sound quality and mix was very good and up to modern standards.
Listening to it took me back to my youth when I remember Elvis performing Hound Dog on the Ed Sullivan show - If anyone is old enough to remember that on this website.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2007
This CD has essential songs in it, but of course there were several that were left off. "Hitstory" is still the recommended compilation. Actually "24 Karat HIts," but that CD is very rare and out of print. The first disc has only 20 songs and clocks in at less than an hour! It is also loud, so it does not seem natural, but this is DSD remastered by Vic Anesini and special thanks to Kevan Budd. I think they used their own remasters from their previous discs, combined them for this release, and tweaked the volume so they match. It's still a recommended purchase for completists.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
This Essential 3.0 edition is the best multi-disc, non-box-set Elvis retrospective on the market. While it does not contain every Elvis hit, it does offer a good overview of his career, from the early Sun Records sides to the title track of his last album, Moody Blue. The bonus disc includes eight additional songs, including "(Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear." The only flaw in this compilation, which is shared with several other Elvis collections, is that it contains the "raw" version of "The Wonder Of You," complete with The Sweet Inspirations' squeaky background vocals. The "repaired" single version of the song is available on Disc 1 of Walk a Mile in My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters and on the remastered Elvis: On Stage CD.

If you want more than a single-disc collection, but cannot afford a box set, such as Elvis 75: Good Rockin' Tonight or the recently issued The RCA Albums Collection, THE ESSENTIAL ELVIS PRESLEY 3.0 is the one for you. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
There's only one King in America and that was Elvis. He was a true artist that conquer rock, pop and religion music. This collection has many of his best hits. I was very happy with the collection the studio made for this Double cd. Its a must have. Buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.