Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding CSS design coverage
The CSS and HTML Web Design book builds on the excellent earlier title by the same author. The new book is larger, it contains more examples; a lot of the examples are presented in a step-by-step manner. The new examples overall are trickier than old examples which, for better or worse, tended to gravitate towards the academic side of web design rather than real life...
Published on December 26, 2007 by John Woods

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's the target audience?
This book frustrates me. I don't understand for whom it was written. It is NOT beginner-friendly (you'd have to be autistic or have a coding-oriented mind with lots of buffer-space to find this a good platform for starting web design). It launches right in with CSS before really communicating what HTML is and how the HTML for a web page typically flows. It continues this...
Published on May 8, 2012 by R. Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding CSS design coverage, December 26, 2007
By 
John Woods "TObject" (San Diego, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
The CSS and HTML Web Design book builds on the excellent earlier title by the same author. The new book is larger, it contains more examples; a lot of the examples are presented in a step-by-step manner. The new examples overall are trickier than old examples which, for better or worse, tended to gravitate towards the academic side of web design rather than real life requirements often imposed upon website builders.

After general introductions, the main sections of this book consist of chapters dedicated to styling text, images, navigation, tables, page layouts, forms, and putting everything together when building complete websites. A special place in the book takes the chapter on dealing with browser quirks. This is a very important chapter that teaches how to deal with browser compatibility issues; it is especially relevant as some of the examples from other chapters do not work as expected in Internet Explorer versions 6 or earlier.

At the core of this book are HTML/XHTML and Cascading Style Sheets (CSS), but the author also takes dives into various web technologies such as mail form scripts, PHP, JavaScript, and even mentions Ruby On Rails. There is practically no information on ASP.NET, but the web design lessons from this book are applicable to any server technology.

The book appendix contains handy references of most important XHTML and CSS elements and attributes, character encoding tables, web color guide, and information on browsers and recommended software.

The CSS and HTML Web Design is an excellent title containing a wealth of information useful to website designers of any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent css/html design guide, February 25, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
The author promises this book is different. I suppose it is, thanks to the author's friendly and comprehensive approach to the material. This is a surprisingly complete guide for beginning and intermediate CSS designers with a lot of useful answers to practical design problems. For instance, many books discuss how to write a form, but this book tells you how to write a mail form, including the fact that the form won't do anything without script support and where to find that support. It's that level of detail that sets this book apart.

As one would expect, the author begins with the basics, discussing CSS and its benefits. Then, he talks about typography and working with type before moving on to images. He even includes a brief discussion of color theory. He shows how to display random images using both JavaScript and PHP and provides an exhaustive discussion of links and navigation, including some discussion of accessibility. Of course, he discusses tables and the box model before moving on to forms and page testing. He has a coherent discussion of IE issues and using conditionals to call version-specific style sheets. He moves on to discuss creation of an online storefront and business websites, ending with useful XHTML, entities, and CSS references. The book is over 500 pages with many code examples.

I'm sure there are advanced designers who don't need this book; but for the beginner, this book is an excellent place to start. For the intermediate designer, this is a very good reference. I really like Stylin' with CSS: A Designer's Guide (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) for the author's presentation of information and the book's attractive physical design; but if I am objective and fair, Craig Grannell's "Essential Guide" is the better book. Grannell supplies more information in greater depth over the entire span of CSS design. So, beginning and intermediate designers who buy this book will not be disappointed. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide for web design, February 22, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
It's a very good guide for people who haven't done any graphical background. A good intermediate level of XHTML and CSS. Not for experienced designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tool to go from Transitional to Strict, March 12, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
Craig Grinnell's book is excellent and helpful in any sense. If you want to really dive into CSS and HTML and how to structure a website according to standards this is the book to buy. The book is well organized; the text is smooth and the information valuable. This is a book I am relying on to enhance my ability to structure websites and it is working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Covers topics that other books leave out, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
This is one book on my shelf that covers key topics that are completely left out by other authors. I can tell that Craig is building websites out there in the real world because he's going straight to the heart of what clients are asking for. I have read other great books which teach the basics of XHTML & CSS. Those books give you a basic understanding that set you up for a book like this. When I get out to meet clients they'll inevitably request things like an online photo gallery or may require a complex multi-column navigation system that I am easily able to build because of this book. I literally go straight to the section, type the code and the website has the feature. What I have found with other books is that they taught me the basics so that I know how to hand code with confidence. However I won't be winning any design awards and I haven't found some of the sophisticated features that clients demand in any other book. The chapter that covers navigation is the best I've come across. It covers how to code each of the navigation types, including the drop-down and multi-column types similar to the one here on Amazon.
This book is a perfect combination of the XHTML, CSS & Javascript knowledge that works in the real world of web design. If you have no idea how to go about building a drop down menu or can't find reliable information about how to build a cool web gallery then look no further. Absolute beginners should start with a simpler book that covers the raw basics of XHTML & CSS, and there's several out there on the market. Once you're ready to take on your first round of clients you'll find this book is invaluable for adding the more sophisticated features that your clients will require. Hope there's an updated edition on the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential AND informative, January 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
This book is one of the best web page design books I've used. Not only does it tell you how do get things done, it will explain multiple ways of getting the same result and the pros and cons of each way. It explains why to design your website using xhtml strict instead of any other form, but still lets you know how to go about using the other doctypes. It explains the correct way to use tables, manipulate images, and format your text. The author goes into a great amount of detail in an easy-to-read way so that you aren't overwhelmed even if you have no idea what you've gotten yourself into. I have benefited from it greatly, and would recommend it to any beginner web-page designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Who's the target audience?, May 8, 2012
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
This book frustrates me. I don't understand for whom it was written. It is NOT beginner-friendly (you'd have to be autistic or have a coding-oriented mind with lots of buffer-space to find this a good platform for starting web design). It launches right in with CSS before really communicating what HTML is and how the HTML for a web page typically flows. It continues this way, page after page, with examples provided that display code previously unintroduced to the reader. Anyone not already familiar with HTML and CSS would probably feel like a deer in the headlights by about, oh, page 20. And it's not organized in a way that makes it a useful reference for those already familiar with the code, either. The linear approach the author takes of throwing multiple subject-areas into the same chapter together means that quickly referencing a particular content element before or after actually reading through the book becomes very difficult. You'll have to comb through the nine-page table of contents to see where that one CSS example was placed. This really is a worst-of-both-worlds attempt; it reads like an irate and impatient college professor listing off a litany of information in no particular useful order. Anything I've learned from this book so far has been in *spite* of the author's best (worst) efforts to the contrary.

Funny, too - the author goes to pains to emphasize web usability, but the book is an exercise in poor print usability. The text is claustrophobically single-spaced, and many examples are separated from their parent content paragraphs by only a line of white space. This makes the text of the book hard to read and the examples very difficult to pick out at a glance; quickly referencing an example on a page earlier in the chapter, as a reader is often wont to do, is aggravatingly hard. This book should have been more concise and better-presented. Instead, it's crammed with information, which it then doesn't help you to reference easily. It gets two stars for at least being comprehensive. I'm glad I merely borrowed this book from the library instead of buying it. I recommend you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, useful, December 26, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
I just got this book about a month ago. I have a basic knowledge already of CSS and HTML but I wanted to make sure I was doing it correctly and needed more explanation on some things and just wanted to really understand the coding more so I didn't have to rely so much on dreamweaver/photoshop to write most of it for me. I think that this book is great, especially for hands on learning. There is a folder you can download on the internet that contains documents for the exercises in the book. For every section there are exercises you can do to learn all the different parts of css and can see what everything does as far as navigation, type, lists etc etc. I think the author is very easy to understand and very thorough. Overall I think it is definitely one of the more useful ones and will make sure to teach you how to do CSS and XHTML correctly to avoid errors in different platforms/browsers and to ensure compatibility across the board. Great book. Really enjoyed it and recommend even if you're knowledge level is very little. Although if you have never worked with css and html before it might be a little much too fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Recommended Book on Web Design with CSS/HTML, November 19, 2008
By 
P. Bruno (Montrťal, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
One good book, straight to the point and yet easy to understand. The author certainly exhibits some strong pedagogical skills and he does a fantastic job at integrating various technologies under one roof. Each of the ten chapters and six appendices focus on one aspect and is illustrated by lots of practical examples that could be reused almost as is in your own projects. The author's decision to avoid any reference to web design applications is a smart one. Not only does it allow him to focus on the very foundations of web design but also to be relevant to a wider audience, both in terms of platform and level. With lots of tips, plenty of warnings, and an emphasis on standards and industry best practices, this book is like having a private web design instructor. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars web designing with css, June 22, 2008
This review is from: The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) (Paperback)
Excellent book, after reading and experimenting with css I have been able to convert a site to use css. Did not know anything about css until this book. Gives great insite to web design using css. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials)
The Essential Guide to CSS and HTML Web Design (Essentials) by Craig Grannell (Paperback - November 10, 2007)
$34.99 $17.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.