Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In depth information and research
Dr. Young presents a thorough overview of research on a wide variety of essential oils. He also presents a good bit of practical information on using these powerhouses of healing. This is a reference anyone serious about alternative medicine should have in their library.
The first chapter concentrates on essential oils as the missing link in modern medicine. This is...
Published on December 3, 2003 by Maryann Marshall

versus
99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !
The majority of the information in this large book is already published in this authors EODR: Essential Oil Desk Reference. Very little new information and thus it should have been printed in a small volume or pamphlet as an addendum to the EODR. Much better to spend your money on the origianl and very valuable reference manual (the EODR) for all those using the Young...
Published on January 31, 2006 by RavenEye Vision


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In depth information and research, December 3, 2003
By 
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
Dr. Young presents a thorough overview of research on a wide variety of essential oils. He also presents a good bit of practical information on using these powerhouses of healing. This is a reference anyone serious about alternative medicine should have in their library.
The first chapter concentrates on essential oils as the missing link in modern medicine. This is a theme that Dr. Young returns to again and again in his writings. He feels that the integration of essential oils in any mode of medicine stands to bring deeper levels of healing than we currently see. He speaks of the ancient secrets which are being rediscovered by modern science. At the end of this chapter, he chronicles his own search for this informaion.
The nitty gritty of how these oils affect the human body is the subject of the second and third chapters. He covers topics ranging from the chemistry involved to the actual physiological and emotional effects of the oils. the chapter also includes a greaat deal of information on different grades of oils and their proper uses.
Chapters 4 and 5 detail production and safe use of essential oils.
The next three chapters give details on individual and blends of essential ois and their products. This is one of the real strengths of this book due to the care and detail Dr. Young provides.
The rest of the book is the part that makes it worth what we pay for it. There is a wealth of practical information on techniquest for the use of these oils. He winds up this impressive work with an extensive list of references backing up the information provided in the rest of the book. This is followed by more than a dozen appendicies containing specific details analyzing many aspects of the issues he has raised throughout the book.
The book is aimed at medical professionals, for which I highly recommend it. But it is a useful resource for the lay person who wants to be able to speak with medical professinals about using essential oils as part of their practices in order to restore fully te health of their patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have for your reference library, December 13, 2004
By 
nora zabowski "truthfinder" (sterling heights, mi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
I recently purchased this book and ohhhhhh, what a find! So much wonderful information here. It starts with the basics of Essential Oils (E.O.), the writing is interesting and to the point without dragging you along. Theres a chapter on hormones, how they work and effect the body and how e.o.'s play into it. Theres a whole section with nothing but ailments listed alphabetically, what is entailed with the ailment, and what e.o. to use, best route to use it, eg. inhalation,topically with carrier oil, topically without an oil ( which is 'NEAT'), or by ingestion, and how often to apply/inhale, which 'single' or 'blended' oils to use. Another chapter listing the oils alphabetically and what they're best used for, so makes a nice cross-reference and tons more stuff. I think this book is informational even if you're not all that interested in e.o.'s, and a definate thumbs up if you are...enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 105 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !, January 31, 2006
By 
RavenEye Vision (Anderson, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
The majority of the information in this large book is already published in this authors EODR: Essential Oil Desk Reference. Very little new information and thus it should have been printed in a small volume or pamphlet as an addendum to the EODR. Much better to spend your money on the origianl and very valuable reference manual (the EODR) for all those using the Young Living Essential Oils. Only the "true believers" and followers can or will use this current volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST essential oil book out there!, January 11, 2007
By 
kre8iv1 (Fort Wayne, IN) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
This book is written by the founder of Young Living Essential Oils, Gary Young. However, it is NOT "brand specific" information. It includes scientific information about essential oils, but better yet ... it tells you which oil(s) to use for specific maladies!

For instance, I have a mole on my face and do NOT want to have it surgically removed. I consulted this book, and found the recommendation to use Oregano oil on it. I have been using the oil on it for almost one week, and have started to see a change in the look and feel of the mole. NOTHING I have tried over the years has done this for it!

(as of 10/01/07: I have been using the Oregano oil on my moles for a while now. I have very fair skin, and am allergic/sensitive to many things. This oil is no exception. I CANNOT put the oil on my moles every day. I have to put it on maybe every 3 or 4 days. The skin around the moles becomes red and itchy. Also, the moles tend to ooze clear liquid. Be careful with the oils and USE THEM AS DIRECTED!! So far about 3/4 of my largest mole is GONE. By using the oil approx. 1x per week I have dissolved the moles by a significant amount, and the dark color is either gone or much lighter!)

The book is easy to use, very informative, and I consult it almost daily for advice. I give it 2 thumbs and 2 toes up! Excellent reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source for Novice and Expert, February 25, 2006
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
This is a well written, easily understood resource for anyone interested in essential oils and their uses. I bought this book after reading an article in a magazine by the author. I have since bought a couple of other essential oil books and looked at others at a bookstore and none of them came close to providing the usable information that this book does. If you are interested in this subject, don't waste your money on other books, this one has everything you need to better your health in a safe, natural way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful reference guide - packed with useful information, January 15, 2006
By 
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
I first purchased this book for myself and gave that copy to my grandson. I missed it so much that I purchased another copy for myself. It has more useful information than any other book I have reviewed or read on essential oils and the use of them.

I am not a Young Living customer, so I am not trying to push the book - I am simply truly sold on this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, Unique and Thorough, October 12, 2008
By 
C. Hawke "oldmoviequeen" (Farmington, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
I purchased this book based upon its review in another book, "The Chemistry of Essential Oils, Made Simple," which is an exhausting review of the subject and excellent in scientific detail. This book being reviewed today is by Mr. Young and an excellent reference source, written in primarily laymen terms, encompassing both basic scientific knowledge regarding essential oils and the romance/lore of essential oil useage. The raindrop technique spelled out in this book can be used in greater moderation by using less essential oil and not applying it neat. I tried this therapy on my husband but diluted the oils about 50/50 because his exposure to neat essential oil is minimal. This created a most relaxing and enjoyable massage that he benefited from for several days thereafter. Moreover, the procedure as the laymen practitioner in my case, removed all the pain in both my hands for several days. The more exposure to these wondrous oils you have, used with caution and intelligence, based upon the medical/scientific recommendations, the more they integrate with your body and work, truly, like medicines without side effects. I have been using essential oils for about four years and would never wish to be without them. There are many books available about essential oils, most of them from a laymen practitioner point of view. They sound to the trained scientific mind like quackery. The two books mentioned in this review, especially the first, would certainly challenge any scientific mind and give cause for deliberate thought. I do recommend todays reviewed book, I also recommend that those with very scientific minds consider the data provided by itself and the mind/body connections referred to, at a later time when this information is better substantiated. For those who consider themselves laymen practitioners, the mind/body lore will prove highly useful information since many "recipes" for specific conditions are provided. I would venture as far as to state that this is one of the "essential" essential oil reference manuals I have read and utilized to date. If you have never used essential oils, I urge you to read several of the most popular books on the subject before using them (authoress Worwood is recommended) or to do so under the tutelage of a well versed laymen/practitioner so that you may acquire a gradual exposure to highly diluted essential oils of pure quality before attempting to use any of them "neat." The quality of the oils you obtain will be as crucial as how you use them. This, too, requires in depth study and analysis of HOW the oils are produced and packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The facts and powers of essential oils, October 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
I have learned so much and I still am. I am amazed,in absolute awe on how potent and powerful the healing properties of PURE essential oils are. The frequencies of our bodies have the same frequencies as the blood of the plants so it can be immediately absorbed into our cells! These researched PURE oils have a huge significant impact on our well being and health.

This book is extremely valuable and should be in every home that would like to learn a new and healthier way of living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it looks, October 8, 2005
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
The book should cost not more then $20 based on the information contained. Much of the information is either watered down or appears in his first book. Needless to say I was not impressed with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide, February 12, 2012
By 
Deborah J. Roe (Ponderay, ID USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Integrative Medical Guide: Building Immunity, Increasing Longevity, and Enhancing Mental Performance With Therapeutic-Grade Essential Oils (Hardcover)
This is a well written and easy to understand guide in the use of essential oils. Listing the oils and their beneficial uses and their application. Also the history of oils and their uses is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.