Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars28
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$15.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

102 of 102 people found the following review helpful
on December 15, 2000
This is an excellent beginner book on sushi. And if you are a visual person, the photography and design of the book are first rate. I would recommend it highly as a "coffee table" book and as a place to start learning to make sushi.
It starts with a useful dictionary like selection with photos that identifies many basic tools and ingredients. Then gives tips on selecting fish. Something I really appreciated was just one standard way of preparing a whole fish. Most other books duplicate fish preparation for the endless nigiri types, but are grossly incomplete for beginner. Besides, I'll suggest that the average person isn't even going to find these "exotic" fish at a local market. Many types of fish have extremely limited availability and can be expensive. Most will likely buy portions of raw fish that is (probably frozen and) preprepared from an Asian market. Fortunately though, once you get the basic tools and ingredients from an Asian market, many basic types of sushi in this book can be made from seafood or vegetables that can be found at any Grocery Store.
This book has ample photographs for each step in preparation of various "rolled" (maki) sushi including reverse rolls, and also for nigiri preparation. Another noted standout in this book are the exposure to ideas for making sushi out of vegetables, a special plus for those with limited taste for raw fish. This book describes tamago, inari, chirashi, gunkan sushi as well as ideas for garnishes and also has a few basic soup recipes.
Sushi is not difficult to make, but it does take practice to get the hang of it. If you really are into it, no book of this type is going to tell you everything. However, each will give new ideas if the "art" of sushi preparation interests you. To really learn to make a full meal that looks attractive and tasty, you will eventually want some 3" thick book on Japanese Cooking, though after you are comfortable with the basics. I can't recommend a better place to start than here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
64 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on July 17, 2001
This is a great book for a sushi beginner, such as myself. It simply provides you with all of the essential information to begin making sushi at home. The book doesn't go into a lot of depth on each subject, rather providing the reader with a solid foundation to begin exploring the world of sushi. The book covers: Sushi ingredients, history, etiquette, terminology, decoration, some basic fish filleting, a little sashimi, some soups and most importantly the sushi! It guides you though the basic types of sushi with large, step-by-step photographic instructions on how to form it. And each type of sushi has many variations to try out. You'll be pulling off inside-out California rolls in no time! Another plus is the design. This is one good looking book. Nice, full-page photographs help to reinforce the importance of aesthetics in sushi preparation and the cover is suitable for any coffee table. Pair it up with a sister book such as 'Sashimi' - by Hideo Dekura, or any of the other 'Essential Kitchen Series' books (same beautiful design) and you'll have a very attractive cookbook selection. Search for 'Essential Kitchen Series' to see what I mean. I was impressed, anyway. Great book, get it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2000
This book is the start of something beautiful if you love sushi. Tried it at the restaurant but would love to save money and have fun by making your own? This book gives you the start you need. It covers all the basics; ingredients and their selection, techniques and style points of this artistic food. If you are in a city with a japanese market or have online access to the ingredients then this book will show you how to tastefully employ them!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on August 6, 1999
This book is a good starter for those who are interested in making sushi at home. "Sushi" also has very attractive photography, so it can also double as a coffee table book. I would recommend it, although I'm not certain if the book contains enough information about selecting fresh fish for sushi, since it is really dangerous to eat any raw fish that isn't absolutely fresh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2004
Excellent book for beginners who want to know more about making Sushi. Nicely laid out with step-by-step instructions and lots of beautiful photos to complement the text. Easy to read and follow - I read it in a couple hours. May be too "simple" for those who've already made sushi.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2002
This was a good cookbook that covered the basics of making sushi. Things like equipment & utensils to use, ingredients explanations, how to fillet fish, cleaning squid, etc. There were a few creative ideas but for a creative sushi display but not for unique sushi rolls. Buying this book used and adding to your collection would be worth spending the money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on April 12, 2001
I knew that good ole Amazon will come to my rescue with reasonable prices for a fabulous book. The hardcover book of 111 pages is chock a block full of colour illustrations (something that I am happy to see extending into many of today's newly published cookbooks) that allow the reader not only to learn how to make sushi but also see the presentation UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL. Although this book is not an encyclopedia of the sushi fare it is what the title suggests the essential sushi. It was really great to see that chef Yoshii describes making the classic Tuna rolls using Japanses techique of putting a pich of wasabi in the roll rather than an Americanized version that contains no wasabi. I mean I can't believe some of the new yuppie sushi restaurants cropping up and dumbing down a fabulous Japanese dish! This is a must have book for your kitchen and willsave you a tuna roll of money if you have a sushi dinner party at homein the classic Japanese style ....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2006
As a complete sushi-making newbie, I was hoping to find a book that would walk me through, step-by-step, the process of making sushi, preferably with lots of illustrations to help me along. This book is that, and then some: with gorgeous, colorful photography, this cookbook is practically a coffee-table book as well. It may not make you an instant expert (it's harder than it looks!), but it will definitely inspire you to get in your kitchen and give it a try! The book was a bit thinner than I expected (yes, I know, I should have read the specs) and the hand roll technique could have been explained a little better, but it is fairly complete, covering fish preparation, basic rice and variations, rolls, "getting creative", soups, and garnishes, as well as serving and presentation tips - everything you need to create a delicious sushi meal at home. Over all, an excellent buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
I bought this book and absolutely LOVE it! It's such a great book to pull off the shelf and immediately get inspired from the photos. Also, it is very well-edited with neato information on the background of sushi, but not so much that you're reading a novel. The recipes are easy to follow and seem to be a one-trip-to-any-grocery-store and in my case, I only have a Hmong grocery store in my town and they don't have sushi wraps or miso, so I'm outta luck if the book had hard-to-find ingredients!!!!! I find the recipes very accessible and easy to follow and great pictures, too they. I'd definitely buy this book to put in a gift basket for my friends with a few sushi-making supplies for a classy, gorgeous gift that they would remember forever!!! The book itself is GORGEOUS and i may just buy one for a friend of mine and tie some chopsticks to it with a pretty ribbon!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2009
Not only does this book provide the basic tools, food ingredients, types of fishes, and basic techniques that is displayed them in an easy to read manner with beautiful pictures. This book also provides a little history about how sushi nigiri should be dipped in soy sauce with top side down, when to use more or less wasabi, and what's great is at the back of the book, it provides exact measurements of how much sushi rice to cook to accommodate how many type of rolls per person!

This is a must have for those interested in making their own homemade sushi!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Complete Book of Sushi
The Complete Book of Sushi by Ryuichi Yoshii (Hardcover - September 15, 2004)

Sushi: Taste and Techniques
Sushi: Taste and Techniques by Kimiko Barber (Hardcover - September 1, 2002)

Sushi: The Beginner's Guide
Sushi: The Beginner's Guide by Aya Imatani (Hardcover - August 1, 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.