Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You also need the 3rd edition for the cancer protocols
This book is an essential Essential Oils reference.

Beware, however, that the 4th edition has dropped the cancer protocols that were in the 3rd edition (possibly due to government pressure).

The 4th edition does contain some updated information, especially in the areas of the newer blends of oils and newer products. It also has more illustrations in...
Published on May 18, 2009 by David Diamond

versus
76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE - YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED
Please don't let the title fool you - I LOVE THIS BOOK. It is an excellent reference, one I highly recommend.

I could only give this item one star because of the price. If I could have given zero stars, I would have done so.

What I object to is that you can get this SAME BOOK directly from the publisher for $50. Yet Amazon sellers are advertising...
Published on October 1, 2009 by Julia K. Dollahite


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You also need the 3rd edition for the cancer protocols, May 18, 2009
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
This book is an essential Essential Oils reference.

Beware, however, that the 4th edition has dropped the cancer protocols that were in the 3rd edition (possibly due to government pressure).

The 4th edition does contain some updated information, especially in the areas of the newer blends of oils and newer products. It also has more illustrations in color.

But you also need the 3rd edition in order to have a complete reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just a few little inconsistencies, December 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
This is a very good detailed reference book for the use of therapeutic grade essential oils. It has information you won't get from the manufacturers of essential oils who are trying to steer clear of the FDA. However, there are some inconsistencies. There is a list of medical properties and then a list of what the oil is used for. The association between the medical properties and uses is rather vague at times. For instance, Cassia is listed as being anti-inflammatory, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, anti-viral, and anti-coagulant, but first on the list of uses is cataracts??? Also, wintergreen oil is recommended to not be used internally, but is in several products that are used internally. I have yet to find a safety warning about the overuse of methyl salicylate, so while this is a good reference it is incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE - YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED, October 1, 2009
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
Please don't let the title fool you - I LOVE THIS BOOK. It is an excellent reference, one I highly recommend.

I could only give this item one star because of the price. If I could have given zero stars, I would have done so.

What I object to is that you can get this SAME BOOK directly from the publisher for $50. Yet Amazon sellers are advertising prices - for even USED BOOKS - at over $200!!! What is UP with THAT?!

I have purchased every edition of this book, because every year it is updated with new information about new products, new studies, etc. But the prices these scalpers are charging are ridiculous! For less than $75, I ordered the book AND a spiral bound pocket reference and the price INCLUDED shipping and tax. You could buy 2 complete books for what I paid for 1 + a pocket reference. If you buy this on Amazon, you are getting ripped. I'm disgusted that people would do this. Google Essential Science Publishing, you will find them located in Orem UT, and you can order directly from them. You don't do yourself or other Amazon shoppers any favors by purchasing here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 113 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer BEWARE: You can't judge this book by it's cover!, February 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
A recent purchase for clinical use, this book is nothing more than a thinly veiled product manual for a company called Young Living Essential Oils (YLEO), a pyramid sales structured business that also happens to churn out some good quality therapeutic oils.

I should have taken clue #1: no opportunity to browse the book online prior to purchase, or, clue #2: no listing for either an author or an editorial staff that may have culled an Essential Oil Desk Reference worthy of academic study and clinical application at more than a YLEO sales or personal use level.

While a brief discussion of basic essential oils information occurs in passing, the overwhelming balance (and emphasis) of the text is directed toward and devoted to the YLEO product line.

In addition, about 1/3 of the book addresses non-essential oil topics including detox diets, herbal supplements, and lifestyle recommendations all of which, brace yourself dear reader, also happen to include YLEO product recommendations.

If you are using YLEO, it's a great tool. If you are seeking a true reference tool, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Price - better for YL distributors and therapeutic practioners, November 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
This extensive 'encyclopedia' of Young living products(as opposed to oils in general) could use significant editing. Best for YL distributors & super enthusiasts, a simplified, straight forward version for the basic oil user would be much more helpful. The significantly discounted Amazon price and appendixes make it worthwhile for the casual customer such as myself. I do not give it as a gift, but let friends borrow it to look up a page or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Without This, October 9, 2008
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
This book is full of scientific information on the purity of essential oils and how to tell the difference between adulterated oils and pure therapeutic grade oils. It teaches the use of Young Living essential oils as following the French model of usage being that of ingestion, topical application and inhalation. Very safe guidelines for safe usage are well detailed so that anyone can teach themselves how to use them. This book covers subjects such as single oil data, oil blends, dietary supplements containing pure essential oils, the health benefits of Ningxia Red wolfberry juice, cleansing the body, hormonal balance, Raindrop massage technique, and there is a comprehensive section from A to Z on almost every health problem and how to use Young Living essential oils to help with these.

It is well written and claims are backed by research studies. I do not believe it would be wise to apply the information in this book to the use of oils other than Young Living's essential oils for reasons which will become obvious when studying the opening chapters about the importance of purity. This book should be used by all those who want nothing but the best information on how to use pure essential oils for complete health of mind and body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so so, January 2, 2010
By 
Tomakin (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
There is some good technical content and are some interesting points covered in the book - historical perspectives from Germany, UK, and France, recipes, application techniques, health, diet, references, etc. However, there is very little related to the chemistry of the oils themselves (3 whole pages), how they compare to each other, and how they effect the body - which is what I was most interested in.

Chapter 1 - 6 and chapter 30 and the appendix were all very good, but the rest of the book was not!

There is too much focus on a specific manufacturer's products and oil blends (chapter 7 is useless, and chapter 9 is 30 pages on Ningxia Wolfberry - not sure what that is even doing in a book callled Essential Oils Desk Reference) and this leads one to feel ripped off. I would have preferred no specific blend info and none of the unrelated content as I don't use these oils since I have a less expensive source for comparable quality essential oils.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Oils Desk Reference, 4th Edition, February 5, 2009
By 
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
If you are interest in Young Living Essential Oils, this is the book for you. It describes everything from how they are made, their link to modern medicine, the science behind them, what each oil can do, how to use them, and about all the products they make. It gives you so much information and knowledge about essential oils that I really couldn't find elsewhere.
Very pleased with the book and use it quite often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, June 13, 2008
By 
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
I have been using Young Living Essential Oils and products for several years. This book is a must for anyone who uses Young Living products. It is well written, easy to understand and offers a wealth of information as to how to best use the oils/products for a variety of health issues. It is especially helpful for someone just starting with the YL oils and is unsure of how to use them. An invaluable resource!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Detailed Reference, December 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Oils Desk Reference (Hardcover)
Over the past 2 years I have been on a quest for alternative health methods and practices which did not involve use or digestion of harmful chemicals. As I began to explore the use of essential oils I was turned on to this book by a Young Living Essential Oil consultant. I recently purchased this book and have found it to be extremely helpful. I absolutely love this book. It is detailed from front to back covering the proper use of the oils, the properties and benefits of the oils and what the oils are good for. For the experienced or the novice EO users this book is a must have. In fact this book is so great that a natural healthcare professional was very impressed with it after browsing it at my home. I am sure she has purchased her very own copy because I have recommended this book to so many people for purchase from Amazon because of the price and value. The content value of the book far outweighs the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essential Oils Desk Reference
Essential Oils Desk Reference by Essential Science Publishing (Hardcover - Oct. 2007)
Used & New from: $166.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.