Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome
The essential Warlock starts with his adventures on counter-earth. There, he was a not very thinly veiled Christ figure. The second part is the real meat, the Jim Starlin drawn Magus saga. I read this when I was a kid, and thought it was the greatest piece of art and literature ever created (when I was ten). Now, forty years later, I can still see why I was so enchanted...
Published on August 26, 2012 by evilsgindsitributor

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's in black and white - but still a great read
First of all, yes, the cover is somewhat misleading: what you get is the Warlock stories reprinted sans coloring, not quite the 70's spectacle the cover promises. You don't get the amazing dreamy, lightshow-y, cosmic-scapes that you may remember or crave. But ... the story and illustrations are fantastic, well worth reading on their own. If you have to have the colors -...
Published 23 months ago by ToddM


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, August 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
The essential Warlock starts with his adventures on counter-earth. There, he was a not very thinly veiled Christ figure. The second part is the real meat, the Jim Starlin drawn Magus saga. I read this when I was a kid, and thought it was the greatest piece of art and literature ever created (when I was ten). Now, forty years later, I can still see why I was so enchanted. The artwork is very good, and the storyline of high quality. Thanos, Gamora, Pip the troll, the Matriarch, the Magus, they're all here. Yes, it's a comic book, but it's a prime example of Marvel at the height of it's creative glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gospel of Roy Thomas and friends, September 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
Adam Warlock has never been one of the big names in the Marvel Universe, but he has been around for a while and is intricately tied to Marvel's cosmic mythology. First introduced in the pages of Fantastic Four as Him, his early history had him meeting up with characters such as Thor. With Essential Warlock (Volume 1), we get to see him in his early days as Adam Warlock.

This volume is divided into two roughly evenly-sized storylines. The first storyline, principally written by Roy Thomas and later Mike Friedrich, Ron Goulart and Gerry Conway, has Warlock becoming the adopted son of the god-like High Evolutionary. The High Evolutionary has just created - in a very short period of time - a new version of Earth (soon to be called Counter-Earth) in which he hopes that humanity will achieve a noble perfection. Unfortunately, one of the Evolutionary's evil creations, the Man-Beast, has tainted Counter-Earth.

Warlock convinces him not to destroy his handiwork and goes down to Counter-Earth to stop the Man-Beast. Soon, he gets his own followers and becomes a messianic figure. It doesn't take too much Bible knowledge to realize that Warlock is a Christ-parallel and the plotline is essentially the life of Jesus with guest appearances from the Hulk and Dr. Doom. It's a bit heavy-handed allegory - and not always well-written - and if this were everything in this volume, it'd be only three-star fare.

Fortunately, Jim Starlin comes in to save the day with his own take on religion. Warlock leaves Counter-Earth and travels to the stars, where he encounters the Magus, the god-like figure behind a nasty theocratic empire. Warlock soon enough discovers the truth about his new opponent: it is a future version of himself. As if this wasn't enough of a problem, soon Thanos will appear and establish himself as Warlock's true archenemy.

This storyline is much more well-written, with much more interesting characters. The addition of Pip the Troll adds a bit of needed levity, as Warlock himself is a deadly serious character. The Magus and Thanos make much more interesting enemies than the Man-Beast, and Gamora, the deadliest woman alive, adds a hint of romance.

One final note: if you have read Essential Avengers #8, you'll notice that a couple issues from that volume also appear here (which is appropriate, since they are key to both series). I am giving this volume five stars based on the merits of the Starlin material alone; the early stuff is merely average and skippable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Marvel Essentials Book, November 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
I felt compelled to write a review and boost the star rating back up since somebody threw it off by giving it a 1 just because they didn't know the Essentials books are in black and white. If you like the Marvel Essentials format and the Adam Warlock character this is definitely worth getting. For the benefit of anyone who doesn't know, I would like to say in conclusion that giving a product a bad rating because you didn't know what you were buying is something you probably shouldn't do. I mean, I can't tell you what to do, but it just seems wrong. You're not supposed to be reviewing your own ability to make sure you know what you're getting. It's not like the book was printed in black and white by mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats w/ all the negative reviews because the book is in B&W?, March 11, 2013
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
Whats w/ all the negative reviews because the book is in B&W? All Marvel Essential books are in B&W. Why has everyone just suddenly chosen this book to b!#@h about it? Marvel has been printing Essentials in B&W for something like 15 years. Read the description before you buy, or if you don't like it, send it back, but don't give bad reviews because you were unfamiliar w/ the format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Cosmic's humble beginnings., July 7, 2013
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
This is by far one of my favorite Bronze Age collections. Warlocks' journey to save the universe from a threat that seems impossible for him to conquer, while dealing with his inevitable predicted doom is remarkable. I recommend this to anyone interested in Thanos and the Infinity Gauntlet, as this is the story where Jim Starlin plants the seeds for the future book.

This book is by no means perfect. In fact, I would probably skip the first half written by Roy Thomas and concentrate solely on Jim Starlin's stuff. Roy Thomas had attempted to make Warlock an allegory to Jesus and the forced messianic dribble is incredibly dated and isn't very appreciated, even by its contemporary readers; this led the book into an early cancellation in 1973 before Jim Starlin revived the character. Starlin's first issue gives a succinct synopsis of Thomas' work before immediately jumping into the Magus saga, a great existential space opera. The finale of the book features the climactic machinations of Thanos which pays off incredibly well.

Like all Marvel Essential collections, this book it is printed on a cheaper paper, in black and white. This allows for a cheaper book with a lot more added to it. As stated, this does feature all of Roy Thomas and Jim Starlin's work with the character in the 1970s. If you were looking for better quality paper and color pages, you will need to seek out the incredibly rare Marvel Masterworks editions. If Marvel ever gets around to releasing the second volume of Marvel Masterworks' Warlock (Jim Starlin's work) or some other collection of Warlock, I will likely supplant my copy with it. In the meantime, this is a great book to have because it is just such a fantastic read and so different from what other writers were doing in the 70s.

EDIT:

Marvel has released a complete reprint of Jim Starlin's Warlock story from the 70s in full color (which, as I stated, is the far better part of this book). Warlock by Jim Starlin: The Complete Collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Odyssey at its Cosmic Best!!!, July 17, 2014
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
Well folks...here they are!! The first solo story of Him after his previous two appearances in Fantastic Four 66-67 and Thor 164-166 and after the "Premiere" issue, would forever be known as Adam Warlock!! Here we are treated to the explosive action packed art of the inimitable Gil Kane as he gives us those first two issues of Marvel Premiere and the first five of Warlock's own title!! After that Bob Brown takes over the art chores and after * issues Warlocks first series is canceled with a cliffhanger ending!! Oh no!! What are we to do?!? Well this story continues on some months later in the Incredible Hulk issues 176-178 where the story ends with Warlock flying off to the stars. We are then treated to a completely new direction for Warlock when Jim Starlin takes over the story and art with Strange Tales featuring Warlock 178-181 and then back into his own book for issues 9-15! Starlin takes Warlock on one of the most trippiest cosmic odysseys ever written and drawn where Warlock battles clowns?!? Not only that but his future evil self...the Magus. And of course who could ever forget mighty Thanos!! Adam Warlock's first cosmic journey ends in two of the best Annuals of 1977...The Avengers Annual 7 and Marvel Two-In-One Annual 2 (featuring the Thing and Spider-Man). In these two annuals Thanos is launching an attempt to snuff out the stars. Warlock heads to Avengers Mansion and tells Captain Marvel and Moondragon of the event. The Avengers race to stop Thanos. Warlock clashes with Thanos and falls whereon a past version of Warlock absorbs him into the soul gem. Following more battle in the MTIO Annual Spider-Man eventually frees the soul gem releasing Adam Warlock who destroys Thanos...or does he?!? Those stories will wait a number of years to be told, but with the tales in this collected Essential there is plenty of reading, action, drama and surprises to satisfy the reader of comics from a time when they were the best!!

Buy This!! You won't regret your purchase at all (even if they are in black and white)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's in black and white - but still a great read, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
First of all, yes, the cover is somewhat misleading: what you get is the Warlock stories reprinted sans coloring, not quite the 70's spectacle the cover promises. You don't get the amazing dreamy, lightshow-y, cosmic-scapes that you may remember or crave. But ... the story and illustrations are fantastic, well worth reading on their own. If you have to have the colors - and you probably will, after getting a glimpse of the action - you'll have to turn to your local comics store, or online (eBay, etc) if you want to have it all at once (but likely at a higher price ...). I highly recommend the series, and if this is the only way to get it quick, I'd say go ahead and then savor collecting the originals over time. I give this item, this particular book 3 stars; the story itself? - definitely 5 stars, but this review is for the book Amazon sells, not the one you may want to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed that it is in Black & White., March 6, 2013
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
I was so excited to order this book , but when I got it was very disappointed that it was in Black & White. The cover leads you to believe that it is the real deal, but it is not. So bad that you are cheated of the color action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cover is deceptive, October 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Warlock - Volume 1 (Paperback)
I have the original Jim Starlin Warlock series and was excited to see this much Warlock for so low a price. Truly you get what you pay for. Be warned, this is on cheap paper and only in black and white, not in the original color of the comics. Thankfully Amazon allowed me to return it with a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essential Warlock - Volume 1
Essential Warlock - Volume 1 by Chris Claremont (Paperback - August 29, 2012)
Used & New from: $57.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.