Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Essentials of Nursing Informatics, 5th Edition (Saba, Essentials of Nursing Informatics)
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 16, 2012
Saba & McCormick's "Essentials of Nursing Informatics" is an exceptional text and reference for new and experienced informaticians. Beginning with the history of informatics, it guides the reader through the hardware of computer systems, how information systems are designed and built, and the role of information systems in clinical practice and healthcare. Important contemporary topics, such as terminology and data standards, evidence-based practice, Web 2.0, and many, many others, are thoughtfully discussed and illuminate these sujects. I highly recommend this book to the novice and to the accomplished informatician, as well as those interested in exploring this important specialty.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
I have to give this the same rating I gave review for foundation of knowledge. They crammed the information and the pages just look like jumbled words on a page. Quite intimating if you are just getting into course and learning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
I purchased this book to help prepare for the ANCC board cert test for nursing informatics. The content was very helpful. However, the typos were distracting - misspellings, lack of a space between words, crazy hyphenations from one line to the next. Where was the edit team for this book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2012
Informatics is a newer field in nursing. I needed to take a class to expand my knowledge in the field. This book offers a very detailed explanation to ensure that your knowledge is based in fact. Well written and very concise. I know that many will buy this book because it is required, but if you are looking to purchase a book to read on your own to gain knowledge, rest assured that this book will give it to you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
Very informative but was missing some important information that I need for my course. I had to look up some definitions of the different parts of memory for the computer online.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2012
This may be the most difficult to read textbook I have ever owned. The choice of words are often bizarre and complicated. There are also so many abbreviations that reading one paragraph is awkward. There is an abundance of references within the text which makes it difficult to cut through to the facts being delivered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
The book really didn't do much to help or clarify material gone over in class. I did need it however as a resource to write a paper. That's really the only the only I needed it for. If you have time the chapters do lend some neat take away knowledge-but time is precious in graduate school. It's cheap to rent however-so take it or leave it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
This book provides information with relation to nursing informatics and is therefore good for the graduate course I am enrolled in. The book arrived on time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2014
One of the very best all around books for Nursing Informatics. The chapters are all informative and written by experts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2015
This book was required as a textbook for a graduate school informatics class. It was easy to read and follow. Would recommend for anyone going into informatics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse