Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only if you're going into Peds...
First and foremost: If you're not going into Peds, Blueprints or Kaplan with Pretest should be enough. Don't bother with this text as it's probably not what you're looking for.

I bought this (although I had no intention of going into Peds) because I needed a little more explanation than the review books give, and I was glad I bought it. It does have a lot of...
Published on August 28, 2008 by Seejay

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nelson's Essentials of Pediatrics
I read this book during my peds clerkship and like the above review states, too much of the information is contained in tables. However, because the book is extremely easy to read, you can learn much from just reading the text and glancing through the tables. With that being said, I'm hesitant to recommend this as a primary resource or even a reference during your...
Published on November 20, 2006 by Darrell Wu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only if you're going into Peds..., August 28, 2008
By 
Seejay "cjcjcjcj" (Earth, superficially) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
First and foremost: If you're not going into Peds, Blueprints or Kaplan with Pretest should be enough. Don't bother with this text as it's probably not what you're looking for.

I bought this (although I had no intention of going into Peds) because I needed a little more explanation than the review books give, and I was glad I bought it. It does have a lot of tables, but I found them to be a useful way to distinguish between similar entities. While on my Peds rotation, the residents always referred to the big Nelson's when they had tough questions. If you want to make a good impression on your attendings and/or residents because you're going into Peds (or you're just a gunner) then Essentials is the way to go.

Here's the conundrum: learn the material that will make you a competent doctor or learn the material that'll make you pass the Peds exam?

Unfortunately in Peds, the two are not the same. Peds exams are filled with things like vaccination schedules which change yearly and word association like Meckel's rule of 2s, and thumb sign. Actual practice of pediatrics requires an actual thought process... which is explained best by Essentials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nelson's Essentials of Pediatrics, November 20, 2006
By 
Darrell Wu (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
I read this book during my peds clerkship and like the above review states, too much of the information is contained in tables. However, because the book is extremely easy to read, you can learn much from just reading the text and glancing through the tables. With that being said, I'm hesitant to recommend this as a primary resource or even a reference during your clerkship. I felt that Case files, Pre-Test, and BRS peds were more than sufficient for the rotation; and since M3 year is just as much about studying effectively as it is learning, save your money and buy the aforementioned books. go through those multiple times and you'll crush the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly disappointing, September 27, 2006
By 
John H. Kim (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
Please do not waste your money on this book. Practically half of the book is composed of huge tables (some even spanning multiple pages!) . It feels like they decided to try to compact Nelson's Textbook of Pediatrics into this volume by throwing the information into tables. Don't get me wrong - the tables do contain important information, but they are just not organized in a way that is conducive to comprehension. And I am NOT gonna sit and memorize the tables. The text is pretty basic and readable, but a bit too long-winded. Also, there is definitely not adequate coverage of patient management issues... I felt like I could've read the entire book (which would have been a total waste of time) and still been very inadequately prepared for the shelf exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very informative and useful, May 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
the book is very informative and hence very useful in practice. it contains update in the pediatric practice as to diagnosis and management. It makes the reader equipped with useful knowledge applicable to general pediatrics and sub-specialties as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for peds, October 31, 2010
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
good for the general med student, not very good for specifically learning the neonatology stuff though.
i ordered second-hand and the 5th edition while the sixth was already out, and i dont see a difference what so ever, except the money i saved..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad start..., February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
This book gives good surface information on subject matters, but gets scanty on the pathology area of diseases. It is a nice start for those getting into clinical practice, but not one you take with you to clinic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars content, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
bought this book for my niece.it has a lot of information that she wants.the book will be cherished on her college years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars seriously?, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
For anyone to review a Nelson Pediatric book is akin to reviewing Genesis or Exodus. Nelson---Pediatrics? Aren't they merely synonyms?
A learned mouth shouldn't speak of one and not the other.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, August 31, 2008
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
The book has a lot of stuff to get through in it, but set up well, complete and useful. Easy to reference back to as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 14, 2014
This review is from: Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics) (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, 5E with STUDENT CONSULT Access Fifth Edition(Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics)
Used & New from: $0.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.