Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to starting a practice
Forget the fact that the author is a psychologist. Do not let that dissuade you from purchasing this book if you are not in the mental health care field. Perhaps 98% of the information is applicable to any health care provider wanting to establish a private practice.

The book is filled with treasure. The first sections elaborate on where to look for a potential...
Published on February 20, 2006 by S. Isaacs

versus
38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful for marketing and introducing a new practice
I purchased this book as I was looking for ways to introduce my private practice to the community I live in and how to ethically market counseling services. I found nothing of help in the book regarding those topics. I also found that the book contained information that seemed redundant if you already have your practice started. I did think the forms were helpful, but...
Published on November 8, 2007 by Jen Polgara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to starting a practice, February 20, 2006
By 
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
Forget the fact that the author is a psychologist. Do not let that dissuade you from purchasing this book if you are not in the mental health care field. Perhaps 98% of the information is applicable to any health care provider wanting to establish a private practice.

The book is filled with treasure. The first sections elaborate on where to look for a potential office/clinic, what questions to ask the prospective building manager (and when to ask them), and how to get an effective phone/voicemail system established. The section on cancellation policies alone is worth the price of the book, as are Dr. Hunt's examples of how to diplomatically pursue outstanding payments. She also devotes a sizable portion of the book to navigating the difficult realm of insurance. To put a human face to the book, Dr. Hunt showcases her past successes and failures (and those of her colleagues) in her first attempts at establishing a private practice.

This book is excellent -- very engaging and seldom boring, concise and pithy. It provokes a proactive spirit. It should be required reading for any health care worker fresh out of school, about to begin a private practice, and with little to no business experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful for marketing and introducing a new practice, November 8, 2007
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
I purchased this book as I was looking for ways to introduce my private practice to the community I live in and how to ethically market counseling services. I found nothing of help in the book regarding those topics. I also found that the book contained information that seemed redundant if you already have your practice started. I did think the forms were helpful, but find the ones in The Paper Office much more despcriptive and professional. The book was easy to read and contained basic start up information, such as picking a location for your office that is safe. There are also sections on how to select a cell phone or land line, how to join a group if you chose to, and resolving issues with billing.

The insurance section was helpful.

The contents of the book include: Arranging your practice right from the start, choosing an office that fits your practice, selecting cost-effective communication systems. Steamlining the first appointment (basically, how to best leave a confidential message with a client), verifying insurance, billing insurance and getting paid quickly. Managing finances wisely and collecting the fees you've earned, implementing a successful cancellation policy and establishing phone practices and policies.

If you are already sure of how to begin your practice and have the paperwork in place, but are unsure on how to market or find more clients, I would suggest not purchasing this book as it is more important in earlier phases of basic decision making with your practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical help, step-by-step process., November 4, 2004
By 
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
This book takes you through all the details, big and small of setting up your own practice. Dr. Hunt explains her points concisely, with helpful anecdotes from personal experience. The book is very easy to read with easy to reference chapters and section highlights. There are useful templates in the back for finances, intaking, and forcasting future needs. I found this book to be one of the most useful books in getting started. Even if you are a seasoned private practictioner, this book can help you streamline and cut costs even more, or simply be a fresh reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important Contribution, November 20, 2004
By 
Adam A. Vogel (Verona, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
I agee with the other reviewers completely. This book was engaging to read, clear, and the charts were practical. I enjoyed the authors use of her own experiences as well as the experiences of other practitioners. The narrative format created an interesting way to address sensitive issues and potentially difficult areas involved in practice. I found the book to address the delicate aspects of the relationship shared between clients and therapists and the issues that are the hardest with which to deal because they highlight that mental health work is about helping people and business, and how business, treatment and ethics are intertwined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essentials of Private Practice, September 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
Holly Hunt's book, Essentials of Private Practice has been helpful to me in setting up my private Coaching business.

I found the sections on setting up phone practices and cancellation policies especially helpful. I was able to avoid costly mistakes because of the experiences Holly Hunt shared.

In addition, the section on selecting an office helped me select the right office for me. Now I am moving into a successful Coaching business, that is efficient and effectively managed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great on office practices and getting paid, February 13, 2006
By 
Pat Bromley (Whitewater, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
I could have used a bit more on marketing, but really like this book. I bought it after "How to Survive and Thrive as a Therapist" which had more on the practice itself and not so much on the business end of things. A very helpful book and I am SO glad I bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful advice for many practices, May 26, 2006
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
Much of the advice in the book is applicable to any professional who wants to start her own practice. Not necessarily restricted to mental health workers. She offers useful tips in many mundane details of getting started and also in minimising your costs. The latter is vital, especially if you are starting a new practice of your own, and probably will have to carefully watch expenditure.

The extended discussion about dealing with insurance companies probably understates the amount of effort [paperwork] required in actually getting reimbursed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars by a therapist for a therapist, June 19, 2008
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
Reading this book is almost like having a supervisor or elder colleague share advice and guidance as you venture to start or improve your practice. The flow is easy, practical, and provides examples of how details can affect you and your clients. The layout is bland and summary boxes seem incomplete or cramped for space, but over all a helpful and easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for psychologists in private practice!, October 28, 2004
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
I read this book cover to cover when it arrived this week fresh of the press. It is concise, practical, and offers many suggestions for starting/operating your own private practice. Kudos to Dr. Hunt for a job well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, if only for reassurance, January 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress (Paperback)
I enjoyed the book and found many of the suggestions useful. For someone in the fourth year of practice, it was reassuring to know that I had made some sound decisions based on the authors recommendations. I also found some suggestions on how to manage some pithalls that I am now experiencing. Overall a useful read for those in private practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Essentials of Private Practice: Streamlining Costs, Procedures, and Policies for Less Stress
$19.95 $14.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.