Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$117.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 6, 2006
Department of Health Policy Management Professor Leiyu Shi and School of Public and Environmental Affairs Associate Professor Douglas Singh present Essentials of the US Health Care System, a concise and accessible introduction to available US health care. Written as a textbook especially for students considering a profession in the field, yet also accessible to lay readers, Essentials of the US Health Care System includes basic information concerning the effects of modern medical technology, the roles of different providers and professionals in US health care, managed care and health networks, long-term care services, and much more. Graphs, charts, and black-and- white photographs round out this excellent primer of basic terms and concepts; each section features a neatly summarized conclusion and a list of references for more information. Also very highly recommended is the author's previous textbook, Delivering Health Care In America: A Systems Approach.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2008
This was a good intro to the US 'heath care' system. It's written for the general public, so reading was easy. This book seemed a little biased, but made some great points especially when highlighting the flaws in the US health care system.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
This is a great book and also includes a student companion, which is like a workbook or note taker. The student companion has helped me to understand the chapters.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
I got this used for my intro to U.S. Healthcare class.
I like that it is a smaller book (lots of pages but easier to carry around than a giant fullsized textbook).
It appears to cover a very broad range of topics.
If you read the whole book it is probably helpful to know about everything that is in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
While the book is enlightening, (it is a required text for Health Care Organization for the program I am in) I find it blatantly biased. In the very first chapter it is evident that the authors prefer a single payer system, and mention the Canadian, British, and German systems, and prefer the Canadian system. As we have progressed through the book, the bias toward a single payer system has been reenforced. We have too many specialists, not enough generalists, etc. All that is true, but the solutions they are offering will not work to the satisfaction of the American public, if looking at the Canadian system is any indication. The waits there for basic care, dentistry, etc., are long. Overall, I think the book has many valid points about our system of health care. Just be aware of the authors bias as you read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2013
Needed this book for a class and it was interesting to learn facts about the health care system. The book is not something I would read for leisure but it is cool to gain knowledge about the system. Most people don't know the history of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I think that this book provides a snap shot of the history of the way the U.S healthcare system was and what it aspires to be. Very insightful and realistic about the current trends in the industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
I needed this book for a class and it arrived promptly and in great shape. I purchased it new and thus expected high quality, but it's always a relief when it gets here in time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
It arrived on time and was in good condition. There was some sort of sticker thing on the back that I had to remove and a little underlining, but besides that, great item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
The book cover was in great shape. There was alot of highlighter marks on every page but the cost of it was what really thrilled me! I will definately buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse