Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Estes Wadding Is Ok
I agree with one writer the gray insulation that you can buy form home depot in a bail will last a lifetime and a much better wadding. But Estes wadding is great for the just starting out rocketry is much easer and will be flying quickly.
Published on May 25, 2009 by Flyem High Rockets

versus
45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Need Wadding To Protect the Parachute
Estes fireproof wadding is an essential component of every rocket launch. You need it between the engine and the parachute, so that when the engine discharges the heated ejection blast (that pops the nose cone and parachute out), the parachute will not melt from the heat of the blast.

Back in the old days of rocketry, I used to use regular tissue paper, but...
Published on March 18, 2007 by kone


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Need Wadding To Protect the Parachute, March 18, 2007
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
Estes fireproof wadding is an essential component of every rocket launch. You need it between the engine and the parachute, so that when the engine discharges the heated ejection blast (that pops the nose cone and parachute out), the parachute will not melt from the heat of the blast.

Back in the old days of rocketry, I used to use regular tissue paper, but this often starts on fire and can be a fire hazard as it touches ground. So, one has to fork out the money for wadding that conforms to rocketry safety standards. I suggest collecting the wadding after each launch and use it again. It can be used over and over, provided you can find it.

I think the product it overpriced, and there are other fireproof alternatives available (see the other product rerviews that follow mine), so that is why I give it only 3 stars.

kone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are cheaper alternatives,...., January 18, 2006
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
the most common being the blown in cellulose material that home improvement stores such as Lowe's and Home Depot sell by the bale for less than ten bucks. It's really shredded newspaper that has been treated to be flameproof. Unless you fly daily, this is likely to be a lifetime supply. The Estes wadding does have its uses, such as wrapping the parachute or encircling a big wad of this stuff in a large diameter rocket so that the whole structure acts as a piston. Your best bet for getting Estes wadding is buying the bulk packs of motors, which you'll need anyway and which contain it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Estes Wadding Is Ok, May 25, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
I agree with one writer the gray insulation that you can buy form home depot in a bail will last a lifetime and a much better wadding. But Estes wadding is great for the just starting out rocketry is much easer and will be flying quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Wadding, August 29, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
I mean Estes is the defacto brand. This wadding was blue and not white but it doesn't make a difference to me. If there's a technical reason behind this be aware, however it works for me and almost seems easier to find the blue if you want to re-use. Why go with something else, go with estes and make sure your chute isn't melted when it deploys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple to Use, April 22, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
This recovery wadding is great especially for those new to model rocketing. You can use other materials to fulfill the same purpose but with the recovery wadding it's much simpler, you know it will fit and work well and don't have to modify anything to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
I have re-used some of the pieces that I was able to find. Highly recommend using this to protect the parachute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective but would like more description, December 9, 2011
By 
Trina Boice (Las Vegas, Baby!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
I just purchased my first model rocket for my son and wasn't really even sure if I needed to buy this. He was working on his Space Exploration merit badge for Boy Scouts and need to build and shoot off some rockets. This was the first time I had purchased rocket material online and I wasn't sure if this would be included in the kit or not.

I purchased a nice combination of rockets and launching pad, but had to buy the engines and this wadding separately. It would have been nice to have it ALL come included in a beginner's basic starter kit. I also would have liked more description on this item as to what exactly it's to be used for and how much I would need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ssssssshhhhhhheeeeewwwww!, December 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
as described...i'm a 31 year old kid...my wife had never shot a rocket off before...she said "holy sh*t!" it was cute. I love model rockets. I miss being a kid :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
works great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
This review is from: Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding (Toy)
Worked everytime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Estes 2274 Recovery Wadding
$7.99 $4.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.