Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estes Rocket Engines are the Standard for Model Rocketry
Estes is the company that began model rocketry back in the 1960's. They have designed solid-fuel engines that are reliable and easy to use. The engines (motors) are simply standardized cylinders filled with varying amounts of solid rocket propellant.

Each rocket engine is characterized by a number on the engine. For example, in the B4-4 engine, the "B"...
Published on June 1, 2007 by kone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Works, but expensive
These engines worked fine and I bought them to fly a "ready to fly" rocket kit. My biggest complaint is how much money they are for three engines. If I continue this hobby with my son I will look for a less expensive alternative.
Published 12 months ago by Tara


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estes Rocket Engines are the Standard for Model Rocketry, June 1, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
Estes is the company that began model rocketry back in the 1960's. They have designed solid-fuel engines that are reliable and easy to use. The engines (motors) are simply standardized cylinders filled with varying amounts of solid rocket propellant.

Each rocket engine is characterized by a number on the engine. For example, in the B4-4 engine, the "B" stands for total impulse power (measured in Newton/seconds). There are Estes engines in size A, B, C, D, and E. A, B, and C engines are all of the same size and can for the most part be used in all standard model rockets. "D" engines are larger and wider and cannot be used in standard model rockets. "E" engines are the largest engines Estes produces and are available only to those over the age of 18. They are used to launch much larger and heavier rockets.

The important thing to know is that as you advance from one letter to the next, the thrust increases by 2 power. So a "B" engine is twice as powerful as an "A" engine. A "C" engine is twice as powerful as a "B", and so on.

The next number refers to the thrust power. The higher the number, the higher the thrust and the faster the rocket will go.

The final number is the time delay factor. In the C6-7, the 7 refers to the amount of time in seconds that the rocket engine will take to burn its fuel and expel the parachute.

Rocket engines should be selected according to the size of a rocket, the weight of the rocket, and the amount of land area you launch in. If you have a very small recovery field, then stick to smaller engines, such as A's and B's. You won't lose your rockets to wind drift as they won't go that high. However, if you have a large recovery field, the sky is really the limit, as you can use the most powerful engines in even small rockets to give maximum altitude. I have lost more than a few rockets by launching a relatively small rocket with a C6-7 engine, never to see the rocket again. It simply went out of sight and was carried away by the wind.

The engines come with a set of ignitors which in turn are set off by a launch control system.

Estes engines are almost 100% reliable. I have only seen a few fail in all my many years of model rocketry.

Jim "Konedog" Koenig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get the job done, December 9, 2011
By 
Trina Boice (Las Vegas, Baby!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
Our youngest son used these to earn his model rocketry merit badge in Boy Scouts. They worked great and definitely got the job done! I especially appreciate Amazon listings that explain which engines various model rockets need. At first I was hesitant to purchase these online, but when I saw the description, it gave me more confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great rocket motor, July 23, 2013
By 
Philip Holden (Dallas-Ft Worth TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
This is a great size engine for small to medium model rockets where you're not trying to put them on the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They work!, August 25, 2013
By 
Robert Reitmeyer (Beaverton, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
These B4-4 rocket engines work just as they are supposed to. I've fired all four and have not had any miss-fires, or flight issues.
These came pretty fast to! Of course, I was only one state away from the shipper, but they did arrive fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Estes B4-4, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
Grandson loves his Rocket!...without these...it don't work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Estes still builds quality stuff, July 2, 2014
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
They work as designed and my kids are happy. What else can I say?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
ok engines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast off, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
Can't get by without these. They do as advertised and have not had a failed launch yet. Really impressed the grandkids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Estes B4-4 Rocket Engine, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
Great rocket engine for first use with rocket. This was our first time use and was what we expected. Would purchase again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works, but expensive, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each) (Toy)
These engines worked fine and I bought them to fly a "ready to fly" rocket kit. My biggest complaint is how much money they are for three engines. If I continue this hobby with my son I will look for a less expensive alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Estes B4-4 Engine Pack (3-Each)
$10.99 $9.41
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.