Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 volt charge cable
this cable can be plugged into the desk cradle,that is what it is meant for, thus it gives a stable base while traveling, mine sits in the console of my explorer and rides very well there.there should be a 500ma fuse in it
Published 16 months ago by swk

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you will need the desktop base
This works fine but it does not plug directly into the radio...rather, you plug this adapter into the desktop base unit and then put the radio in the base. Somewhat misleading, but it does do the job it is supposed to do.
Published 15 months ago by VTRider


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you will need the desktop base, June 17, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
This works fine but it does not plug directly into the radio...rather, you plug this adapter into the desktop base unit and then put the radio in the base. Somewhat misleading, but it does do the job it is supposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT fit the OEM Baofeng UV5R extended battery !, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
I purchased this because other reviewers reported it fits the built-in jack on the Baofeng UV5R extended battery. No it doesn't. It fits in the desk charger. I bought this with the sole purpose of plugging it in and putting my radio in a cup holder. I can't see the practicality of putting my DESK charger in my car; the radio would constantly flip out and fall.

I wonder if other reviewers actually bought this item or just looked at the pic and exclaimed,"Ooo, I know what that's for !!".

Be advised; this charger does work, but not in the manner others have stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 volt charge cable, May 23, 2013
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
this cable can be plugged into the desk cradle,that is what it is meant for, thus it gives a stable base while traveling, mine sits in the console of my explorer and rides very well there.there should be a 500ma fuse in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 12V Charger Cable Needs CHARGER BASE to work!, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
Car Charger cable does NOT connect to the Baefeng Radio-- user must wither use the charger base typically connected to 110V at home/office, else purchase a second Baefeng Radio Charger (110V plug connector and charge base combo). THis should really be called an ADAPTOR cable since it DOES NOT connect 12V to radio and user needs an additional part (charger base). AT A MINIMUM, THIS ITEM SHOULD HAVE TEXT TO STATE THE FACT THAT THIS CABLE HAS TO CONNECT TO A CHARGER BASE AS IT DOES NOT CONNECT 12V TO THE RADIO WITHOUT USE OF SEPERATE CHARGER BASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice cable - has fuse - you need the charger base, October 31, 2013
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
I've been a Ham Radio Operator since 1967 (callsign WB2ANR). This cable takes the place of the wall transformer used with the Radio charger base (you need the base AND the cord to charge the radio from the car cigarette lighter).Cable is nicely made, and has a built-in safety fuse.

See my full review and links to instructional videos and free (alternative) programming software on: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Recommended this to go along with the Baofeng but, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
It is a car charger but it does not plug directly into the radio. It instead plugs into the battery charger stand that can be used either with the power adapter in your house or in your car. This stand though is designed for an environment that is stable and horizontal. If you were using the radio in a stationary location where the vehicle was not moving it could work. And of course you still need something to charge your radio when in the field if it is being used a lot so I guess that you have to get it anyway. This is really more a design flaw with the radio though. But as others have stated, with the low price of the radio a few compromises will have to be tolerated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality is junk, March 5, 2014
By 
George Hacker (Battle Ground, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
When I used this charger in my truck, the wires had to be wiggled for the charger base (not included, btw) to charge the radio. I had a HAM friend sit in the passenger seat and try to get it to work without success. Plugged the base back into the wall charger at home and it worked like a champ. It is clear that this cable is junk and a waste of money. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It needs the charging base., January 7, 2014
By 
Mikkel (South Milwaukee, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
This cable does NOT plug into the radio. It plugs into the charging base in place of the AC adapter. So if you want to be able to charge at home and in your care, you need to get another charging base, or keep the base with the radio so you can charge wherever you are. Using the charging base in the car can be a problem unless you mount it somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase the BAOFENG Car Charger Cable, it does not work as expected or at all., June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
The BAOFENG Car Charger Cable does not work as expected or at all, Do not purchase.
The intent it to use the base charger to plug into your cigarette lighter and for some that works to recharge their radio but that setup is too unstable to use in a car,
In my case the plug will not work in the base unit, it is slightly too large to make contact.
Its like they ran out of the right ones and slipped in the next size up figuring that most people will blow off the item as not worth trying to return it.
This is very poor quality control and dealings with these type of sellers should be avoided
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not used it yet, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Car Charger Cable for BF-UV5R BAOFENG TYT TH-F8 UV5RA UV5RB UV5RE Black (Sports)
Since I have to write something in this review, really I can't rate it since I haven't programmed my radios yet. It looks good nd looks like it will work well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.