Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good power.
Although the battery lasts a long time on the UV-5RA, this car adapter lets the user keep the radio "on," whenever you go somewhere. In our cars, the cigar lighter/accessory socket turns off when you shut off the ignition. In my case, that means I can keep the radio clipped to the passenger seat belt and when I start up, so does the radio, preset to the frequency where I...
Published 20 months ago by P. Corson

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS ADAPTER!
It is not engineered to deliver the current required to run your Baofang radio - it does not have a current limiting resistor and the regulator over heats and shuts down. I bought 2 of these and a friend who has an engineering degree is redesigning the circuit so it will be a usable adapter. When using the adapter it will transmit fine for about 15 seconds, then you start...
Published 11 months ago by Brian Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good power., January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Although the battery lasts a long time on the UV-5RA, this car adapter lets the user keep the radio "on," whenever you go somewhere. In our cars, the cigar lighter/accessory socket turns off when you shut off the ignition. In my case, that means I can keep the radio clipped to the passenger seat belt and when I start up, so does the radio, preset to the frequency where I left it.

The coiled cord could be a little longer, that's why the rating is down a star. The wire that they use is not very flexible, so it takes a good pull on the coil to get to a comfortable length. This might put stress the cord at the radio end, and could potentially pull out the plug from the car's accessory receptacle if it's nearly out of reach. There are extension cables but they are bulky and not worth the trouble.

Fit and finish are both good, matching the color of the radio's housing, and sliding correctly into the radio's battery compartment with no slop or uneven dimensions.

The red LED power indicator on the car end is very bright, and at night you may want to turn it away from the driver's position to avoid mistaking it for an unfastened seatbelt light, the parking brake indicator, or any other idiot lights that happen to be near the cigarette lighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary Mobile Accessory, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Since the UV-5R does not have a Dc Jack, this is a necessary Mobile accessory. While the battery life is impressive, Long trips in the car will unnecessarily use battery. It has been banged around a bit in my vehicle. Seems rugged enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS ADAPTER!, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
It is not engineered to deliver the current required to run your Baofang radio - it does not have a current limiting resistor and the regulator over heats and shuts down. I bought 2 of these and a friend who has an engineering degree is redesigning the circuit so it will be a usable adapter. When using the adapter it will transmit fine for about 15 seconds, then you start to notice your display backlight going away an then the display goes dead and then you get a signal report back from the party you were talking to and they report your SN ratio as going into the toilet and eventual unreadability - STEER CLEAR!!! I'd give it zero stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Battery Eliminator, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Build quality is ok at best. Unit quickly overheats. Radio has to be shut down every few minutes so the Battery Eliminator can cool down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Battery Eliminator, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Great price, works great with my Baofeng UV5R. Now I do not have to worry about a battery depletion while using it in a mobile. Also consider it for an Emergency Go-Kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable accessory and a good value., March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
If you plan to use your BaoFeng UV-5R in you vehicle (seems likely for a handheld), you should have a way to preserve the rechargeable battery. Be aware that this unit replaces the battery; it doesn't recharge it. It strangely enough has the contact pads on it that the battery has, but they are, as far as I can tell, purely cosmetic. They have no function. The cord plugs into the cigarette lighter/accessory outlet and the other end replaces the battery on the handheld. So, the good:

1. It works.
2. It's inexpensive.

The not so good:

The cord is short and very tightly coiled. As a result it is a struggle to pick up the handheld and talk into it. If you use the handheld's earpiece/microphone, that mitigates the problem. A longer, less tightly coiled cord would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works but cable too short, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Works fine to power radio but the cable is too short to reach from lighter plug to where you need to put the radio. It pulls one way, the mike pulls the other and the antenna line another. Is there a mount for these radios that can hold 2 of the 3 lines in place ? The mikes clip to your collar so that needs to be free to move. Sure beats running battery all the time whilebin the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, but..., February 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
I purchased this so that I could use my UV-5R in the car for extended periods of time.

It works perfectly, and I've had no trouble with it.

The only down side so far is the fact that the 12V coil cable is, in my opinion, about 12 inches too short.

I recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Fit is good - no problems with connecting and disconnecting with the radio. It powers the radio as it should. No hum or other unwanted noise.

Coiled wire could maybe be a little longer, maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short cord, defective fuse, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Etekcity® Dual Band Car Battery Eliminator SimulatorFor BAOFENG UV-5R VHF UHF (Electronics)
Received this in a non working condition, after some messing with it I opened it up and found that the fuse inside was not soldered on the ends inside the glass, it wasn't blown, just a length of metal inside the glass. Replaced the fuse with a new one and it works fine. Otherwise my only gripe is that the cord is really short., like maybe 2 ft all stretched out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.