Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 4, 2013
Although the battery lasts a long time on the UV-5RA, this car adapter lets the user keep the radio "on," whenever you go somewhere. In our cars, the cigar lighter/accessory socket turns off when you shut off the ignition. In my case, that means I can keep the radio clipped to the passenger seat belt and when I start up, so does the radio, preset to the frequency where I left it.

The coiled cord could be a little longer, that's why the rating is down a star. The wire that they use is not very flexible, so it takes a good pull on the coil to get to a comfortable length. This might put stress the cord at the radio end, and could potentially pull out the plug from the car's accessory receptacle if it's nearly out of reach. There are extension cables but they are bulky and not worth the trouble.

Fit and finish are both good, matching the color of the radio's housing, and sliding correctly into the radio's battery compartment with no slop or uneven dimensions.

The red LED power indicator on the car end is very bright, and at night you may want to turn it away from the driver's position to avoid mistaking it for an unfastened seatbelt light, the parking brake indicator, or any other idiot lights that happen to be near the cigarette lighter.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
Since the UV-5R does not have a Dc Jack, this is a necessary Mobile accessory. While the battery life is impressive, Long trips in the car will unnecessarily use battery. It has been banged around a bit in my vehicle. Seems rugged enough.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2013
It is not engineered to deliver the current required to run your Baofang radio - it does not have a current limiting resistor and the regulator over heats and shuts down. I bought 2 of these and a friend who has an engineering degree is redesigning the circuit so it will be a usable adapter. When using the adapter it will transmit fine for about 15 seconds, then you start to notice your display backlight going away an then the display goes dead and then you get a signal report back from the party you were talking to and they report your SN ratio as going into the toilet and eventual unreadability - STEER CLEAR!!! I'd give it zero stars if I could!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
Works fine to power radio but the cable is too short to reach from lighter plug to where you need to put the radio. It pulls one way, the mike pulls the other and the antenna line another. Is there a mount for these radios that can hold 2 of the 3 lines in place ? The mikes clip to your collar so that needs to be free to move. Sure beats running battery all the time whilebin the car.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
I purchased this so that I could use my UV-5R in the car for extended periods of time.

It works perfectly, and I've had no trouble with it.

The only down side so far is the fact that the 12V coil cable is, in my opinion, about 12 inches too short.

I recommend this item.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
If you plan to use your BaoFeng UV-5R in you vehicle (seems likely for a handheld), you should have a way to preserve the rechargeable battery. Be aware that this unit replaces the battery; it doesn't recharge it. It strangely enough has the contact pads on it that the battery has, but they are, as far as I can tell, purely cosmetic. They have no function. The cord plugs into the cigarette lighter/accessory outlet and the other end replaces the battery on the handheld. So, the good:

1. It works.
2. It's inexpensive.

The not so good:

The cord is short and very tightly coiled. As a result it is a struggle to pick up the handheld and talk into it. If you use the handheld's earpiece/microphone, that mitigates the problem. A longer, less tightly coiled cord would be better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
Build quality is ok at best. Unit quickly overheats. Radio has to be shut down every few minutes so the Battery Eliminator can cool down.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
Great price, works great with my Baofeng UV5R. Now I do not have to worry about a battery depletion while using it in a mobile. Also consider it for an Emergency Go-Kit.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
Fit is good - no problems with connecting and disconnecting with the radio. It powers the radio as it should. No hum or other unwanted noise.

Coiled wire could maybe be a little longer, maybe.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
OK, it seems to work and I read the reports that it runs hot. Well, it sure does. After running for about 20 minutes it was too hot to hold, even too hot to touch for long. It is hotter on the exterior than the interior, but I'm honestly worried about using it again. I may look for a different option.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.