Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larissa Ione does it again -- very good new PNR
Eternal Rider is the first book in a new spin off series from the popular Demonica paranormal romance series. It's about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse: Immortal. Powerful. The fate of the world rests in their hands.

If their seals break, they turn evil. If two fall, the Armageddon will begin--loosing Satan's minons on the world. From the last Demonica...
Published on March 29, 2011 by Shannon C.

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the Sem brothers were, but done all wrong.
I have followed the Demonica series with relish. It is new, it is fresh, and the chemistry between the characters (all, not just the couples) is fantastic, so I dived into this one, eager to keep going in this world.

I was sorely disappointed. The thing I loved most about all the demon siblings was that they were inherently good, trying to do anything they...
Published 9 months ago by Barb


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larissa Ione does it again -- very good new PNR, March 29, 2011
Eternal Rider is the first book in a new spin off series from the popular Demonica paranormal romance series. It's about the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse: Immortal. Powerful. The fate of the world rests in their hands.

If their seals break, they turn evil. If two fall, the Armageddon will begin--loosing Satan's minons on the world. From the last Demonica book, we saw Pestilence's seal break after Sin started the warg disease. In this book, he's the big bad guy. Ares (aka War) is his primary target. They are both after the "agimortus" who carries Ares' seal--Ares to protect and Pestilence to kill.

Meanwhile, Cara gets called out into the night to heal a dog who is hit by a car and shot. She's human, but with the little known ability to heal animals. Turns out that dog is a Hellhound puppy. He is so happy to be saved, he gives her 'Hell's Kiss'--tying their life forces together and pulling her into the supernatural world. Ares meets her while hot on the trail after the fallen angel who carries his seal. But when the fallen angel passes his seal to Cara, Ares takes her back to his home to protect her. Humans are not strong enough to carry a seal, but due to Hell's Kiss hopefully Cara will hold out a bit longer to allow time to find another fallen angel to transfer. Of course, Pestilence is killing the fallen angels or sending them back to Sheol. So the race is on....

The first part of the book started a bit slow/choppy (typical of many first books in a series while world building), but then it picked up and the last half was great. High action/suspense with some good twists and turns. The premise of the book was very original--not your typical vampire or shifter PNR. I liked the four horseman theme, and thought it was cool one of the horsemen is actually a gal. And I liked the glimpses we saw of the Demonica characters. The ending was awesome and very original. Ione has a great imagination! Look forward to the next one--Immortal Rider, which is scheduled for release December 2011.

Reading order:
Pleasure Unbound (Demonica, #1)
Desire Unchained (Demonica, #2)
Passion Unleashed (Demonica, #3)
Ecstasy Unveiled (Demonica, #4)
Sin Undone (Demonica, #5)
Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, #1)
Immortal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, #2) -- December 2011

If you are on the hunt for more books like this, check out my list of paranormal romance favorites...
http://www.amazon.com/Paranormal-action-romance-must-reads/lm/R214ESW3HL12HM/ref=tag_lag_rb_munk_lmfull
(copy and paste into your browser address bar)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New series rocks, March 31, 2011
The plot of this has been discussed by other reviewers and they give a pretty good background on it. Larissa Ione has the makings of another succesful series(see demonica series)Eternal Rider is the first book in the horseman series. It stars front and center War aka Ares. To prevent the next step in the end of the world he must protect Cara an innocent human who was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

This was a fast paced novel and despite a few sections of info dump, I absolutely loved the chemistry around War and Cara. It was nice to get some very interactive cameos from the Demonica series characters but they dont take away from the cast that is the main group for the horseman books. Of course Ione also gives us her classic heroine may die as a result but we know she would never do her fans that way. It still adds a nice touch of suspense and adrenaline rush wondering how it will all play out. To wrap it up the novel ends with a great bang and the resolution is a believable yet unique one that had me mentally giving a hooray.

Absolutely worth the buy and build up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eternal Rider (Lords of Deliverance, book 1) Review, March 29, 2011
**Review contains SPOILERS**

He is a powerful warrior with unmatched skills and if his Seal is broken Ares will become War, one of the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, and bring about the end of humanity. He must now find the only person who has inside them the key to save, or destroy the world. Cara Thornhart had no idea there was a paranormal world until a strange mark appeared on her chest and Ares informed her that her death would have dire consequences. Now containing a power no human can live with inside them, the race is on for Cara and Ares to find a way to transfer what's inside her to another before the life fades out of her, plunging all into a world of evil and darkness.

Each of the Four horseman have their own Seal and agimortus, a trigger that will break the Seal. It can be a person, event or object. In Sin Undone, the last book in Larissa Ione's Demonica series, a Seal was broken and Pestilence was released on to the world. Eternal Rider takes place 6 months later with the fight to keep Pestilence from finding Ares' agimortus and destroying it. For Ares, his agimortus is inside of a fallen angel but when his brother starts killing fallen in order to break the Seal and release War, it is transferred into a human. Cara and Ares' paths were set on the same course the moment she opened her door and took in what appeared to be an injured dog. Thinking she was just helping a hurt animal, Cara uses an ability she has kept hidden in order to heal the animal with her touch. Immediately after, the dog is taken from her and she is saved from Aegis, humans who fight again evil, by Ares. They meet up again later on when Cara follows a dream she had of Hal, the dog she saved, to the U.K. and lands in the middle of a fight between Pestilence, Ares and the fallen who holds Ares' agimortus. Moments from being killed, the fallen transfer the agimortus into Cara and from that point on Ares and his siblings try to find another fallen to take the agimortus from Cara before she dies.

Cara is rightfully scared out of her mind at first because of everything that is going on. Horseman? Demons? Dogs that are really Hellhounds? Apocalypse? None of this was real to her before now and to make things more difficult for her, she has a ticking time bomb inside of her. None of this is made easier by the hostility that Ares shows towards her. The timid, scared girl finally snaps when she recognizes her importance and refuses to be pushed around by Ares anymore. She will no longer allow Ares' to move her around as he pleases and will have her opinion be heard. I had a hard time warming up to Cara until she finally found her backbone. She started to stand up for herself against Ares and refuses to be left out. You have to love a character who talk backs to an almost seven foot immortal that kills on a regular basis.

Ares' has a problem with Cara for reasons that are not her fault. He lived as a mortal thousands of years ago and his family was killed so he looks at mortals as being weak. She also makes Ares care and crave her, something that his mortal father taught him was also weakness. Often by abusing him. The very intimidating Ares is callous towards Cara in the beginning but grows to care for her. He holds back his intense lust for her, but the newer stronger Cara will have none of that. I thought these two worked together because they didn't click perfectly right from the start. They fought, made each other angry but they also made the other care in ways neither of them has before. They've both faced tragedy in the past and together they are able to heal old wounds, move on and fight together.

What I really liked about the Horsemen in this book was that they are not automatically evil. They each have a chance to fight for good but once their Seal is broken, they are forever turned evil. Pestilence wants to find a way to break his siblings' Seals and start the Apocalypse. Ares along with his brother Thanatos and sister Limos start working with the Aegis in order to stop Pestilence from his mission and also try to find Deliverance, the only weapon capable of killing a Horseman. Each of the Horsemen, and woman, have their own distinct personality and I can't wait to find out more about each of them. It was great to see familiar characters from the Demonica series. Kynan, Arik and Reaver are just a few faces I was glad to see again. They play the biggest roles in this new series so far and Arik will be an even bigger part of the next book.

Eternal Rider starts of a little slow even though there are important things happening right from the beginning. This is a spin off of Larissa Ione's Demonica series so I'm already acquainted with the paranormal world she previously created but there are still several new things I was introduced to. Time is spent on the Horseman legend as well as finding out more about the Horsemen themselves and getting a more in depth look into the demon world and its creatures. Some details slowed the pace down but I found it all to be useful and didn't think any page time was wasted. What I loved most about Eternal Rider was that Larissa brought everything that was great from her Demonica books into this one while giving the book its own identity. The story is dark, the romance is enticing and at times heart breaking and the characters are complex. Paranormal romance fans need to add this to their 'to buy' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy new series with familiar faces, March 29, 2011
By 
The Demonica series may have ended with the Sin Undone, but its rich world is very much alive thanks to Larissa Ione's spinoff series Lords of Deliverance. Off the bat, I can tell you that you don't have to have read the Demonica books to enjoy Eternal Rider. While it doesn't build the world from scratch, our main characters have their own story to tell.

Let me give you the basics. There are four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. They're not bad guys. In fact, they want to be a force for good. But each carries a seal, that if broken, will unleash his (or her) curse. The first Horseman, Pestilence, had his seal broken during the events of Sin Undone. Now he is hellbent on breaking the seals of his brothers and sister and bringing about the apocalypse.

Ares is the Horseman of War. His seal is carried by a Fallen Angel. That seal will break if the angel dies. But it can be passed to someone else... which is what happens. A human, Cara, becomes the unwitting recipient. This throws her together with Ares, who has to protect her to protect his seal.

It took me a little while to really get into the book. Ione's books are always richly layered and that takes time to establish. The great secondary characters and storylines have always heated up the page, even if the main characters needed time to stumble their way through the book to get together. Obviously, that didn't happen in Pleasure Unbound, but the sexual element was there in that one from the very beginning. Here, we have neither the luxury of a great secondary story with established characters (like Kynan & Gem or Luc & Kar gave us in previous installments) or the quick sexual relationship we were treated to with Tayla & Eidolon. The result was something of a slow-build.

Of course, when things begin to heat up, the second half of the book flies by. Ione does a great job putting sex on paper. A really great job. The tension is palpable between Ares and Cara... and the payoff is even better. Plus, those fantastic Demonica characters are back, albeit in supporting roles. It was wonderful to see our old friends again and revisit Underworld General Hospital. Ione has also laid the foundation for the next book in the series, centered on the female Horseman, Limos. My wheels are already spinning with ideas about what will happen next. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the Sem brothers were, but done all wrong., March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eternal Rider (Demonica Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I have followed the Demonica series with relish. It is new, it is fresh, and the chemistry between the characters (all, not just the couples) is fantastic, so I dived into this one, eager to keep going in this world.

I was sorely disappointed. The thing I loved most about all the demon siblings was that they were inherently good, trying to do anything they could to overcome the evils of their nature and do something to help people/demons/the world. Their struggle was what drew me and made me love them and cheer for them to get a happy ending. This hero was just bad. When he talked about his past, it was with utter dispassion and complete lack of remorse. The violence in this one was just so pervasive and delivered so mechanically it was almost as if Ms. Ione was trying to convince me it was every day old hat. The romance was completely lost on me. The story was just too heartless, pure and simple. I finished the book and was left completely cold, and somewhat disgusted by the result. I wish I had stopped with the previous book. And I most definitely will not continue this series. I just don't care about the horsemen. At all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars, because the heroine is SO ANNOYING! Marking it 4 stars because the story is great., August 17, 2011
By 
Alyce In Wonderland "The Looking Glass" (Over the hill or underland, or just behind a tree) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the theme of this new spin-off series, "Lords of Deliverance". It's creative and unique, which can be very hard to find in the vast sea of PNR novels out there. Also, I enjoyed the blending of the original "Demonica" series characters with these new characters. It was definitely time to move away from the original and bring in something fresh. Larissa Ione was smart enough to see that, rather than beating a bleeding horse to death, which many authors tend to do.

Eternal Rider was a terrific story that flowed and released a steady stream of info to get us into the LoD world, without feeling lost in an all-out info dump. History was revealed as the present day story moved. The world Larissa Ione developed is both vivid and dark at the same time. Great beginning for the series!

Although I'm looking forward to more from this series, I had to give this book a less than great rating because of the very difficult-to- like heroine. Cara was snobbish, holier-than-thou, and totally self-righteous. It didn't matter that the world is looking at Armageddon. It didn't matter that the hero and his siblings have been fighting to save the human realm for centuries. Cara's only thought is "How dare they take part in violence?". She sure as heck isn't going to help in any way. Never mind that warriors have to make tough decisions to defend the innocent. Cara is above it all. She won't do anything that might tarnish her self-pronounced sainthood. I really struggled with believing that the hero, the horseman known as War, would be able to stand being in the room with her while she carelessly risked all of mankind because she didn't want make a tough decision that might cause a fellow wimp unhappiness. (What next? Is she going to sing "Kumbaya"?). I was wishing the hero would toss her through a Harrowgate and find a woman with some guts and common sense.

Still, I am happy to have this new series to look forward to. If you haven't read the Demonica series, start there. It's not totally necessary before starting the LoD series, but it definitely enhances the story.

Demonica Series:

Pleasure Unbound
Desire Unchained
Passion Unleashed
Ecstasy Unveiled
Sin Undone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eternal Rider, June 2, 2011
By 
Alyssa H. (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
I have a confession to make. Are you ready to hear it? Yeah, I thought you would be, lol. I was a little anxious to start this new series because I didn't think that it could possibly live up to her Demonica series. What the hell was I thinking?! Somebody snap me out of the delusional world that I live in. First, I waited to read The Iron Duke (serious mistake), now this! Well I'm now here to say, I don't say it often, I WAS WRONG! I think that this was better than the Demonica series and I cannot wait to read to the next in line. Thankfully we don't have to wait another year.

Ares (War) was everything that I love in a hero. A tortured soul who no longer believes, if he ever did, in love. It was ingrained in him as a child that love & affection made a man weak, not a warrior. After his family was killed, he was determined to never get close to anyone else because they could be used as leverage. He refused to let anyone else die because of him. When he finds Cara, she shows him everything that he has been missing in his life and only thought he could live without.

Cara went through life alone. She withdrew from the world because of a gift that made her different. When that gift brought tragedy she withdrew even more, she could no longer live with herself. When a hellhound is brought to her door, she heals him with her gift. That starts a chain of events that eventually leads her to carry Ares' agrimortus. Not only does she find protection, but also love. She is so accustomed to pushing people away, she has a hard time letting Ares in.

Larissa Ione is a master at combining rich wonderful stories with suspense, lust, love & explosive love scenes. You get on the ride on Pg. 1, then you're taken through every loop, climb, twist & turn until you finally get off at THE END. The entire experience leaves you breathless & excited for more. You finish saying "Hell yeah, let's do it again." I'm just sorry to say that I ever doubted the master & denied myself the experience for as long as I did! Lesson learned people ♥

*bows to the greatness that is Larissa Ione*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unholy mother of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, it was AWESOME!!!, May 31, 2011
This is the first book of Larissa Ione's I've ever read and all I can say is: Unholy mother of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, this book was AMAZEBALLS! This is a spin off of her Demonica series, which I've never read. But I must say that this book is able to stand alone without you going WTF? Sure, there are quite a few minor characters that pop up from the Demonica series, but I was still able to understand what was going on.

****May contain spoilers.****

Top 10 Reasons to Read This Book:
1. It's the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse like you've never seen them before. As in, this is not your Bible's version of the events leading towards the beginning of the end of the world.

2. It is action packed! While reading the fight scenes, I kept seeing it a la 300. You know, all the blood slowly spilling and arcing all over the place. One problem, the Horsemen are not wearing skimpy pieces of cloth to cover their 'down there' parts. They're in full battle armor. Think of the fight scenes as 300 meets Troy.

3. Ares. This is his book. He is a complete full on, in your face, I-will-mess-you-up-if-you-so-much-as-breathe-the-wrong-way alpha. He had a human family who he saw killed and his wife tortured in front of him. This really messed him up. His agimortus is held by an Unfallen angel. If it breaks, all hell will break loose. Literally. If his seal breaks, he'll become War.

4.Cara. She is the heroine. And she is one badass babe. One day she's living a normal life and the next, her house is invaded by military looking guys hellbent on finding out why she's harboring a hellhound. Ares' Seal is transferred to her, which in turn starts draining her life force. But with a little help from a hellhound's kiss, she is hanging on for dear life.

5. Thanatos. He needs to get laid. Like seriously. But then again, he'd better not since Armageddon would be upon the Earth before you could say "I'm coming!" Yeah, his Seal is his virginity. Kinda sucks right? If his Seal breaks, he'll become Death.

6. Limos. She's the Horsewoman of the Apocalypse. Also, she's Satan's bride. Yipes! She is your ultimate girlie girl: dresses, fruity drinks, flip flops and floral print. When you piss her off, she'll crush your ribs with her thighs. Her Seal is a small ivory bowl. If a Horseman drinks from it, it's the end of the world as we know it. She would become Famine.

7. Pestilence aka Reseph. He's the bad brother of the Horsemen. Yup. His Seal got broken and now he's ready to bring on the end of the world using any means. All he has to do is break one of his siblings' Seals and the others will turn. I am waiting for the day that he will get his comeuppance by a woman. Hopefully human.

8. Angels and Demons. Like you've never seen them before. And not Dan Brown's Angels and Demons.

9. The love story. Ares has not been with a human woman for centuries. Until Cara. She turns his life upside down and sideways when she becomes the unfortunate human to carry his Seal. He lets his guard and armor down, figuratively and literally, when he's near her. They talk. They laugh. They fight. They sex it up. They realize she doesn't have much time left since she's a human carrying the Seal. They distance themselves from each other. They can't stay away. They sex it up. They realize they're in love. Did I mention that they sex it up?

10. "War is hell."-William Tecumseh Sherman. "Sherman was my bitch."- War And now the fight for the world begins.

Favorite Quote: "Short version: Our mother was a succubus demon, our father was an angel. With the exception of Limos, we were raised on Earth as humans until we learned the truth. We didn't take it very well, and our actions led to mass human casualties. As punishment, we were cursed to be the keepers of the Seals of Armageddon. And with that honor came side-effects, hints of what we will be once our Seals break."

Overall: Oh.My.God. I must get myself to the nearest bookstore and buy Larissa Ione's backlist. Like now! From the first page until the last, I got sucked into this world full of battles, tons of testosterone, fiery and feisty females, Unfallen angels worshiping a succubus, super secret demon fight squads, and hot Horsemen trying to keep the world from the brink of Armageddon. Oh yeah, and the world will end if another Horseman's Seal breaks. Ms. Ione, you are my new favorite paranormal author. Where have you all my romance book reading life? I cannot wait for the next book in the series. Why must we wait until December? I know what I'm putting on my Christmas wishlist.

***The original, extended review is posted on my blog.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bridget's Review, April 6, 2011
Seductive and engaging, ETERNAL RIDER takes the paranormal genre to a whole new level. The first bit of the book does begin slow but it also has a lot of important information in it. Stick with it and by the time you get through about a third of it, you will be finished before you know it. It's definitely worth reading, especially for Demonica fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEST GAME OF FETCH EVER, April 5, 2011
A good start to a new series. As my title suggests, one of my favorite scenes from the book, and it is going into my top ten, is the game of fetch with Hal.. A wonderful, funny and very different type of scene to picture as you are reading it. I loved it!! I was laughing and cringing all at the same time.. I also liked how she kept her characters from her Demonica series in this as well.. I will be looking forward to IMMORTAL RIDER next..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eternal Rider (Demonica Book 6)
$6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.