Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes from the Edge is BACK!!!!, October 27, 2008
Once more Nathan and Kelly must pack their bags and start trekking through dimensions to try and find Nathan's parents and stop Mictar's evil plans.

I liked this book every bit as much as Beyond the Reflection's Edge, if not quite so much as the Dragons in our Midst and Oracles of Fire books. Mr. Davis is a masterful storyteller, and it shows in Eternity's Edge. Harrowing chases, complex mysteries, and mysterious characters abound, but none of them can stand in Nathan Shepherd's way as he pushes on, with the help of his friends Kelly, Daryl, Dr. Gordon, and Clara. If you're a fan of Mr. Davis, and even if you're not, you'll love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a thrill ride!, October 19, 2008
Wow! Hang onto your seats everyone - when you read this book you are in for a wild ride!!! This is book #2 in a trilogy and it is wonderful. One word of caution though, I highly recommend reading the 1st and 2nd books back to back so you stay in the flow of Earth Red, Earth Yellow, Nathan Blue, Clara Red, Nathan Yellow, etc... I actually picked the 1st one up and read the last few chapters to try and refresh my memory but I know that reading them in direct sequence would be very helpful. I read the 1st one back in June and have read 75 (no joke) other books in between these two so no surprise that the details were a little fuzzy :-)

This is a mind bending thrill ride that will take your breath away. It may be hard for pre-teens to follow, but teens and adults alike will love this book. I can't wait for #3 to come out and wrap everything up for me! I just kept thinking what a cool movie this series would make...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fantasy lovers and music lovers!, October 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Eternity' Edge is at the top of my list for Christian speculative fiction. There is plenty of action, and music lovers will really enjoy how much music is a key the book. I also enjoyed how the main character, Nathan Shepherd, is so chivalrous. That may sound "old fashioned", but I think it sets a great example for the young men who might pick this book up. It is well worth your time to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!!, October 27, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eternity's Edge (Echoes from the Edge) (Paperback)
Eternity's Edge is the second installment in the thrilling and wonderful, Echoes from the Edge series. Bryan Davis whipped up a masterpiece in this book of suspense and mystery, filled with the true love of friends. Kelly is in the hospital from Mictar's last assault on her life essence, leaving her vision blurry and Kelly half blind. But even a hospital isn't a safe place for her. Kelly gets two visitors simultaneously, Mictar and his life sucking persona, and Nathan making sure she's alright. When Mictar makes a play on her life, Nathan tries to stop the dimensional stalkers' revenge, but even he is no match for Mictar's power. Not hearing anything from inside the door during Mictar's motor suspension, Tony barges in tries to intervene. But Mictar only pauses for a second before removing Tony from the fight. With only a radio for help they blast classical in an attempt to cut through Mictar's hellish tunes, and barely succeed.

With this intensely gripping start to kick off the plot, Mr. Davis brings to bear a powerful second book in the series. The book is woven spanning multiple dimensions and countless lives that will never be the same. The search for Nathan's parents continues amongst inter-dimensional portals with the mirrors. With the right song, is it true they could go anywhere? During the uses of Quattro, Nathan and Kelly being to realize something is different about the Quattro mirror, even wrong? It does more than it seems it should , but doesn't always react the same, it's not predictable...it's almost as if it has a mind of its' own.

On a trip, with the now young girl Francesca, Nathan is taken into the realm of Supplicants and guardians by their musical serenade. With his song they are transported to the land of dream and song. On their voyage he meets his supplicant, Scarlet. His intercessor. He is her love, and she intercedes for him with her life's entire passion, but what will the cost be? Could the cost be her life? Patar arrives time and time again spouting cryptic passages to the son of Solomon. His words seem to make no sense to Nathan...But even as strangely as they sound, doubts come to Nathan. Do they make too much sense? Is he really being selfish, about his parents, his wants, Kelly? What about the supplicants, do they really have to die? Patar seems to think so, is it just more doom and gloom prophecies? What would Mr. Shepherd do? Nathan is driven by doubts that confuse his choices trying to keep his father's choices his choices. Could Francesca be right, what if Nathan needs to stop looking to what his father would do and try to figure out what he should do.

Kelly's past life still comes back to haunt her, and can she overcome it? Can she still help Nathan search for his parents? What does she think about Nathan? About his ideals, will she wait? Kelly will sacrifice everything for him, but when will Nathan tell her about the Lord, and the redemption found there?

Nathan's parents, are still on the run from Mictar, will they be found? Nathan, Clara, and Kelly's counterparts and slowly being destroyed in the different worlds, will they be next?

Check out this awesome book by Mr. Davis!! It's a must for your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Heaven and two or three earths to find his parents, January 30, 2013
"If it's spunk you want, it's spunk you'll get, especially since we might have to move Heaven and two or three earths to find him!"

Book: Eternity's Edge (Echoes from the Edge) by Bryan Davis, Zondervan Publishers 2008 (republished 2011)
Genre: Science Fiction
Subjects: Loss, Good vs. Evil, Purity, Friendship, Love
Summary: Armed with the knowledge that his parents are actually still alive, Nathan along with Kelly and friends from all three earths set out to try and find and rescue them. The journey is filled with both danger and tragedy as Mictar pursues them. If that wasn't hard enough, the one person his dad said he could trust keeps appearing and challenging not only Nathan's actions, but his very motives! He asks Nathan to do the unthinkable, putting the fate of the world ahead of the fate of Nathan's loved ones. Nathan has to dig deep into his heart to find courage and the true meaning of love.
Notes: This is the second in the Echoes From The Edge trilogy. It's a science fiction book about different dimensions/time travel/alternate realities. The idea is that the characters have found a way to visit different dimensions and interact with themselves in those different dimensions. As in the first book, the spiritual value comes in the realistic fiction part, the interactions between the teenagers. Nathan struggles to come to grips with his parents' death and fights to cling to the values they've taught him. When Kelly, an attractive girl who is used to using her body to get the attention of boys, enters his world he must learn what love really looks like and how to show love to someone from a worldview so vastly different than his own. In this second book, Nathan's faith and definition of love gets challenged even further. It's no longer enough to rely on what his dad has taught him. He is forced to decide for himself what is right and wrong.
Spiritual Content Recommendation Scale: 5/5
Reviewer: J:-)mi

2 Timothy 1:7 - For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.

Thank you to Zondervan for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eternity's Edge, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this and part three ogf the series for my son for Christmas, now he has the complete 3 part series and he really enjoyed reading them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!, September 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great twists and turns, just when you think it is getting boring he adds a great twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, November 9, 2008
I love all of Bryan Davis's books, I think they are really good thought provoking reads. Thanks for sharing your imaginative stories. I think this book is a great sequel even though a litlle hard to follow it's worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific sequel, October 19, 2008
By 
Stacey (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Bryan Davis' second offering in the Echoes From The Edge series is a thrilling, fast-paced fantasy novel for teens. "Eternity's Edge" continues the action-packed adventure of teenage hero, Nathan Shepherd and his friend, Kelly as they try to save their world. They battle beings from parallel dimensions and encounter worlds very different from the home they are trying to rescue.

Davis brilliantly draws his teen audience, exposing them to God throughout the story. The characters are likeable, the plots are engaging, and the science fiction/fantasy genre is bound to spark the reader's imagination. I highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great continuation of the face paced journey, October 17, 2008
I really liked this one. I absolutely loved the first in the trilogy Beyond the Reflection's Edge and now I'm really excited about the third coming in 2009, Nightmare's Edge. This series has been my introduction to Bryan Davis and I admit he has taken me on quite the adventure. This journey into the fantasy world or alternate Earths has been quite invigorating. So many twists and turns that it is hard to keep up, but so worth it. I highly recommend the series.

This book is still full of the morality and virtuous parts that made the first book so enjoyable as well as the awesome plot. But this novel has some growth of romance that would give even the disinterested person chills. It is marketed as a Teen Fiction, but as a young adult I thoroughly enjoyed it and I definitely believe that other adults would as well, the only thing teen about it to me is that the main characters are teens.

Fast paced and a complete thrill ride, this book brings you into a reality that is complex but amazing. I would not recommend reading this book alone, although you could. I'd say you should go back to the first book to get the full benefit of this continuing story as well. Go out and get your copy right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eternity's Edge (Echoes from the Edge)
Eternity's Edge (Echoes from the Edge) by Bryan Davis (Paperback - October 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $5.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.