Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost made perfectly....
Jess Franco did a fine job, considering it was 1969, being able to film this "future cult classic" at all. You would never be able to see anything close to this style of film being made today, not even in the adult film section of your video store! The sometimes campy, but decently written screenplay, had sex scenes just erotic enough to keep you awaiting the next...
Published on December 17, 2002

versus
28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird movie!
I thought the movie was alright, but I am sorry that I bought it. I would rather have just rented it. It seems like half of the movie is out of focus, I am sure it is on purpose but I just don't get it. There are a few erotic scenes but they are not worth the price.
Published on March 17, 2003 by Eric


Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost made perfectly...., December 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
Jess Franco did a fine job, considering it was 1969, being able to film this "future cult classic" at all. You would never be able to see anything close to this style of film being made today, not even in the adult film section of your video store! The sometimes campy, but decently written screenplay, had sex scenes just erotic enough to keep you awaiting the next (sexual) tension filled moments to come. However, because of the times, this movie was not as overtly sexual, as some other soft porn classics became just a few years later. The director left alot to your imagination, which isn't a bad thing necessarily. There were a few scenes I wish he could have taken a bit further, showing additional candid sexuality. The premise of the story is utterly arousing and sensual. This film is for couples and will excite any sexually open woman who watches it. Who doesn't want to be the private voyer watching over the demise of a young innocent girl? Particularly at the hands of evil adults who want to enjoy her body and then make her suffer for being so dirty? It has all the elements of a classic Euro-cult film...and therefore it is!
If watching a beautiful young Swedish actress spend a lot of time in the nude, while being abused by a middle aged couple is a turn on for you....I highly recommend this film. Another even better choice would be "The Image". Both films will soak a woman's crotch and put a rise in your pants......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, October 27, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
I've just seen one of the most compelling films made in Europe. The cast of the film pulled all the stops to make it really intense and erotic. The good things about that though is that Jesus Franco doesn't have to be explicit to shock or anything but leaves everything to your imagination. The only down-turn in it all, is that the film maybe finishes to quickly! Once the beautiful Eugenie gets on Long Island you don't want to see the end of the film! She's drugged and abused but to her it's still an experience that she finds intriguing and exciting! I recommend you see this film and I bet you'll go and try to find a similar as soon as it ends. Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird movie!, March 17, 2003
By 
Eric (Deltona, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
I thought the movie was alright, but I am sorry that I bought it. I would rather have just rented it. It seems like half of the movie is out of focus, I am sure it is on purpose but I just don't get it. There are a few erotic scenes but they are not worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan..., July 21, 2003
By 
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
All the reviews here are from people who are not or who are not necessarily fans of Jess Franco's work. Let it be said though, if you are already a fan, you are going to love this dvd - it's his best film, and available for the first time ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fast forward review, June 4, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
Well, just keep your finger on the fast button, because there are zero sleaze scenes worth keeping or even looking at here. We're talking typical rotten Franco effects, including one scene with so much red light you can hardly tell what's going on, and a single whipping scene that is quite obviously being done with soft bathrobe belts. The only thing in the entire film worth a peek is a suntan oiling scene, but it wouldn't even rate the Playboy channel. No stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Would not spend my dollars for this dvd., July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
I would not recommend this film. The plot could have been developed better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay for a rainy day, as they say., September 3, 2003
By 
e5150 (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
The problem I have with Franco films is this: they're full of beautiful naked women that really don't do much but lounge around. An erotic film should have something remotely akin to a sexual encounter. Even in 1969 they could do that, especially in Europe. Well, there is some minor lesbianism in a scene or 2, but....
I'm not going to get into plot details because few people in this film's crowd are interested in sitting through this to critique the plot. If it's truly based on a De Sade work then great, but from my experience a De Sade tale honestly transferred to film would in reality be nothing less than XXX rated (and in some cases a snuff film). So clearly there are elements missing from this flick in the translation from book to movie, as it's not pornographic. Just a PSA to De Sade literary fans.
Franco--with his total of 3 movies bearing the "Eugenie" title--gives De Sade a bad name, believe it or not. The books are much better, and not as tame as Franco makes them out to be.
However, compared to his contemporary Jean Rollin (who was comfortable making the occasional porn film, as it happens), Franco certainly had decent budgets to work with and clearly used them well. He gets sexy actresses, and nice movie sets which fit the story. His direction isn't pedestrian, but he must have skipped school on the day that really important filming techniques were discussed, such as keeping the audience engrossed with the characters. So he decided to make up for that by parading nude women around, and I will definitely not complain! It's always a plus when a film has nudity with a purpose, and I think Jess Franco typically manages to provide that purpose.
"Justine" is probably the highlight of his career, but this particular Eugenie film, overall, is actually pretty entertaining. Not something you'd want to watch again and again, but one that you'll find yourself wanting to pull out of the shelf on occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Soledad Miranda-Where are you?, June 5, 2004
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion (DVD)
I came to this film after watching Eugenie de Sade, also made by Jess Franco; but, sadly, not availabe in America at the moment. The contrast between the two is startling. I love Eugenie de Sade; but of course, that film had Soledad Miranda in the title part and this film does not, which may explain a lot.
This film fails for three reasons: the acting, the direction, and the script.
Firstly, the acting. To say that Marie Liljedahl is no Soledad Franco would be a little unfair; after all, who is? That she made her name as a porn star rather than as an actress is apparant throughout every scene in this film. Half the time she seems to fumble in front of the camera wondering what to do. Maybe she is looking for direction from Jess Franco which, apparantly, she doesnt get. She isn't helped by the fact that this is an English language production and her voice is so-very-obviously dubbed. She also has to play opposite Maria Rohm, who excels, as does Christopher Lee.
Secondly, the direction. Jess Franco comes over like an amateur film maker with no real idea of what to do. His over use of the red filter, his clumsy editing, and his inability to direct Marie Liljedahl damns the film completely. Although this is obviously made be the same director that made Eugenie de Sade the following year, his flair seems to have deserted him here. Maybe he needs Soledad Miranda to inspire him?
Thirdly, the script. The idea of an innocent girl being slowly corrupted until she becomes evil is a fascinating theme. Sadly, the script handles it in such a kack-handed manner that I failed completely to believe that Eugenie would behave in such a way. She would be traumatised by her experiences, not corrupted.
So there you have it. One Goddamnawful film! It has one redeeming point: Marie Liljedahl's bottom. (This is what the one star is for) If she wasn't voted Rear of the Year in 1969 when this film was made, then she should have been. However, if this is not reason enough to buy this DVD, then buy Eugenie de Sade instead-it's available from Amazon UK. Eugenie de Sade - Now there is a minor classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eugenie - The Story of Her Journey Into Perversion
Used & New from: $27.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.