Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars YAY!!
i got mine dirt cheap, D*** fast, and well packaged. The only issue i have is that the shirt is too large for me to wear comfortably.
Published 10 months ago by Cody Pierce

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POSTCARD FROM JAPAN
A paradox of good and bad cinema, like last year's "Dancer in the Dark", it is a mile-wide screen of bleak, bright images, like watching clothes drying on a clothes line in a mesmerized trance. The country of Japan has never before been seen as beautiful and revealing as this, miles of winding road hillsides and clay carved suburbia as comfortable as "The...
Published on June 24, 2001 by Guy De Federicis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars YAY!!, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) (DVD)
i got mine dirt cheap, D*** fast, and well packaged. The only issue i have is that the shirt is too large for me to wear comfortably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) (DVD)
I have always been a fan of the eureka seven series and was happy to get such a cool product from the show at such a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) (DVD)
If you are a Eureka Seven Fan
This is a must have collectors item
Good condition and all items were in accordance with what it came with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) (DVD)
Great product, must have collector's item. Although it was shipped poorly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dewey Strikes Back, October 31, 2007
By 
Dylan (Pennsylvania, United States) - See all my reviews
In volume 9 of Eureka Seven on DVD, you will recieve four action packed episodes of the show that help explain much and provide serious emotion. Specifically, these are episodes 35 upto and including 38. If you have yet to see the episodes before these, don't read on or my following review will confuse you.

The Gekko has a new goal- rescue the Vodarac priest Master Norb. Norb has confronted Dewey in the capital and the Gekko must do all it can to save him, but Eureka quickly tires of all the fighting. Dewey explains to Norb how foolish the public really is and states that they are easily controllable. When Holland finally arrives and confronts Dewey, it is Dewey who has underestimated his little brother! As the Gekko escapes after making Dewey look like a fool, he begins his master plan...

Now that Norb is on the Gekko, can he show them the true purpose of Renton and Eureka? A discussion between science and religion begins to explain facts about the planet and how to possibly save it as Master Norb and Dr. Bear begin to share ideas while Stoner records it, hoping to bring the truth to the masses. However, Dewey is one step ahead and introduces his Ageha Squad, a squad made to fight coralians and one that is led by Anemone. The masses huddle around Dewey who claims this squad was actually made by Adrock Thurston!

In truth, Dewey causes coralians to attack and then has his forces move in simply to make him look good in the public's eye. The masses, oblivious to this, give him huge support as the true savior of the planet. Dewey has more power than ever before in the series. While Dewey spreads lies, Eureka reveals to Renton that she actually knew his father! The shocked Renton is mad at first, but later feels bad for Eureka as the two share a bonding moment when we finally learn what truly happened to Adrock. As Renton and Eureka's bond grows in strength, so too does Dewey's power. Dewey finally confronts the sage council and kills two of them and recieves all the power from the third, now Dewey is in full command.

While this volume is certainly dramatic, it does have its lighter side. Renton's discussion with Holland about his sister explains much about their relationship and leaves Holland as the true hero he was always meant to be. Renton's other discussion with Moondoggie and Matthieu is just plain hilarious. As is Holland's reaction when he thinks Renton has done something that is, in his eyes, terrible to Eureka.

Overall four very emotional episodes of a truly wonderful series. We are still moving closer to the eventual finale. The extras are lacking, but there is a nice voice actor interview and one commentary as usual. Again, the subtitles are in english. As our story continues, we'll learn more about the planet, and why Master Norb is so important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic In All Areas, May 8, 2002
By A Customer
"Eureka" is one of those films most people would not sit through because of it's near 4 hour length. Forget time, the sit is worth it for this superior Japanese Foreign Film. Exquisively acted and directed, "Eureka," is a film you don't want to miss.
The story revolves around a brother and sister, and a busdriver, all who survived a busjacking. They eventually all three end up together because of tragic circumstances, along with the siblings' cousin for the ride. Though it moves slow, it feels as if you're with them, watching everything they see, and feel. It's the kind of movie you have to pay close attention to in order to be rewarded with it's unexpected ending. The only thing that may make keep you from watching it, besides it's length, is it's thematical material. It is extremely depressing, no happiness, until the end, even though it is still very depressing. Great cinematograpy, camera work, acting, direction, music, sound, and what else can I say, but that Eureka, is in deed, a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love for a hijacker, February 15, 2002
No, I don't regret having spent over 3 and 1/2 hours in the movie theater. It was no sacrifice, but yielding so much in return. I never got bored during this time, although the film can hardly be called very suspenseful.
What made me forget the time and relish the story, was the mood created between those four persons, who are so different, but connected by a horrible reminder of a bloody bus hijacking. Missing every assistance of their own relatives, they find together to a new family, helping each other, very slowly regaining the courage of life, until finally, during the last five minutes of the film, the monochrome switches to color, emphasizing the optimistic end.
It's a calm story of friendship and amicable love, of trust in the sense of life and of forgiveness, it's the kind of movie I never forget.
How touching are the 2 scenes, when the girl enumerated the people for whom she was praying: her deceased dad, her gone mom, her brother in prison, her friend the bus driver, and among all these mostly beloved persons, exactly at the third place, she mentioned the dead bus hijacker, so as to care for the soul of this man who had scared her to death and had killed so many innocent passengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See it and judge for yourself!, January 1, 2002
By 
"lkwhip" (Tucson, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This is not a conventional film, and a majority of folks may not like this film. I absolutely loved it. Much of the "story" is presented visually, with very little dialogue. And even at 3.75 hours, I did not get bored. The film looks beautiful! The actors and directing give tons of depth to the characters. This is not a movie that tells you a "story". You watch the events of the characters and hopefully get a sense of what they experience. I felt like I was on the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will this EVER be released on dvd?, May 24, 2002
By A Customer
This is a truly amazing film--demanding, yes, but so is all great art. Stick with it and you will be amply rewarded. But why is this film only available on dvd in Europe and Asia? Region coding = mindless greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't really need the extras, April 24, 2014
By 
Andrew Floyd (MINERVA, OH, US) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) (DVD)
I bought this because the special deal was on sale. I'm not really into T-shirts so the one in this special package will remain in pristine condition and unworn. The manga that came with it will go in my collection, but I don't know if I'll get around to collecting the rest. Why is Vol.11 of this anime so expensive for no reason?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition)
Eureka Seven, Volume 9 (Special Edition) by Shinji Aoyama (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: $36.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.