Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job
I had never used European hinges before, so i didn't know what I was doing or what to expect. but this item provides a nice template and takes out the guess work. I've used it about 10 times and works like a charm. Just put it on the wood and drill away; get the right hole everytime. Be aware that the router bit, shown in the photo, doesn't come with this item, in case...
Published on August 16, 2010 by jimmymo

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works well as a jig
Takes the guess work and measuring out of installing Euro hinges. I've used this jig on 12 cabinet doors so far and it works great. In fact, the default setting for the location of the hole worked just fine with my Euro hinges. One thing to note: The jig is made of hard plastic and as I drill the hole with a forster bit it starts to wear away at the inside hole of the...
Published 22 months ago by Cohoman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, August 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
I had never used European hinges before, so i didn't know what I was doing or what to expect. but this item provides a nice template and takes out the guess work. I've used it about 10 times and works like a charm. Just put it on the wood and drill away; get the right hole everytime. Be aware that the router bit, shown in the photo, doesn't come with this item, in case you didn't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works well as a jig, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
Takes the guess work and measuring out of installing Euro hinges. I've used this jig on 12 cabinet doors so far and it works great. In fact, the default setting for the location of the hole worked just fine with my Euro hinges. One thing to note: The jig is made of hard plastic and as I drill the hole with a forster bit it starts to wear away at the inside hole of the jig. Not a big deal, but eventually the jig may not be so perfectly round. Well worth the price as it is a timesaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tool...but with an exception., April 28, 2014
By 
Ronald Moortgat "Chatsworthmaster" (Chatsworth, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
This is a very helpful tool, but it has one design flaw. The hinges I were using calls for a 1/8" spacing from the edge of the door to the edge of the 35mm drilled hole. This tool (without any modification) will only allow you to drill the hinge hole about 3/16" from the edge. (the picture incorrectly shows the jig upside-down) To correct for this problem, I had to make a metal insert that fits under the screws that forces the jig back from the edge of the door by 1/16". Once this was done the jig worked perfectly for about 30 hinges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boring Jig for 35 mm concealed euro style hinge, July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
The jig does the job. I would buy again.
For a first time user the instructions were alright, but some of the steps could be explained better.
If you have never installing an euro style concealed hinge you will make mistakes to start with.
Use scrap material the same thickness of your doors to test drill in.
Mount the hinge in the test board then mount on the cabinet frame.
Keep test drilling until you get a hinge hole setback placement that will work for your cabinet.
Sometimes the published setback distance for the hinge hole from the door edge is not correct.
Take your time to get everything right then drill the doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool for the money., November 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
I haven't actually made my doors yet, but I did try the jig on some pieces of 3/4" scrap and the hinges worked great. The jig worked perfectly.Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!, October 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
I had to bore 40 hinge holes and this jog helped me keep everyone centered. I'm glad I didn;t spend the money on a more expensive type of jig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
Once I understood the directions, I was able to lay out and drill my hinges quickly. Great little tool for the price compared to other jigs on the market. I only needed It for 35 doors I was putting together and did not want to give a arm and a leg for a jig. It gets the job done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 14, 2014
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, July 13, 2014
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
Unecessary tool, better off using a plywood jig or just freehand drilling the cup holes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not used, June 20, 2014
By 
This review is from: Concealed Hinge Boring Jig (Misc.)
Couldn't figure out how to use it, or the purpose for the screws. Didn't use. Found it easier to just measure and draw lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Concealed Hinge Boring Jig
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.