Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Beatings and Beauty, November 11, 2001
By 
Laurie Seeman (West Nyack, New York United States) - See all my reviews
The author has taken an artful look at her painful family
background in a way that is amazing. The sincerity and poignant detailing suggest that the author has not borrowed trouble to write about, but does in fact know it very intimately, and has used the power of creativity to rise above and even flourish.
No one can read this book and not be inspired to look with more colorful curiosity at any trouble in their life.
All people in Alcohol and abuse programs would take heart from reading this. This book suggests tools for taking a liberating apprach to life. A beautiful book of love and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good readin' Bad spellin', September 22, 2001
By 
D. P. Birkett (Suffern, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Memoirs of a terrible childhood marred by poverty, alcoholism and abuse in Southern Illinois. Later on the abused children look after their dying father, a WWII veteran with a PhD, and seek his love. These terrible childhoods always make good stories when told by their survivors. The worse the childhood the better the story because we know that the writer survived to become a person who could write a book. It's always a question as to how much is true (I've heard that Frank McCourt's mother was a New York secretary) but this one could stand on its own as fiction. We're given a lot of jacket biography, and even a cover designed by the author, that form an intrinsic part of the story. I share the other reviewers' irritation with the apostrophes on the gerunds but I guess them white trash aint gonna mind that none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, great writin', bad spellin', good tellin', November 24, 2013
By 
Linda St. John wrote a vivid and inspiring memoir about her life growing up in Southern Illinois. The characters in this book feel like they are sitting right beside you at times. I could imagine the characters through the way the author describes them. Anybody should be able to relate to this somewhat dysfunctional family, as families are always a mix of different characters and personalities. The chapters are short but to the point, often a little brutal and often times funny. This book finds truth and humor in that sometimes volatile mix-- here is a insert from the book to give you an idea what it is like:

"Dad was back to lining up old lotto stubs and lookin' at the cross word puzzle he couldn't fill in and the newspaper he couldn't read. The same old routine. He drank coffee and ice water and lit cigarette after cigarette... just sittin' there. He swallowed the pills mom laid out for him and he ate the slop that she brough in on a tray. But one day he couldn't ride the bicycle anymore. He was out in the yard fixin' to get on it and he nearly fell over."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorites, October 3, 2011
This review is from: Even Dogs Go Home to Die: A Memoir (Illinois) (Paperback)
I read this book years ago. As a writer and teacher of memoir it remains one of my absolute favorite books. I love how Linda takes all the uptightness and prissiness out of writing, and creates a clear believable picture of another world, a very real one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, August 19, 2008
This review is from: Even Dogs Go Home to Die: A Memoir (Illinois) (Paperback)
Ms St. John's style of writing had me turning page after page wondering just what happened next. I would put the book down for a moment thinking I could just walk away and do the things that needed to be done. I was wrong. I found myself drawn back to Southern Illinois and the St. John family. It brought back memories of my own dysfunctional family. I highly recommend this book, not just for those that may have lived through a similar upbringing, but for anyone that wants a good read and a glimpse into how one woman overcame so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sharp voice, great story teller, December 4, 2002
By A Customer
Linda St. John is a wonderful talent and tells her remarkable story of surviving a stark upbringing with wit and insight in the package of a really good read. The story moves along. Her characters are tremendously vivid and orginal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and memorable, September 10, 2001
By A Customer
This is a harrowing, yet funny, tale of the author's disturbing childhood. It reminded me of THE LIAR'S CLUB but it's unique not only in the way it's told, but in the voice of the author. What I like best is knowing that the author overcame everything she's written about here to go on to a successful career as an artist. Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars catptivating, November 19, 2004
By 
Pauline Scoggins "itzpms" (nashville, tn United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Even Dogs Go Home to Die: A Memoir (Illinois) (Paperback)
haven't read it yet but can't wait. i actually saw on powells.com this book offered for $8.50 and no special order fee. just an fyi. look forward to an enchanting and engrossing read - it's been awhile...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Even Dogs Go Home to Die: A Memoir (Illinois)
Even Dogs Go Home to Die: A Memoir (Illinois) by Linda St. John (Paperback - October 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.