Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Explains the Concepts Very Well.
Viewed: 7/14
Rate: 4

7/14: Already familiar with the ins and outs of statistics routinely taught in universities, I gave Even You Can Learn Statistics a cursory look on a plane ride since I got the pdf file for free. I think it is not bad at all; the definitions are clearly laid out and filled with conceptual discussions. The formulas are given out in an...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Math Expert

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so
This book tries to break down statistics into an understandable format, but I learn best by doing. While the book has sample problems for you to work out, the answers do not come with explanations, so if you didn't get it right the first time, you have no idea where you went wrong.
Published on May 19, 2010 by Kimberly Colley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so, May 19, 2010
By 
Kimberly Colley (Lexington, KY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
This book tries to break down statistics into an understandable format, but I learn best by doing. While the book has sample problems for you to work out, the answers do not come with explanations, so if you didn't get it right the first time, you have no idea where you went wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not a well written book, March 9, 2013
By 
Helene Gray (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had to buy this book for a class. It is just not well written. I am three chapters in and have found multiple formula errors. It makes studying more difficult when the example that is supposed to explain a concept is referring to another concept or doesn't work out mathematically. I use this to find out what the teacher wants for the assignments and I use another book to clarify the concepts this one is trying to explain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars read about 1/4 of it and gave up, April 19, 2012
By 
ilbob (Northern IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I downloaded this for free in the Kindle edition as I was interested in (re)learning some statistics.

The first thing I noticed was the book is horribly formatted. A number of places the embedded formatting commands are displayed. There are chapter numbers and paragraph numbers, but the way different levels of headings are formatted don't make it real obvious what level one is at. A lot of key words are capitalized and bolded in a font that makes them stand out more than the section headings that are smaller and lower case. Overall, the way the book is formatted makes it hard for me to follow.

I went back to it several times hoping for something out of it that would be helpful to me, but it was not to be. I think the formatting issues are almost insurmountable for me. It made the content all but impossible for me to deal with.

It seems like a good idea that maybe a decent editor could reformat and make more usable, but in its current form I am not going to spend any more time on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Memorize and take a test., December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is factual and if you can wade through it, useful. The writing has a social/political attitude, which is slightly annoying. But the problem with the book is that it starts by giving about 20 words for which you must memorize the definitions assigned to them within this specific profession or discipline, which is not the common English definition. A good editor who also knows how to write could turn this into a real gem by starting with examples and pivoting off those to an explanation of what the various elements are and how they affect each other. But I admire and respect anyone who can write a book and I applaud the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars confusing, November 9, 2010
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I took two statistics courses in college and wanted a refresher. I thought the way things were explained in this book were terrible and if I didn't have previous experience with statistics I would have had no idea what was going on. This book made me afraid of statistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hate it, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
this book was not very helpful for me in my statistics class. I would not recommend this book to someone who is not math savvy or hasn't had math since high school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Explains the Concepts Very Well., July 16, 2014
By 
Mr. Math Expert (Somewhere in New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Viewed: 7/14
Rate: 4

7/14: Already familiar with the ins and outs of statistics routinely taught in universities, I gave Even You Can Learn Statistics a cursory look on a plane ride since I got the pdf file for free. I think it is not bad at all; the definitions are clearly laid out and filled with conceptual discussions. The formulas are given out in an organized format. In so many ways, Even You Can Learn Statistics feels more like a Cliffs Review than a full workbook. It does have a nice review at the end of chapters with very relevant questions. So, I recommend the book for those who are already familiar with it. The others who are not should be directed to The Humongous Book of Statistics Problems or Schaum's Outline of Beginning Statistics, Second Edition (Schaum's Outline Series). All in all, Even You Can Learn Statistics does the job well, and it looks perfectly acceptable to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful step by step guide for new people to understand how to do the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
A good book for a Bible student
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even You Can Learn Statistiscs, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I ordered this book when I took a statistics class at a local college. This book was written well and helped me make an A in the class. I was very happy with the way the book is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Even You Can Learn Statistics: A Guide for Everyone Who Has Ever Been Afraid of Statistics (2nd Edition)
Used & New from: $3.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.