Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for reluctant readers
I met Gordon Korman last fall. He explained how he researched the book and some stories behind the writing of this series. After hearing him talk about the series, I had to get it for our nephew for Christmas. It is a great series with a huge cliffhanger at the end of each book in the trilogy, very well written especially for reluctant readers.
Published 17 months ago by Tim Donnelly

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but not especially engaging for my 4th graders
I bought several of these to use with a 4th grade guided reading group, hoping to move us into longer chapter books and study elements of fiction in greater detail. These books served as an adequate but unspectacular tool within these lessons - my students were very engaged in the concept of these books (climbing Everest) but the actual story itself never roped them in...
Published 5 months ago by E. Hanna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for reluctant readers, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everest Book One: The Contest (Paperback)
I met Gordon Korman last fall. He explained how he researched the book and some stories behind the writing of this series. After hearing him talk about the series, I had to get it for our nephew for Christmas. It is a great series with a huge cliffhanger at the end of each book in the trilogy, very well written especially for reluctant readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST BOOK EVER!!!, March 19, 2013
This review is from: Everest Book One: The Contest (Paperback)
This was the best book series I have ever read!!!I read it in fourth grade with my class, and we were always wondering what was going to happen next!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - Lots of Higfh Adventure, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was high adventure with lots of adolescent behavior mixed in. It certainly set up te next book in the series which I will read soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good first book, June 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Looking forward to reading the next one. What will Tilt Crowley get up to on Everest? Read on to find out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a story, May 7, 2014
i read all three books an found that the way rge book was written really helps you imagin what the characters were feeling and what if he didn't do that what would happen any ways buy the book and imagin it yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It really gives a great laughter when I read this book with my dad I always look forward to reading the next chapter.Each chapter just wants me to keep reading and read the next chapter.My dad and I are reading the next book and it gets more exciting.This book makes me so nervous to always see what will happen in the chapter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but not especially engaging for my 4th graders, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everest Book One: The Contest (Paperback)
I bought several of these to use with a 4th grade guided reading group, hoping to move us into longer chapter books and study elements of fiction in greater detail. These books served as an adequate but unspectacular tool within these lessons - my students were very engaged in the concept of these books (climbing Everest) but the actual story itself never roped them in. We shifted the focus of our lessons about 2 weeks ago after we were 70 pages into the book, and I've yet to have one of my students ask me when we're going to finish the Everest story. I think a couple of my kids were happy to see it go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everest #1, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome book! So epic! Has lots of action! If you like climbing and adventure read this awesome book! So cool!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars does not work, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I recently bought this book to defend myself against hobos, I decided I would test it out by going to the ghetto and letting some people mug me, but I hit them in the head but it did not do anything but make him mad so they shot me, I am writing this in the hospital, piece of junk do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everest Book One: The Contest
Everest Book One: The Contest by Gordon Korman (Paperback - March 1, 2012)
$5.99 $4.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.