Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another strong season of an excellent show
First, I have to point out that I'm reviewing Season Three of EVERWOOD. The other three reviews appear to be of Season Two. My only guess is that at some point Amazon had this listed as Season Two and changed it.

I'm giving Season Three five stars even though I don't think it was quite as good as the previous two seasons. This could be a perception issue,...
Published on September 7, 2009 by Robert Moore

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very annoyed
I purchased this as a gift, well in advance of when I gave it. Imagine my surprise when we finally got around to viewing it to discover that of a FIVE disc set, we had TWO DISC # 3 and NO DISC #4.

Neither Amazon nor Mars would make good on it because of the extra month or so 'til we discovered the mistake. Anyone need an extra DISC # 3, Third Season?
Published 19 months ago by Q


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another strong season of an excellent show, September 7, 2009
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
First, I have to point out that I'm reviewing Season Three of EVERWOOD. The other three reviews appear to be of Season Two. My only guess is that at some point Amazon had this listed as Season Two and changed it.

I'm giving Season Three five stars even though I don't think it was quite as good as the previous two seasons. This could be a perception issue, but Season Three seemed to be slightly melodramatic, slightly more inclined to milk dire situations, a bit more inclined to do "very special episodes." I also found myself getting more irritated with characters than before. Ephram's meltdown after finding out about why Madison left town was hard to take at times. And while one of the appeals of the show was its willingness to present Andy Brown as a protagonist with feet of clay, in Season Three he simply makes too many bad decisions and involves himself in too many family crises of his own making.

Still, the show continued to be a superior family drama. While it bordered on soap opera at times, it usually corrected itself and kept the story moving in significant ways. Why doesn't this qualify as soap opera? The latter never really goes anywhere. One of the more important scholarly studies of the genre is entitled STORIES WITHOUT END. Each story arc in a way establishes a reset and season after season the characters simply waffle around, never really going anywhere significant. There is a certain arbitrariness to anything that happens to any of the characters and a sense that just about anything could happen to any of them, and that any soap opera character is capable of changes that in real life would be incompatible with the rest of their life history. But in EVERWOOD only certain behaviors are open to Andy or Harold or Amy or Ephram. In a soap opera if a character engages in quite extreme behavior is simply belongs to the genre, it is part of its charm. But if characters in a family drama go too far it is perceived as a fault.

I like also that the show is willing to go to some places that make us feel conflicted. The newly arrived Jake Hartman becomes involved with Andy's next door neighbor Nina, even as we know that Nina is in love with Andy and Andy comes to realize that he has some feelings for Nina. Andy has a romantic involvement that is intense and highly improper. We are surprised often, disappointed frequently, and pleased occasionally. I didn't like everything that happened in Season Three, but the mark of a character driven drama like this is that you come to care for the characters and what happens to them. In most instances that comes to trump plot, which is secondary.

There were some nice guest appearances in Season Three, including Anne Heche in a multi-arc appearance, though my favorite was an uncredited cameo by Treat Williams's HAIR co-star John Savage as a heavily bearded but appreciative patient in the season finale.

Season Three has not yet been announced on DVD, but Greg Berlanti has hinted that the chances are good that we will see the final two seasons. Much of the hold up has been music. They had to change a great deal of the music in the first two seasons and comparable changes are taking place with additional seasons. I tend to be pretty tolerant of these kinds of changes. I'm a practical realist. NORTHERN EXPOSURE would never have appeared on DVD if the music hadn't been changed. ALLY MCBEAL took far longer to debut on DVD because it took so long to clear the licensing (probably the only show that had specific music integral to the show is a different Greg Berlanti creation, ELI STONE). But ALLY MCBEAL is going to sell a heck of a lot of copies than EVERWOOD. The only chance that EVERWOOD has of coming out on DVD is for it to cut its costs as much as possible. So, I think there is a good chance that all four seasons of EVERWOOD will appear on DVD, but I also think it inevitable that most of the music will be changed. And I think that is OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everwood Season 2, July 2, 2009
By 
G. Hansen (east coast, u.s.a.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
Everwood Season 2, Is FANTASTIC...I've waited so long to see season 2 AND now I am waiting for season 3..it was worth the wait, it is a T.V. series that you should put on your list. It is Family friendly, full of the right amount of drama, suspense and the BEST characters. The life appealing drama has wit and tears, it has exactly what so many of us face in daily living, if not us, than people we know. Again, totally worth it, quality is great, adventure, family humor, sincereity and believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everwood - one of a kind, August 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
Season 2 is what first got my husband and I hooked. We then watched 3 and 4 as they aired and bought the season 1 DVD. And we do actually think Season 1 is the best - we've watched the whole season proabably four times all the way through. But season two is good, and introduces the Madison character which is key to the rest of the show. Also gives Bright's character a chance to develop. There is just about nothing worth watching on TV these days, and we miss Everwood so much! Gossip Girl and 90210, etc. are just trash. No soul at all. Friday Night Lights is excellent, and a good fill-in while waiting for Everwood DVDs to come out. I can't recommend Everwood enough. It is one of a kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everwood Season 3 On DVD, Season 4 Coming Soon (June 2011), February 17, 2010
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
The action was fans demanding the remaining seasons on DVD. The reaction is the continuing release of this series. The complete third season has been announced as a 6 disc set being released on June 15th, 2010. This year continues to be good to fans who have waited a while for their favorite shows to make it to DVD, Daria has been announced as has old favorite sitcom Family Matters. Now Everwood, which suffered poor sales on it's first season release and took a long time to release it's second season only to do so with music changes, is releasing it's third of four seasons in the same style it released it's second. This set will contain the following 22 episodes:

1 For Every Action...
2 ...There is a Reaction
3 Staking Claim
4 The Birds and the Batteries
5 Sacrifice
6 Shoot the Moon
7 Best Laid Plans
8 The Tipping Point
9 The Reflex
10 Need to Know
11 Complex Guilt
12 Giving Up the Girl
13 The Perfect Day
14 Since You've Been Gone
15 Surprise
16 A Moment in Manhattan
17 Fate Accomplis
18 Fallout
19 Acceptance
20 He Who Hesitates
21 Oh the Places You'll Go
22 Where the Heart Is

Video is in widescreen and Audio is English Stereo. Subtitle in French and Spanish.

This set will definitely have music changes like the second season set did. The only special features you can expect are a blooper/gag reel and some deleted/unaired scenes. At this point I think fans are just happy to be able to own the episodes though.

I used to watch this show each week while in high school and look forward to having the chance to watch it again, this time all at once. This is the season that finds Ephram ending up with Amy, Andy struggling with feelings for a patient's wife, neighbor Nina struggling with her feelings for Andy, new Doctor Jake Hartman arriving in town, and Bright struggling to move forward in life after high school. The character of Hannah, Nina's friend's daughter, was also introduced into the series this season (who coincidentally is also the actress, Sarah Drew, who voiced Quinn's friend Stacy on the soon to be released to DVD, Daria Animated Series). Hannah then spent the season developing a sweet crush on Bright only to doubt that he would ever return her feelings. Delia continues to grow up and Andy Brown struggles to raise her as a single father. Also this season, Andy debates keeping a terrible secret from Ephram regarding past girlfriend Madison. Then to round it out Harold and Rose deal with a serious health issue towards the end of the season. That's a lot of stuff happening and it's only the major plot points.

This was a great drama that had so many more levels and story telling possibilities to it than your typical teenage drama. In fact I wouldn't even classify this as a teenage drama but as a family drama. This show was less about high school and more about the town of Everwood, the people in it and just life in general. We need television to try and bring us more shows like this one. Fans need to buy this set and make sure we get the fourth and final season released.

On an unrelated note, those who loved the down to earth wholesome reality of this show may want to check out NBC's low rated but fan loved series Friday Night Lights, a drama also less about high school or high school football and more about the Texas town of Dillon. The first season of that show was fantastic in a very similar way to Everwood and while the second season lost it's way the third and fourth have brought it right back. They are signed on for a fifth season and more fans could guarantee a sixth. Just throwing that out there, I'd hate to lose another great show too soon. Thanks for your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons of one of the best shows I have ever seen!, March 11, 2010
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
First off, I hate the phrase "family drama" largely because it has such a negative connotation for many people. When you hear the words family drama, you immediately thing of a show that will always sugar coat things, and never venture into the darker areas of the human experience. There are some shows out there like that which may indeed deserve that title, but it gets thrown around far too often, and I think anything labeled as a family drama can keep people who would otherwise like it, from actually giving it a chance. So basically, I don't think of Everwood as a "family drama".

One of the things that seperates Everwood from so many other so-called teen dramas/soaps is that it never really conforms to the standards by which those shows are made. The word I think of most is grounded. Everything from the dialogue which sounds believable, to the characters who usually behave and react as their character should, to ultimately the plotlines which actually sound like they could happen. Imagine that.

Personally, Season three of Everwood is one of my favorite seasons of the show. Emphram and Amy began their long-awaited romance. Smith and Van Camp really do top-notch work here. They have always done so, but this season was really a high water mark for them. You really started to get the sense that this relationship is just one of those truly fated pairings. They will always be in each other's lives.

One of the other things I love about Everwood is the character arcs. These arcs are not just for that particular season, but are part of the tapestry of their entire journey over four seasons on this show. Each season is a mini arc which is part of a larger arc for each character. Bright Abbot for instance is a character who has changed so much. Early season one bright compared this season is at times, virtually unrecognizable due to how much the character has changed and grown over time. Early on he was little more than a typical school jock/bully, but by the end of season three, he is a far far different person. Each character to certain degrees goes through these type of changes, some better, some worse. It's one of the most rewarding aspects of the show.

Season three brought two new characters to the show who would have lasting impacts throughout the rest of the series. Jake Hartman, another doctor shows up and begins a romance with Nina. This complicates things when she begins to realize she is in love with Andy. Jake's character takes some getting used to and although it may be unlikely that three doctors would inhabit a small town like Everwood, if that is the worst the show can do then that is a good thing.

And then there is Hannah, probably one of, if not the biggest fan-favorite on the show. She's just moved to Everwood to stay with Nina, and quickly falls into the Amy/Ephram/Bright group. Initially she is very shy, but her character is very honest and sympathetic and is one of the best things the show has ever done. It really did itself a favor by bringing Hannah into the show.

Andy meanwhile, works with Harold Abbot and begins a romance which is unethical, while his feelings for Nina have yet to be realized. The secret he is keeping about Ephram and Madison still weights heavily and continues to lurk in the dark, waiting to be revealed.

Everwood has never kept itself from going into dark places. From the abortion episode in season 1, to pregnancies, dark secrets, and death, the show has always been willing to show both the comical and light-hearted storylines, as well as the ones that truly change the show and characters. It's a quality that most shows either cannot or won't do, or too often take to the extreme.

Everwood is an all-time top 5 show in my opinion. A gem that most people who never had the WB were never able to see. If you are looking for a show that will hook you in from episode one, then Everwood is something you do not want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Flawed DVD Set of an Exceptional TV Show, November 14, 2010
By 
Michael Anthony Novak (Saint Leo University, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
I am pleased to see in other reviews of how many people have come to discover the delights of "Everwood" through these DVD collections. I do not watch much television, but I will occasionally check a show out on rumors of quality, and "Everwood" remains at the top of a short list of favourites. TV viewers tend to focus upon the actors, which is understandable, and the actors do an outstanding job on this show, and deserve a great deal of credit for its success. But as I get older, I find that I look at the writing and directing credits with more interest, and the writers of "Everwood" managed to do something incredible: they created a body of work that all together has a "literary" quality beyond that of normal American television. "Everwood" is a "Great American Novel" of a television show, and great credit for that has to go to writers like Michael Green, John E. Pogue, Rina Mimoun, Anna Fricke, Joan Binder Weiss, and series creator Greg Berlanti.

Because I think "Everwood" is such a treasure of storytelling, I was relieved when the DVD sets for the later seasons began to come out. As I wrote in my review of the Everwood: The Complete Second Season, however, the way Warner Brothers has preserved this show is a true disappointment. Along with many others, I wrote in my review of Season 2 of the impact of stripping away much of "Everwood's" classic soundtrack in order to make the DVD sets less expensive for Warner Brothers to produce (if not to sell). Other than noting that this altered soundtrack is also part of the Season 3 DVD set, I will not revisit that complaint in detail, other than to protest messing with the artistic integrity of the show itself. Music is selected for reasons beyond marketing current songs, and especially in terms of established classics, you cannot simply replace such music with songs that "sound alike" and achieve the same emotional effect. To use an extreme and perhaps overstated example, replacing John William's "Star Wars" soundtrack with the classical music pieces which inspired it would not have the same effect for the viewer.

I am also dismayed at the cheapness Warner Brothers displays in other aspects of these later DVD sets after Season 1. Like the Season 2 DVD set, Season 3 has no special features worth mentioning. There are not even any deleted scenes, the most standard of extras! There are no commentaries, therefore there is no chance to get into the writers' minds, along with those of the directors and actors, even in the most exceptional episodes in an already-exceptional show. Given the relative ease with which one can put another audio track on a DVD, this is a real tragedy for fans of the show. On Season 2, I missed hearing what the writers would have had to say about their choices to build the major story arcs regarding Madison, Linda Abbott, and the like. On Season 3, such absence of extras is still a glaring omission, and a real loss, given the writers' boldness in their treatment of Andy Brown as the principle protagonist of the show. Even the DVD menus are less attractive and complicated than a creative high school student could have made.

The one bit of "extras" included highlights just how carelessly these DVDs were put together, and I am amazed not to see any complaints about this in other reviews. The "gag reels" included, which are not actually gag reels, but are a few extended shooting outtakes, ARE FROM SEASON 2, NOT FROM SEASON 3. I was interested to see them, but the fact that whoever was putting these things together both offered such minimal extras, and that they could not bother to even collect them from the correct season, approached being an insult to the fans of the show.

Somewhere in the vaults of Warner Brothers, I have to assume that there is a great deal more they could have offered us, along with the original broadcast versions. It is a shame that all this will likely now never been seen again. I have to hope that either these DVDs as they are will still make "Everwood's" reputation grow, so that maybe in the distant future, like some classic movies such as "Bringing Up Baby" or "It's A Wonderful Life" that were neglected in their own times, its quality will make it a more widely-known classic of television, and that the original versions will be re-released as they deserve to be. Or I have to hope that the fans keep the originals alive on the internet, despite Warner Brothers' odd determination to vandalize their own achievement.

Still, all those just complaints aside, the Season 3 DVD set nevertheless gets five stars from me, for being "Everwood", even if it is "Everwood" after being mugged by its parent company. Season 3 features the introduction of Sarah Drew as Hannah and Scott Wolf as Jake to the cast, both of which were brilliantly-executed expansions of character and storyline for the show. Drew's performance as Hannah rightly became a sort of cult favourite among fans, giving an unexpected and creative expansion to Chris Pratt's Bright Abbott character. Wolf's character of Dr. Jake Hartman would become surprisingly multi-layered as time went on, and adding a level of struggle for both the Jake character and for many others that they could not have achieved without him. As additions to an already-successful drama, the integration of these two characters was pulled off naturally and with great sensitivity by the writers and actors, and best highlights how Season 3 adds depth to the thriving mix of characters populating "Everwood."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3, May 25, 2010
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
Everwood is built around one main plotline, Amy and Ephram. There are many other great characters and stories, but the show is about Amy and Ephram. And now, after two full seasons, they are together. But, like when Ross got Rachel in "Friends", after a short time they had to go and screw it all up. I guess I get it. But I'd be lying if I said I wasn't bummed.

What I do love is the addition of the character Hannah, and Bright Abbot's continued rise to a much more prominent role than they must have originally planned on. Dr. Brown continues to try to show just how stupid a world-famous brain surgeon can be, but I guess that's what he's there for. And Delia gets a year older and more annoying. :0)

I have been eagerly awaiting this 3rd season on DVD and was all too worried it wouldn't make it to disc. It is definately worth the price, and I'd urge you all to make the time for this 3rd of 4 season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will there be more?, January 13, 2010
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
If only i knew who to write to help release seasons 3 and 4, I would be doing it daily. This is one of the greatest shows to cross television along with the Wonder Years. The fact that it took five years to release season 2 is beyond me. I honestly hope that the final two are not far behind. I have been digging online to see what other people are saying about this show and it's been nothing but positive things. I understand the problems when WB merged with UPN. A lot of shows were either cut short or put on hold because of the merger. But the old saying applies here in saying " You don't know what you've got till it's gone." Now that this show is gone, you have people left and right crying out for its release of the final two seasons. Those of you that cross this message, buy the second season. If it's about money and numbers... give it to them. I feel that if sales go well and reviews continue to pour in the final two seasons will come soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written life lessons for teens & parents, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
Well written life lessons for teens & parents. I highly recommend this series. My teenage daughter (15) and I LOVE to chill and watch this together. The episode topics evoke many important discussions on relationships between family, friends and dating partners. There are opportunities to discuss the multifaceted moral dilemmas between the dialog or episode pauses.
I plan on watching this with my preteen sons when they are in high school and old enough to comprehend the impact of the choices considered and acted upon.
This series is a FAR departure from the trashy reality shows today's kids are fascinated with and are written from a moral family outlook.
If you agree with this review - click "helpful" to guide other families to this impressively written series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank goodness for the release of season 3!, June 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everwood: Season 3 (DVD)
I'm am so happy they finally released season 3! I have watched Everwood from the very beginning and absolutely love the show! I can't wait until they release the other seasons on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Everwood: Season 3
Everwood: Season 3 by Treat Williams (DVD - 2010)
$39.98 $12.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.