Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for animal lovers!
After reading this book, I purchased a copy for the animal lovers I know. These inspiring stories really touch your heart and help you to realize that one person can do his/her own small part in helping change the lives of animals in need. There is even some information included on how to get involved in animal transport yourself. Such an uplifting read!
Published on December 3, 2007 by K. Hamilton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read for dog lovers
As a dog lover, I enjoyed this book and was impressed with the fact that a portion of the proceeds were going to various rescue efforts.Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad
Published on November 9, 2009 by JM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for animal lovers!, December 3, 2007
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
After reading this book, I purchased a copy for the animal lovers I know. These inspiring stories really touch your heart and help you to realize that one person can do his/her own small part in helping change the lives of animals in need. There is even some information included on how to get involved in animal transport yourself. Such an uplifting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for dog rescuers, August 20, 2007
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
i really loved this book !! having recently learned of dog rescuers,it was interesting to learn of the stories of the dogs that were rescued,and the people that took the time from their lives to give these animals a new chance at life. some stories bring a tear to the eyes,and some make you laugh out loud. but all have a happy ending. when you are finished reading the book,you are ready to sign up as a dog transporter.give this book to someone you love,and someone who loves dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To be Loved by All Animal Rescue Transporters!, March 29, 2007
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
Deborah Eades has been a Dogs Deserve Better supporter for a long time, so I was not surprised to note that she has decided to donate a portion of the proceeds to our organization, and I'm very thankful for that.

She sent me a book to read, and although I've so far only gotten to the chapter on Hooch, she had me howling a couple of times.

Suffice it to say that one of the biggest laughs involved something that is decidedly NOT funny when it's happening to you, and many of us have been there. "I felt very sorry for mom as she tried to figure out why her backside was suddenly very warm...she then realized that Fritz had problems at BOTH ends."

Well written, a sure joy to those who transport or are interested in better ways to help neglected and mistreated dogs. Great job, Deborah, and best of luck with your book. Tammy S. Grimes, Dogs Deserve Better founder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Book About Second Chances for Animals, November 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
Each chapter in this wonderful book is a tale of one or more dogs rescued from a variety of situations, from being chained and starving in an owner's backyard to getting them out of a kill shelter moments before they are gassed. How are they rescued? By a network of volunteer "angels" along the Dog Rescue Railroad that Deborah Eades writes about in her book, Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale. I was touched by the stories of the many dogs rescued over the years thanks to the efforts and commitment by these dedicated volunteers who drive a leg of a journey each weekend in this country to rescue dogs who would otherwise be killed. Deborah Eades is one of these incredible volunteers, and the proceeds from her delightful book go to animal shelters and rescue groups. The author's wish is that many of us who read her stories of hope will volunteer with a dog transport group in our area to save even more lives. This book is so uplifting in that it shows what one person can do to make a huge difference--the difference between life and death--for a dog. This beautiful book is about second chances for animals that need people like those on The Dog Rescue Railroad--and like you and me--to give the gift of life simply by say "yes" to a 50 to 100 mile drive. You can find more detail about the best ways to do this and how it works at the end of her book. According to Deborah, "the fulfillment you get from helping these pitiful animals is priceless, and it is so easy to do."

Author of MAGGIE: the dog who changed my life: A Story of Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tales of Rescued Dogs, March 27, 2009
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
For anyone who is an animal lover, myself included, Deborah Eades' book is definitely one that deserves a heart warming Awwwwwe! Deborah is a volunteer for what's known as the Dog Rescue Railroad. Years ago a website was created called petfinder.com which helps place pets in new homes. Volunteers often travel cross country to pick up animals and transport them to their new owners.

"These are all volunteers who give up their day off and pay their own gas expense to save a life. Most would tell you that they are the ones who benefit the most, by seeing what a difference one person can make to a homeless animal."

Deborah states in the introduction that every animal has its own unique story about how it ended up in need and the happy ending that hopefully greets them at the end of their journey. She's been transporting dogs since 2002. This book tells the story of several dogs which Deborah picked up from shelters and helped to relocate to loving homes. She dedicates the book to a long list of names of dogs which she helped rescue and to all the homeless pets who weren't so fortunate.

Often arriving the same day the animals were scheduled to be euthanized, Deborah tells the "tales" of neglected animals who are frightened and often in shock. Society has given up on them and their sad eyes are begging for a second chance. A hand to lick, a bowl of food, a comfortable bed, a pat on the rump and a scratch on the chin, all these dogs crave is love. Deborah is like a guardian angel arriving just in time.dogpic1

A book like this would not be complete without photos to accompany each story. Oreo, Hooch, Shyla, Sophie and her pups, Dusty, Annie, and many more....there are some sad memorial pictures of dogs that have passed on but for the most part, all of the dogs show life in their eyes and a big panting smile across their mouth. They know they've been given a second chance.

Of course, a book like this doesn't end here. I'm sure there have been many more journeys for Deborah and for even more dogs that have been rescued thanks to her. And we can help! Proceeds from the sale of her book go to help Dogs Deserve Better.dogpic2

Bravo to this author for using Lulu to bring attention to a good cause and for giving back in more ways than one!

You can visit Deborah on the web and learn more about her mission at everyrescueddog.homestead.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entering Another World, April 17, 2008
By 
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
I entered another world when I read Deborah Eades heart warming book.
I had no idea that so many dogs were not wanted. I didn't realize how much dogs were suffering because of cruelty and neglect.

And I didn't know that there are networks of dog lovers across the country who save and transport dogs to a new lives where they will be loved and cared for.

With words and pictures, I was transported into the personal experiences of this dog loving author -- and her family -- on the Dog Rescue "Railroad." The dogs breeds vary,as do the personal stories of their rescue. What is constant is the loving satisfaction that Deborah Eades shares with all readers in her touching, heart warming book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought you knew everything about dog rescue..., October 13, 2008
By 
C.A. Wulff "Ariel" (Boston Township, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
Have you ever heard of the underground railroad -- the network of humanitarian, and like-minded people who helped slaves escape during the United States Civil War?

Did you know that today there is a network like it for dogs?

Deborah Eades is a volunteer transporter for the Dog Rescue Railroad, and her book, "Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale" tells the stories of some of the dogs that were rescued from death row at dog pounds across the country, and how they were transported to safety and new forever homes.

The stories are short and accompanied by photos of the dogs. Suitable reading for tweens to adults. One of the best things about this book is that proceeds from its sales benefit various humane groups.

C.A.Wulff -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with Heartwarming stories!, August 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
I am a dog rescuer and transporter and when I saw this book I was thrilled that there was a book about the subject. The stories are so heartwarming and you can tell that the author is passionate about the dogs she helps. I enjoyed reading every page and passed this book onto my mother and grandmother who both enjoyed it very much. I highly recommend this book to any dog lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all dog lovers!, December 27, 2008
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
A truly inspiring and selfless author, who's love for animals clearly manifests in her stories. A must read for anyone who's life has been touched by an animal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration, December 1, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad (Paperback)
The author has so accurately described the reality of the simple things that we all can do to make a difference, and the 'instant gratification' that comes with it... For anyone who loves animals, and has ever wondered "But, what can I do?" - "Every Rescued Dog Has A Tale" has the answers...

Awesome writing, heart-warming stories (and pics), and an absolute MUST READ!

By far, the most inspiring book I have ever read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad
Every Rescued Dog Has a Tale: Stories from the Dog Rescue Railroad by Deborah Eades (Paperback - December 29, 2008)
$11.50 $10.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.